Reviews written by Joanne Mumley, Twitter Manager

212 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
July 05, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Incredible Debut Author

The Catalyst ‘s 1st draft was his book was written when Helena Coggan was 13. For a debut author, this is one amazing read. Helena Coggan is fantastic as storytelling and I am excited to see where her writing career takes her. If you love...

July 05, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
A Dark Read You Can't Put Down

This book first caught my eye with “for fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl.” I love psychological thrillers and needed a good mystery, a dark thriller, for the summer. The hardest part of this review is trying to...

June 23, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Quote Worthy

The Island is just a book you can’t put down. The book consists of short chapters that flip between the past and the present. While reading, it gave me very Lost TV feel. What I liked best: The reader has to piece together the events...

June 19, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
A Book to Bring to the Beach

What grabbed me first, I hate to admit, is the incredibly cool cover. The Museum of Heartbreak is the perfect book to throw in with your towel and sunscreen as you head down to the ocean. It is a quick light read that also deals with...

June 06, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Brain Teasing Fun

I always love a Blue Balliett story and Pieces and Players does not disappoint. Calder, Petra, and Tommy are once again needed to solve an art mystery but this time they have the help of Zoomy and Early. Reading Pieces and Players is like meeting...

June 05, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
A Great Series

This series keeps getting better! The Palace of Glass puts us right back on track, beginning with Alice’s newfound resolve to do something about her situation. What to do with her Uncle? After all, he cannot be trusted. Now is the time for her to plot her...

June 04, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Taking Thrillers to New Heights

It is officially summertime and I always love a little mystery and drama when I am on the beach. Well, not personal drama, but the ones I can read in a good book! Reminiscent of Gossip Girls and Pretty Little Liars, the mystery, intrigue, and betrayal and backstabbing are...

June 04, 2016 (Updated: June 06, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Leaves a Small Mark on Your Heart

I was fresh out of college in 2001 and interning at a local high school. The Memory of Things is a powerful read. Personally, it brought up a lot of emotions, but in a good way. I instantly was transported back to the exact place I was sitting when the...

May 23, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Summer Beach Read

Local Girl Swept away is a typical Coming of age mystery. The book’s premise and storyline does not go into great depth. Even with the plot twists and turns at times the storyline can be predictable. But during this time of the year, it helps make it the perfect...

May 08, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
It Deserves a Book Hug

Full disclaimer: I am a huge fan of Milton and Paradise Lost ever since college. So this was a big pull for me with this novel. Anne Blankman wows once again. I fell in love with her debut duology Prisoner of Night and Fog and Traitor Angels...

May 08, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
A New Take on Dystopian Novels WOW!

Time Zero takes a new spin on futuristic novels. One of the many issues that makes this one hit close to the heart is the fact that every rule Mina has to follow can be found somewhere in the world right now. The injustices can be found from...

April 10, 2016
Amazing Stories of Survival

When I was younger I was amazed with Anne Frank’s Diary. I couldn’t help but wonder how a girl my age could go through so much while in hiding. Hidden Like Anne Frank includes 14 stories of children surviving the most horrific events of history. ...

April 07, 2016
Young Adult Fiction
What a Rollercoaster!

Complicit is one of those dark tales that grabs you and forces you to turn the page even though you might be afraid. It is a fantastic read that just wont let you go! From page one you are immersed in a world where you...

April 07, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Inspiring Story that Touches Your Heart

Written from the shared perspectives of Holly Robinson Peete, Ryan Peete and RJ Peete, SAME BUT DIFFERENT details the struggles and joys of a family touched by autism. Although the Peete family deals with autism on a daily basis, the story is a fictional account, told through the eyes of...

April 07, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
So Fun to Read

Lowell says it best when she writes that Jane Eyre is the “collective imagination of a million teenage girls.” I fell in love with the Brontës and Austen in high school. I hate to admit that I went through the phase where I read everything cover to...

212 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Darkbeast (Darkbeast #1)
 
3.0
"Keara's pivotal birthday is upon her-- she will turn 12, making her an adult in her medievalish world, and she..."