Reviews written by Alanna Shaw

230 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
June 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
Nice twist

I sat down and finished We Were Liars in a few hours. I saw a lot of people talking about the surprise ending, which left me really wondering what I was about to read. Luckily, I didn't see spoilers. If I had, I would probably had a completely different opinion...

June 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
Horrible disappointment

Well, it's been well over 2 months since I read this one. I forgot to write a review right away, and then I got busy reading. So, here I am. Writing a review several months later about a book that was enjoyable while I read it, but really unremarkable after...

June 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Would have been better if I had known about the first book

I had no idea that Nantucket Red was a sequel. I never read Nantucket Blue, but even without the background I was fully able to understand Nantucket Red. I hate to be the Debby Downer and say that it was just a so-so read for me, but...

June 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
Haunting

Some books haunt you long after you finish reading them, and Undone is one of those books. When I finished the final page I didn't know what I felt. Anger. Anguish. Everything in between. Such a powerful and tragic ending. I had mixed feelings about this...

June 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
Great for teen boys

It is so hard to find books that boys would want to read. Geoff Herbach did a great job of finding that male voice that will speak to many readers when he wrote Gabe. Gabe was very entertaining. I loved how layered he was. Gabe is overweight--...

March 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
For fans of Tamora Pierce

This is for fans of Tamora Pierce! As I read Defy, I could not help but think of the Song of the Lioness series. I thoroughly enjoyed Defy. The story begins with a devastating scene that leaves our young protagonist scrambling...

February 24, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
For fans of The Luxe series and Jane Austen

This is going to be a really hard review for me to write. I read this book over a month ago and did not take notes. I also did not review it right away, and now I'm stuck. It's hard to recall everything that I liked about it. Therefore, this...

February 24, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
great ending to a series

I am so sad to see this series end! I love Logan and his crew. I love Grandma Frost and the teachers at Mythos Academy. I love the mystical creatures that roam through the pages. This is such a fun series. But alas, all good things must come to an...

January 28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Young Adult Fiction
Horrible. Do not bother

Oh my goodness, this book. Sigh. There were so many things wrong here. So, so many. This is the second book I've read by Paige Harbison, and I'm noticing a trend. Apparently, this young author thinks that all teenagers spend their out...

January 28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Fresh new dystopian

Aimee Carter strikes again! Pawn was so much more than I expected. I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting much. I totally judged the book by its cover (which doesn't do much for me). BUT, when I started reading I was hooked. Aimee...

January 28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Young Adult Fiction
Great story

I had never heard of this series before, so I had no idea what I was getting into. I was pleasantly surprised though. Here is a short run down of what I enjoyed the most: 1. The magic. There was a...

January 03, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Young Adult Fiction
ruined the series for me

There are no words. None. I am done. Ok, so maybe I have a few words I can share. For instance, I can share how my heart has been ripped out and destroyed. I can share how my love of this series is forever...

January 03, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
2.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Young Adult Indie
Decent story

Books like this makes me wish I was more acquainted with all the classics. I never read Washington Irving's "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow", so I have no idea how closely Severed follows the plot. The only version of Sleepy Hollow I can remember is the...

December 30, 2013 (Updated: December 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
super fun and edgy

Some books do a fabulous job of showing what goes on inside of a hormonal teenager’s head. Anatomy of a Boyfriend is very honest and pretty accurate with its portrayal. Dom is a hormonal mess. She’s been able to resist the lure...

December 30, 2013
Young Adult Indie
New take on mermaids

How do you like your mermaid stories? Do you prefer them to be Disney-esque? Or do you prefer them to teeter on the edge of creepy? If you prefer the latter, Westward to Strange is for you! The mermaids in Westward to Strange are not friendly. In fact, they...

230 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bella is the very best dog a family could ask...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello! Justice League here. Ask us anything! ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Concussion in this powerful and important...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...

Latest Member Reviews

11 Before 12
 
4.7
"'11 Before 12' by Lisa Greenwald will put you right back in that time of your life when everything mattered..."