Reviews written by Jaci Miller

45 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3
Ordering
October 13, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
3.0
Kids Nonfiction
A Childhood in China

In this picture book, Caldecott-winner Ed Young details his youth at the beginning of WWII in China. Memories based upon his childhood home, built by Baba (daddy), tie the book together. Photographs, family documents, collage and ink drawings create a scrapbook style. Some details reveal volumes about...

October 06, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
A Sleepy Chipmunk

Caldecott winner Jerry Pinkney fuses a beloved childhood song with gentle woodland illustrations. The result? A soothing bedtime tale. A playful chipmunk preparing for bed imagines himself floating down a river and into the night sky, greeting robins, opossums and bats along the way. Pinkney guides readers...

September 23, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
3.0
Historical Girl Power

The most famous lighthouse keeper in America was a woman! Based on a true story, The Bravest Woman in America by Marissa Moss tells the tale of Ida Lewis. As she grew up near the sea, Ida helped her father tend a lighthouse. She learned to...

September 07, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
The Wicked Big Toddlah is Back

Toddie, the heroic toddler from The Wicked Big Toddlah, reappears in this fun sequel by Kevin Hawkes. In The Wicked Big Toddlah Goes to New York, the youngster and his family are visiting the Big Apple, seeing the sights and generally enjoying their trip. But despite his huge size (he’s...

September 06, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
N/A
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Coming of Age in the 50s

In the 1950s, Franny must cope with coming of age and do so with a birth defect—a crippled foot. She hates the orthopedic shoes she must wear as much as she hates the limp that defines her as “different.” Putting on a good front, Franny focuses on getting along with...

July 28, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Kids Nonfiction
A Peek into the World of Fish

The underwater world is a fascinating place. The creatures that reside there not only intrigue us, but help keep our world in balance. Sadly, human choices can endanger and alter these ecosystems. A Place for Fish by Melissa Stewart addresses the ecological impact on these creatures as well as why...

July 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
4.0
Jane Goodall for Youngsters

Jane Goodall grew up observing animals and her fascination with them continued into adulthood. When Jane traveled to Africa, she discovered her calling—working with chimpanzees. For years she studied them and eventually became an activist on their behalves. The Watcher by Jeannette Winter explores the life and...

June 28, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Bland Barnyard Fodder

In Chicken, Chicken, Duck! by Nadia Krilanovich, Duck and his barnyard buddies are up to something. And not much more can be said about the plot of this overly simplistic book. No one knows what is taking place, or that anything will take place, until the very end...

June 26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Nature's Own Alphabet!

Along the Florida shores hides the alphabet. Over many years, Leslie McGuirk has discovered fossiliferous sandstone in the shapes of letters of the alphabet. But not only has McGuirk collected rocks of each letter, she’s also found rocks that represent objects beginning with each letter (“‘B’ is...

June 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Restless Sleeper Worries Family

Buglette, a small ladybug, tosses in her sleep. She rolls, she turns, she kicks. Despite her normally neat nick ways, Buglette is a messy sleeper. In her dreams, she does amazing things. She builds mountains and swings on the trapeze, but she wakes up to a mess. Her family worries...

May 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Mystery, Comedy and Nursery Rhymes

Little Boy Blue has left his flocks to become a detective. Miss Muffet is missing and Blue is on the case! As Detective Blue searches for the missing Muffet, he interviews a host of his nursery rhyme friends. Has Muffet been a victim of foul play? ...

May 07, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Fiendishly Fun

When Ms. Jenkinss class learns they will have a substitute teacher, they go a little crazy. Amanda scribbles on the chalkboard, Luke performs a circus act, Gavin laughs like a mad scientist. Then the one-eyed, tentacled Substitute Creacher arrives to clean up the classs act. For forty-nine years hes been...

May 04, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
A Standout Chameleon

While most chameleons prefer to blend in, Chamelia loves to stand out, especially in the way she dresses! Bold colors, sequins and animal prints fill her wardrobe. But sometimes, standing out means being left out. As Chamelia begins to feel this way, her parents let her know that standing out...

May 04, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kids Fiction
Good, filthy fun

Its spring! Time to clean the pigs. Farmer resorts to all sorts of tricks to try to clean up his dirty hogs, but the mischievous pigs are determined to remain muddy. No baths for them! Finally Farmer realizes, if you cant beat em, join em. Written in...

April 22, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
God's Summertime Alphabet

Explore the joys of summer through jumping rope, swimming and watching fireflies exemplify some of the wonders of this season. The alphabetic verse of F is for Fireflies by Kathy-jo Wargin adds a playful note to the books text. Some ABC items seem out of...

45 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.7
"Four very different high school girls plan to spend one month together in GIRLS OF JULY, and they each have..."
Give Me Some Truth
 
4.3
"Carson Mastick and Magpie "Maggi" Bokoni are two Native American high school students living on a reservation outside of Niagara..."
We'll Fly Away
 
5.0
"Bryan Bliss starts WE'LL FLY AWAY with a quote from the legendary anti-death penalty activist, Sister Helen Prejean. "It is..."
Top Ten
 
4.0
"TOP TEN was an amazing contemporary book that was the perfect blend of adorable and kicks you in the feels...."
The Football Girl
 
5.0
"An amazing book with appealing characters."
The Football Girl
 
5.0
"Tessa is a great athlete-- she runs in a local race with her friends Marina and Lexie and wins first..."
Life by Committee
 
3.0
"Tabitha kissed another girl's boyfriend. The secret is eating her up inside. She can't tell anyone who knows..."
The Dead Boyfriend: Fear Street Relaunch #5
 
3.7
"Caitlynn's friends are a bit concerned that she is spending so much time with Blade. Deena Fear has warned Caitlynn..."
Forget Me Always (Lovely Vicious #2)
 
4.0
"FORGET ME ALWAYS is the second book in the Lovely Vicious series. It picks up where Love Me Never leaves..."
Winning
 
4.7
"What I Loved: Winning is told through four different points of view: Lexi, the pageant queen who serves as..."
Shuffle, Repeat
 
4.3
"June isn't happy that her mother has chosen to move out into the country, especially since she has arranged for..."
A Season for Fireflies
 
3.3
"The concept and the cover of this book was what drew me in originally and the characters kept me invested...."
A Season for Fireflies
 
5.0
"There are books one simply enjoys, and then there are the ones that touch us in unexpected ways and keep..."
A Season for Fireflies
 
3.0
"I really enjoyed reading BETWEEN US AND THE MOON (written by the same author), which I thought was a really..."
Dumplin'
 
4.3
"I really do like this book, but I wish I liked the plot more. Without giving away spoilers,..."
No Use for a Name
 
4.3
"NO USE FOR A NAME by Penelope Wright is the author’s debut contemporary young adult novel about fifteen-year-old “Baby” Anderson..."
Love Me Never (Lovely Vicious #1)
 
5.0
"Love Me Never, is hands down one of my favorite reads of the year, so far. Witty. complex..."
This Is My Brain on Boys
 
4.0
"YA Contemporary, THIS IS MY BRAIN ON BOYS has caught my attention from the very beginning of the story. It..."
The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions)
 
3.0
"YA Contemporary Romance, THE NEW GUY (AND OTHER SENIOR YEAR DISTRACTIONS) will be shortened to "THE NEW GUY" for this..."
Not Okay Cupid
 
3.7
"Hazel has everything going for her until she catches her so-called BFF with her boyfriend. What's a girl to..."