Reviews written by Joanne Mumley, Twitter Manager

212 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... »
Ordering
April 07, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
See it Through the Eyes of the a Villain

Take a journey into Wonderland; its whimsical, a little bit crazy, a tad bit dark. But what else would you expect from the future Queen of Hearts? What could have turned a girl into a fiendish and crazy ruler? The world building of Wonderland is awe-inspiring. As...

March 16, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Fun and Enjoyable Read

In this book, most everything is made and owned Blackstone Technologies. It would be if Google or Apple owned and controlled everything including the weather. Infinity is the daughter of the reclusive man who owns Blackstone. Although she was home schooled for most of her early childhood, she...

February 10, 2016 (Updated: February 14, 2016)
I Gotta Go Back in Time

If you a Rick Riordan fan, you will simply fall in love with The Legend of Sam Miracle. N.D Wilson creates a gripping story about time travel and the Old West. The book is filled with magical, time travel, and evil villains. Sam isn’t your typical...

February 10, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Enchanting and Fun

In the second book to The Wurtherington Diary, Tammy gets to travel through time to make sure the signing of the Declaration of Independence happens before history is changed forever! While reading about Tammy’s adventures you get to meet all the important people that were a part of creating...

February 10, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Go on a Magical Journey

Reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland, the reader is transported to wonderful lands and adventures. The Wutherington Diary series is great for a variety of age levels. It makes a wonderful read aloud for younger children and a fantastic "classic storybook feeling" read for older YA readers as well. ...

January 24, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
A Delicious and Thrilling Read

A story where, “Adventures are dangerous… and villains are real.” Beetle Boy is the first book in a trilogy and a really fun read. M.G. Leonard does a fantastic job weaving a page turning mystery with cool facts about science and bugs. Her story line is so...

December 29, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
A New Twist

This is Shonna Slayton’s sequel to her first book, Cinderella’s Dress.This fairytale retelling due is not the version of Cinderella we grew up watching. Instead, she has taken Cinderella’s tale and placed it in a completely different reality. This pair of Cinderella’s shoes finds itself in the 1940’s and ...

December 29, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Fun Read

Dead Boy is an easy and fun read about Crow. It is loaded with magic, suspense, and wonderful characters. Crow and his friend Melody are likeable characters. While they have different views about life and death, they respect each other and their journey together is just great to read. The...

November 18, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Fun Read

City of Halves has a great pace, a strong narrative, some romance, a little bit of adventure, danger, and the best of all monsters. The book starts off slowly, with a girl who is obviously an amazing hacker of systems and computers. But the pacing quickly...

October 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Fantastic Read!

The Afterlife Academy if a fun filled adventure. It deals with demons and ghosts, in a humorous way, while also weaving in themes of bullying and the challenges of growing up. Frank L.Cole does a fabulous job creating realistic middle grade voice. The best part is...

October 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Young Adult Indie
Put this in your TBR pile

Once I read Emerge: The Awakening, I had to read more about these unique characters. There were so many questions left unanswered. Knowing The Edge was the prequel, I wanted to keep reading, but figured a lot of what I wanted to know probably wouldn't be addressed. But that wasn't...

October 21, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
The Most Important Thing

Inspired by real life artist James Hampton's life and work, it hard to believe that Shelley Pearsall book is fiction. She builds a world and creates characters that give readers an opportunity to reflect on their own attitudes and actions as they interact with those characters others may be viewed...

October 07, 2015 (Updated: October 07, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Intriguing Story You Just Can't Put Down

Emerge: The Awakening is an impressive story by Melissa A. Craven and I can't wait to read the second book. The entire premise is intriguing. The concept of immortals, their origins, and what happens when they live amongst mortal humans had me hooked from the start. ...

October 03, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Kids Nonfiction
Greadt MS Nonfiction

Reminiscent of James Swanson's Chasing Lincoln's Killer, Lincoln's Spymaster is a great addition to any young reader's shelf of historical nonfiction. This part of history is not often told and is very intriguing. Seiple's book covers different investigations that occurred during the time of Lincoln and Pinkerton; from an...

September 20, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Go on an adventure across country

There are not a lot of memoirs for YA that feel accessible to a broad range of readers. Angela Blount’s memoir grabs your attention from the very first page. The story was engaging till the very end. The way she captures your attention is flawless. As a reader, you...

212 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... »
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."