Reviews written by Karen Yingling, Staff Reviewer

1313 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Young Adult Indie
High-Stakes Mission to Save the World

Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to be away from home, and feels that people don't take her area of scientific interest as seriously. Math oriented Maya is used to the support that boarding schools offer, and...

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
The Insider's Spider

From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every ones' favorite... arachnids! There are fifteen poems different categories, each of which combines an informational component (such as "On the prowl") with several short poems relating to it. This is...

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
There's No Place Like Home

Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor, and he enjoys hanging out with his younger sister Sara and his grandmother, Tete. He is obsessed with video games and doccer, and spends a lot of time with his...

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Hooray for Bollywood!

Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family movie night that her parents and younger brother Ronak have. These are harder, however, since her parents' fighting has escalated. They constantly bicker, and have ever since Sonali was young....

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Hesitation Moves

Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he craves quiet and finds navigating the hallways of middle school difficult. It doesn't help when jerks like Victor call him "Ghost" and poke fun at his quiet ways. Ezra doesn't...

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Kids Fiction
Just One Spark

In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in a book, to seek education, and to use the skills she obtains through study and reading to share this spark with others.

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Kids Fiction
You'll never lose affection

Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family in a coastal setting. We see a little girl getting a bike as a present, and her mother helping her to learn to ride it with a lighthouse in the...

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Seventy Six Trombones!

Shira is a really good singer, but she is nervous about performing in front of others. When her best friend Cassie wants to try out for the middle school production of The Music Man, Shira goes along to support her. Cassie ends up with a part in the chorus, but...

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Well done "doggerel"

This comically illustrated book doesn't have a plot, per se, but is a fun romp through lots of different "kinds" of dogs. I was expecting this to tell about different breeds, but it is more an exploration of how dogs act. We have dogs playing, frolicking, and even doing things...

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
A Mystery at Yellowstone

Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying a bison ranch owned by some friends, hoping to set it up like a prairie safari park. The owners approach Teddy to ask him to find out who is stealing...

June 09, 2021
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Mighty oaks from little acorns grow

A small acorn chronicles her life in diary format from her start to her twentieth year. We see how an acorn grows, falls, is spread by animals, and starts to grow as a tree. With each passing year, the tree gets bigger, and faces some challenges. During this process, we...

June 07, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Charming Swedish Import

In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been on a journey to visit long time friend Ella, but has had to turn around and go back home when Ella wasn't there. Dani then became gravely ill, and was...

June 07, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Oh My Goddess!

This graphic novel showcases several stories about the ancient Greek goddess Athena. Beginning sketches introduce us to a variety of characters who appear later, and give details about their backgrounds. We learn the story of Athena's birth from the head of Zeus, her battle with Poseidon for the...

June 07, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Tech Help for Relationships

Emerie Woods think she has her best friend Harper all figured out. In her capacity as "Love Coordinator", she has come up with an elaborate plan to fix up Harper with her crush, Elliot at the school dance. When she puts the plan in place, however, it backfires in a...

June 07, 2021
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Kids Fiction
The Picks of the Litter... Litter

In his picture book debut, illustrator Inoue tells a classic new sibling tale, but offers the fun twist of twin dog siblings. The unnamed dogs are quite spoiled, with endless walks, milk to drink, and plenty of attention. This ends when a small, wailing creature is introduced to their happy...

1313 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

The Pioneer
 
3.3
"Joanna, 'Jo', has dreamed of leaving Earth and being a pioneer on a new planet since forever. When a terrible..."
The Sound of Stars
 
4.0
"THE SOUND OF STARS takes place after the Earth has been invaded and overtaken by the Ilori. The book follows..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
The Last Hope
 
4.7
"I honestly don’t know where to begin! The Last Hope by Krista & Becca Ritchie picks up thirty days after..."
The Last Hope
 
4.7
"THE LAST HOPE is a thrilling conclusion to the THE RAGING ONES duology. As we know from the first book,..."
Skyward
 
5.0
"Sanderson raises the YA sci-fi quality bar in this high-flying story of human survival, friendship, legacy, loss, and confronting enormous..."
Alienated (Alienated #1)
 
4.7
"I think I fell in love! Aelyx and Cara’s romance is of the slow-burn kind.... simply swoony! The..."
Their Fractured Light (Starbound #3)
 
4.0
""Their Fractured Light" is a satisfying conclusion to the Starbound trilogy. Each book has followed a different couple along a..."
Sanctuary
 
3.0
"X-men Gen X (i.e. the teen version) meets Aliens-lite in this survival-in-space story. Told in first-person past-tense from..."
Exo
Exo
 
5.0
""Exo" is a really interesting YA sci-fi that follows a 17-year-old human a hundred years after Earth has been taken..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
""Cross Fire" was a great sequel to Exo that wraps up all the major plotlines and possibilities. The zhree, an..."
Reclaiming Shilo Snow
 
4.0
""Reclaiming Shilo Snow" is an even better continuation of "The Evaporation of Sofi Snow" duology. All the story lines are..."