Review Detail

Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
(Updated: May 27, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to the story behind the legend.

The story starts at the very beginning of Marilyn's life. Back then she was Norma Jean. Her life was filled with loss-she didn't know her father; was in and out of foster care; forced into an early marriage; and craving to be loved.

Her own mother ended up in a psych ward for mental illness. The novel shows what lead to her break and the long road to being 'famous' and at what cost.

Little known facts on her life-Marilyn stuttered and had Meniere's disease. Also she loved to read and better herself. She invented the Marilyn Monroe fans loved, but she craved to be loved. Another fact was that she made then husband Joe DiMaggio promise to put flowers on her grave each week if she died before him. And he did. She wanted to learn the craft and become a better actress and studied method acting with Lee Strasberg.

Tragic, haunting look into the 'real' Marilyn Monroe told in verse.
Good Points
1. Haunting tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
October 05, 2020
Thanks for the fabulous review. Here's the book trailer--perhaps my best yet. The book ain't bad either. Share it and tag me on Facebook (@carole.weatherford) or Twitter (poetweatherford) by October 7, 2020 to win a copy of the book. https://youtu.be/OUGfJ6v8LhA
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
"SICK KIDS IN LOVE is a beautiful story about love- as well as invisible illness/disability AND NOBODY DIES! (I do..."
Violent Ends
 
4.7
"VIOLENT ENDS by Shaun David Hutchinson and 17 other authors is a young adult contemporary fiction, standalone novel. I..."
Not Otherwise Specified
 
5.0
"Not Otherwise Specified was my third Hannah Moskowitz novel, so I thought I knew what to expect. I liked the..."
Teeth
 
3.7
"Great to have a male protagonist in YA. This was an interesting story that takes place on a lonely island..."
Teeth
 
4.3
"What I Loved: Moskowitz's writing in Teeth is not of a style that generally appeals to me, but the writing..."
Teeth
 
3.5
" I was drawn to this book because I liked the sound of..."
Invincible Summer
 
4.0
"This book made me a little teary-eyed. Hannah Moskowitz took an unoriginal idea and made it original by adding not..."
Invincible Summer
 
5.0
"I hope that what I write here actually makes coherent sense. It is no lie when I tell you that..."
Gone, Gone, Gone
 
5.0
"Favourite Moments: 'If I could take all the machine guns in the world and bend them into hearts,..."
Invincible Summer
 
5.0
"Don't judge a book by its cover. The one thing that didn't sit well with me about this title was..."
Invincible Summer
 
5.0
GB Geeky Beach Babe
"This book is so beautiful and so real, I just can't tell you how good it is. I wasn't sure..."
Break
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by peace-love-happiness22 Jonah breaks his bones, and it's not an accident.Jonah's life is falling apart, so he..."