Reviews written by Jazmen Greene, Newsletter Manager

69 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
July 21, 2020
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Layered Romance, Difficult Characters

'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere in the middle, in the grey area of dislike and love. Meg was hard to like. Mostly because she came off as the type of character...

July 20, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
A charming ode to literature and romance.

'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points of literary reference. She cites classics as though they’re guidebooks to life. In some sense, most readers view the world this way. Books have a way of...

July 01, 2020 (Updated: July 01, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Heavy, yet Riveting.

Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over 200 pages; for a reason, the reader won’t discover fully until the very last few chapters. From the onset, Parker is an unreliable narrator; in that, you never know what...

February 21, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Brilliant and Witty--Long Way Down is What Happens After The School Bell Rings

I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount of work it requires, but I think the most gifted writers are born. Jason Reynolds is the latter. He’s naturally good at writing tales that leave out...

February 04, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
Ghost Boys

I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them expecting to be angry. I'm pre-angry before I even start them. Why? Because this is happening, still--today, and though the books are based on fictional characters--the story themselves are all...

February 04, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
"You Coming?"

I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. Long Way Down, is a knife that cut to the deepest, blackest part of me, and yelled at me to see it. Just see me, and I did....

February 04, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
The Opposite of Always

Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love with this book; its story, and the way it made me feel. Jack is a boy in love with a girl, that keeps dying—over and...

February 04, 2020
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Tyler Johnson Was Here, But Did You Notice?

Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly truth, and made no qualms about sharing its blackness, in it's raw and true form. Tyler Johnson Was Here is an experience I found both...

October 15, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Unputdonable, Important--Should be Required Reading!

I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes the dreams of young black children who want to do and be both; be heroes/heroines and do heroic things. Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky is the Harry...

September 30, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Espionage, Action and Ferret-Proof Death Rays Made for an Exciting Middle Grade Novel

Nikki Tesla is an espionage novel for pre-teens. It’s exciting, engaging, and utterly unique. Nikki Tesla is a genius; except she doesn’t feel very smart when she burns a hole through the floor of her house with a death ray she invented. ...

September 30, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Resistance is not Futile

This is the type of book I’d like to see included in school curriculums. The stories are like wide open arms: welcoming, understanding, and accepting. Each story was poignant some more than others, but they did what they set out to do. The stories covered a wide range of...

August 05, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
How To Read A Book

Wildly original and highly interactive; ‘How To Read A Book,’ guides readers in a poetic, lyrical journey, to do simply that, read. Pages fall loose, and open to vibrant commanding pages of prose that are simple and easy to follow, but are also engaging and deep....

August 05, 2019 (Updated: August 05, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
The Book Case by Dave Shelton

The Book case is a perfectly suitable mystery, with a cast of characters that will amuse readers both young and old. It’s an all-around good time. Daphne is new to St. Rita’s, a private all-girls school. She’s called on unexpectedly and asked to be...

July 08, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Sarai and The Around the World Fair

Though rich and vibrant in illustrations and culture, Sarai and the Around the World Fair is a slow-mover. The illustrations and the rambunctious liveliness of the story really carry well throughout—hyping up the reader for whatever comes next. However, for a children’s novel, it’s not all...

July 08, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
The Pepper Party Picks The Perfect Pet (The Pepper Party, #1)

Absolute fun is one way to summarize The Pepper Party Picks the Perfect Pet. Perfectly placed and brilliant illustrations helped to tell a story that keeps the reader enthralled with the busy-body family. Utterly clever and downright laugh-inducing, The Pepper Party Picks the Perfect Pet, is...

69 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

The Obsession
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A classic sort of love story...except somebody might wind up...
The Project
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After...
Kingdom of Ink and Paper (The Betwixt and Between Chronicles Book 1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every book you’ve ever read. Every story you’ve ever ...
The First Holidays
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lila Weston is a pro at keeping secrets, but this...
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
You Say It First
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
One conversation can change everything. Meg has her entire...
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve “lush and deliciously...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson,...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my whole...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
Miracle Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cousins
 
5.0
"THE COUSINS is a highly devourable and engaging family drama/mystery. The Story family is very wealthy, running a bunch of..."
The Good Girls
 
4.0
"THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's..."
In the Study with the Wrench
 
3.0
"After the death of the headmaster and the storm in the first book, Blackbrook Academy is barely functioning. Half the..."
The Oracle Code
 
4.0
"THE ORACLE CODE visits Barbara Gordon (aka Batgirl and Oracle) in her teens after an accident that paralyzes part of..."
The Inheritance Games (The Inheritance Games, #1)
 
5.0
"THE INHERITANCE GAMES is a twisty mystery full of unique characters. Avery Grambs is living out of her car after..."
None Shall Sleep
 
4.3
"NONE SHALL SLEEP is an engaging YA psychological thriller. The book follows Emma Lewis, who in the past was captured..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Deeplight
 
4.0
"Hark and Jelt grew up together, without families and with barely enough to get by. Jelt turns to more and..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Daphne and Velma: The Vanishing Girl
 
3.7
"Daphne Blake and Velma Dinkley are opposites. Daphne is popular, traditionally pretty, and sociable. Velma prefers books and information to..."
The Sullivan Sisters
 
5.0
"Eileen, Claire, and Murphy Sullivan used to be close. They had their special traditions, their shared laughs, and their shared..."
All Your Twisted Secrets
 
4.7
"Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying A delightfully twisty page-turner, fans of Karen M. McManus will..."
Clique Bait
 
4.3
"The Story: Chloe is after revenge for what happened the year before to her best friend. She blames the..."
The Silence of Bones
 
4.3
"June Hur’s THE SILENCE OF BONES follows Seol, a young woman indentured to the police in 1800s Joseon (Korea). Her..."
Fractures (Echoes, #2)
 
3.0
"FRACTURES follows up ECHOES with a similar adventure and eventually leading to the answers we sought in the first book...."
I Killed Zoe Spanos
 
5.0
"I KILLED ZOE SPANOS is an engaging YA thriller. The book switches between the present and a few months earlier,..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."
The Vanishing Stair
 
4.0
"THE VANISHING STAIR continues the TRULY DEVIOUS plot as Stevie returns to the enigmatic private school, Ellingham. Stevie becomes more..."