Reviews written by Joanne Mumley, Twitter Manager

212 results - showing 16 - 30
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
August 17, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Brilliant!

Alan Gratz does it again with Refugee. Gratz knows how to weave historical facts and great story telling flawlessly. Refugee will tug at your heartstrings. Refugee is the story of three very different kids experiencing the hatred and fear that is a real part of our ...

June 06, 2017 (Updated: June 06, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kids Fiction
Pick up this book now!

Hilarious and Heartwarming- a fun read from beginning to the end! Maz Evans is reminiscent of Roald Dahl in her vivid character descriptions and wacky plot twists. Who Let the Gods Out takes you on a fantastic adventure ride filled with wacky versions of all our favorite Greek...

May 20, 2017 (Updated: May 28, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Couldn't Put it Down

The Ship was a surprising read for me. Many Post-Apocalyptic novels jump right to the main events surrounding the action or rebellion of some sort. The Ship takes a different approach. From the first page, the reader goes on the journey with the main character Lalla. This is life right...

May 14, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Intriguing Read

But Then I Came Back is a beautifully written contemporary YA novel focuses on the main character Eden, who has an accident that leads to her falling into a coma. BThe Story focuses on Eden’s struggle to make sense of where she was while in the coma and how to...

April 05, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Quirky,Different, Enjoyable

This was a quirky fast paced, read. To truly enjoy Iceling, the reader has to suspend some of their thoughts on reality. Once you are able, it is something that can hook you quickly and explores the concept of family and friendship in a whole new way. ...

April 05, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Everyone Should Read Posted

Words can "wriggle underneath your skin and start to itch." Words can "set their hooks into you and pull" and can "accumulate like cancer." Posted by John David Anderson is all about the power of words, growing up, and having to deal with big issues like bullying and hate speech....

March 20, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Booked Will Keep You Hooked

Kwame Alexander does it again - and does not disappoint his fans. Like The Crossover, Booked is written in verse and is about a young teen named Nick that is a star on the soccer pitch. Booked centers around soccer, but just like Crossover it is about so much more...

March 20, 2017 (Updated: March 20, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Couldn't Put this One Down

From the moment I heard Kwame Alexander read aloud a selection from his books, I knew I needed to pick them all up. Crossover is one of Kwame Alexander's finest works. Growing up I was never a big poetry fan, but after reading Crossover, I found myself not only reading...

March 15, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Thought Provoking Thriller

Neal Shusterman doesn't hold back any punches with his newest book. I am a fan of Unwind, Bruiser, Everlost, and Challenger Deep. Like Unwind, Scythe is a dark look into the future where the age of "Mortality" has past and the world has conquered disease and...

March 13, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Crucial, Honest, Heartbreaking

Every once in awhile a book comes along that is not only important, timely and relevant, but also so well-written that you just can't put down. Words cannot begin to explain all the emotions this novel has brought up in me. The Hate U Give is a book I could...

February 25, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Another Great Adventure

Book #2 of the Secret Hero Society does not disappoint. Fans of Study Hall of Justice will not be disappointed. Book 2 begins during Ducard Academy's summer break. Our favorite hero, Clark, Bruce, and Diana have all received invitations to attend the Evergreen Adventure Camp. This camp is...

February 22, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Young Adult Fiction
Bite Your Nails Awesome

I have always been a big fan of the horror genre. While I tend to be the type that hides their eyes behind open fingers at the movie theater, I am a true horror fan when it comes to books. One thing that is for sure is that Kim...

February 22, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
YA True Crime

I have been on a true crime kick lately. With multiple snow days, I have found myself listening to podcasts and binge watching true crime stories. Who Killed Christopher Goodman by Allan Wolf fits right into my newest obsession. What struck me right away is that it is loosely based...

January 16, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
How I Love a Good Time Travel Story

The Girl from Everywhere is one of my favorite reads from December. I have one disclaimer that I was immediately drawn to the premise of the book due to the fact Nix was born in Hawaii in 1868. My mother was born in Hawaii and her family is native to...

January 16, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Young Adult Fiction
Make Sure the Women in the Walls Don't Get You.

What caught my attention first was the wonderfully creepy cover. Having a need to fill my need for a Gretchen McNeil type book, I instantly gravitated to The Women in the Walls. What I liked best: The Women in the Walls hooks the reader instantly. Amy...

212 results - showing 16 - 30
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."