Reviews written by Melissa A. Craven, Indie Manager

111 results - showing 61 - 75
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
March 26, 2017 (Updated: March 26, 2017)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
A nostalgic setting, plus a little bit of horror and mystery makes FREEKS a win

The gorgeous cover pulled me in at a glance. The premise sold me on the story and the 80s setting made me a Hocking fan. There was a lot to love about Freeks and there were some misses as well. The 80s setting was extremely well done. Sometimes it’s easy...

February 05, 2017 (Updated: February 06, 2017)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Young Adult Nonfiction
Newt is even more Fantastic than he was in the movie!

Full of insider information and behind the scenes details about the making of the movie, this beautiful book makes the perfect gift for fans of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. If you’re into movie props, this book is full of fun and interactive things to explore...

February 05, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Learning Value
 
5.0
A lovely book with gorgeous illustrations

About Marine Mammals is a beautifully illustrated and educational book, perfect for school libraries. Or if you have a curious child who enjoys learning about the ocean, About Marine Mammals is a great learning experience you and your child can enjoy together. Each page is filled with colorful images and...

February 05, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Learning Value
 
5.0
Inspirational reading to empower young girls

A wonderful gift for any child at any age. The Book of Heroines is full of tales of the heroines we know and the ones we’ve never even heard of. Political leaders, familiar faces from the sports arena, historical legends, women of the ancient world, peacemakers, and leaders in their...

February 05, 2017 (Updated: February 05, 2017)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Learning Value
 
5.0
Inspirational reading for aspiring young heroes

A wonderful gift for any child at any age. The Book of Heroes is full of tales of the heroes we’ve all admired, plus the ones we’ve never even heard of. Political leaders, stars of the sports arena, historical legends, the great men of the ancient world, peacemakers, and leaders...

February 05, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Young fans of Percy Jackson will love Argos

I have always been a fan of Greek Mythology, especially retellings like Argos. Telling the story of Odysseus through the eyes of his dog is such a brilliant way to introduce children to the stories and myths that have had such a profound impact on literature. Hardy manages...

February 05, 2017
Overall rating
 
3.7
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Mixed emotions, but a recommended read for fans of the series

I have anxiously waited this book to come up in my TBR. Not because I am a fan of the series, but because I am a huge fan of high fantasy and this series is one I haven’t had the opportunity to read yet. However, before I committed to reviewing...

February 04, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Origin story to an epic series

Perfect for fantasy fans of all ages, Wings of Fire is a series adults can enjoy just as much as the young audience the story is intended for. The journey of Darkstalker, Clearsight and their friends is an epic coming of age tale wrought with danger and uncertainty. These young,...

February 01, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Learning Value
 
4.0
Kids Nonfiction
A lovely book with gorgeous illustrations

About Habitats is such a beautifully illustrated and interesting book. If you have a curious child who enjoys learning about the ocean, this is a must read. And if you’re looking for a great learning experience you and your child can enjoy together, even better. Each page is filled with...

February 01, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Learning Value
 
5.0
Kids Nonfiction
A fun and creative activity for young children

My Clay Critters is the perfect activity for a rainy day when you have an antsy kid(s) on your hands. You’ll find everything you need to move through the activity book with your child, or a quick tutorial to help them get started on a solitary or group activity with...

December 29, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
A tale of true friendship and courage

I have mixed reactions to this book. On the whole, I truly enjoyed Ani’s story. The characters really made this standalone fantasy worth reading. The dynamic between Ani and her best friend Weevil tells a story of what friendship is all about, and Ani’s humorous replies and quick wit made...

December 28, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
A truly unique retelling of a classic tale

I knew at the first glance of the Art Deco title font that I would love this book. The Deco/film-nior vibe of this retelling perfectly captures the mood and nostalgia of the roaring twenties in pre-Depression New York. The story is easy to follow with emphasis placed...

December 28, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot/Story
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Easily the best surprise read of 2016

Book two of the Sphinx series continues with Demigods and Monsters. I was so excited to follow on with Hope’s journey––and I was so ready for more Athan. But I wasn’t anticipating Xan. I was disappointed with Athan’s absence, and I didn’t like Xan at all...

December 28, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
A heart-wrenching look at Afghan culture through the eyes of a child

In present-day Afghanistan, after a season of misfortune, Obayda and her family must move to a small town to live under the care of her uncle and his family. In a bid for good luck, her mother decides her daughter Obayda will become her son, Obayd—a bacha posh. In the...

November 30, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.3
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
A fresh and unique approach to the werewolf genre

Nessa Kurland struggles with her day-to-day, typical teen life. She worries about how she will pay for college and if the boy she likes will ever like her back. And then, she’s bitten by a strange wolf and her struggles reach an all time high when she begins to transform...

111 results - showing 61 - 75
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8