Review Detail

Young Adult Nonfiction 272
A DC Starter
(Updated: May 28, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
An alternate reality take on the Super Sons series, featuring the middle-school aged offspring of Batman and Superman. When "climate disruption" threatens coastal cities, both boys are displaced. And with their fathers busy off trying to save the planet in their own ways, they get caught somewhere between school bullies and investigating the source of a mysterious virus outbreak.

What I Liked:

I did enjoy the artwork. The coloring was vibrant and the use of shadow gave it a vaguely cell-shaded appeal. It often reminded me of the art style found in the The Iron Giant movie, (which elicited fond feelings.)

The character of Candace presented as a strong, promising female MC. She's African royalty of some kind, and outside of nebulous visions, her abilities are unclear. So there is plenty of room for expanding on her character in any future installments.

What Didn't Work for Me:

The storytelling format was disjointed and often difficult to follow. Transitions were jerky, and the pacing sometimes felt uneven. A lot of the plot drive seemed to be a result of off-screen events we readers simply aren't privy to.

While the author did give the introductory disclaimer that he was essentially told by DC to do his own thing, I wasn't expecting him to dive right in without having any real knowledge of the characters he was adapting. And yet, that appears to be what happened.

Existing fans of Damian Wayne are advised to brace themselves. This alternate version of him comes across as a bratty, arrogant rich kid with incredibly bad (and inexplicably underfunded) costuming choices. When his dad doesn't allow him to tag along and play vigilante, he throws a tantrum and demands to be called 'Ian' rather than Damian. And there's sadly no mention of his intriguing backstory as the grandson of Ra's al Ghul. (It also doesn't help that the artwork seems to have divested him of all hints of his ethnic background.)

Please be forewarned that this interpretation is unrelated to the established Superboy or Robin, and has nothing to do with the original Super Sons comic. While some aspects of this book may appeal to young readers who have little or no familiarity with the DC Universe, I wouldn't advise it for anyone who is easily put off by inconsistency with canon.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
The Electric Kingdom
 
4.0
"THE ELECTRIC KINGDOM is an unexpected and twisty post-apocalyptic read. The world has been ravaged by flies- well, actually, they..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
""The Kiss of Deception" is the story of Lia, a princess who has been betrothed for an alliance. The morning..."
Deception (Defiance #2)
 
4.0
""Deception" continues Rachel and Logan's story as the survivors of Baalboden head into Wasteland to make a new life for..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
5.0
"I just want to shake the authors hand. I use to read books all the time but It takes so..."
Exo
Exo
 
5.0
""Exo" is a really interesting YA sci-fi that follows a 17-year-old human a hundred years after Earth has been taken..."
Across a Star-Swept Sea (For Darkness Shows the Stars #2)
 
5.0
""Across a Star-Swept Sea" is an incredible sequel that introduces a new world and cast of characters, making it also..."
True Born
 
5.0
"“True Born” is one of my new favorites- a really fantastic YA fantasy. Lucinda (aka Lucy and Lu) and her..."
True Born
 
3.7
"TRUE BORN follows Lucy and her twin Margot as they deal with the drama and politics of a post-apocalyptic world...."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Foragers
 
5.0
"An intricate narrative bringing out a picturesque imagination of the author, reverberating unknown Ainu culture and the footprints of experiences,..."