Review Detail

Young Adult Nonfiction 194
Hello Girls: Friendship on Fire
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Some friendships are unbreakable. In “Hello Girls,” the latest novel by Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry you will find a story of a friendship forged by fire. A tale inspired by their own “Thelma and Louise” road trip moment. The two of them fashioned an intriguingly funny novel about two teenage girls in their senior year of high school who met each other in a most unusual way.

From the first few pages, I knew that I was going to love this book. In fact, if you loved the friendship between “Thelma and Louise” you will love this story of friendship just as much if not more. The introduction of Winona Olsen and Lucille Pryce in the storyline gives the opportunity to feel for these girls and their horrible home life from the start. Their story is full of trauma as they meet outside a police station one night; a growing friendship between two girls in a bad situation.

Lucille seems to be drowning due to her needy mother; not-to-mention, her brother who does drug deals off the living room sofa. She works as a waitress and can’t shake the feeling that there has to be more to life than this.
Winona seems to be starving for life as she struggles with an eating disorder and an outwardly perfect father that abuses her behind closed doors only to hide her bruises so no one can see them but her.

Together, along with the stolen car, they decide they must break away from their daily lives now instead of waiting for their upcoming graduation from high school. As Winona learns that her mother, whom she thought was dead, is alive and living in Las Vegas they come up with a plan to break away from the doldrums of everyday life.

The plan…. to steal a convertible, cash, and hit the road. They end up on a cross-country road trip that leads them into illegal gambling, a drug-dealing scam, and a feigned kidnapping with their friendship only grew stronger.

The friendship between Wynona and Lucille keeps the story grounded while other elements grew more and more outlandish throughout the story. “Hello Girls,” is a celebration of two young women’s autonomy seemingly taken by men and fueled by rage, is a fast-paced read full of nonstop action. I loved this book and if you like a book focused on friendship and wild, yet unpredictable adventures this is the book for you.

NOTE: I received a copy of this book from YA Books Central. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

Good Points
I loved this book and if you like a book focused on friendship and wild, yet unpredictable adventures this is the book for you.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
Sanctuary
 
3.0
"X-men Gen X (i.e. the teen version) meets Aliens-lite in this survival-in-space story. Told in first-person past-tense from..."
InterWorld (InterWorld #1)
 
3.5
"A solid sci-fi/urban fantasy adventure premise, ideally targeting the mid-to-upper Middle Grade demographic. It’s a quick read—overall fun and fast-paced...."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"Wow! I'm not even sure what to say about this book without ruining it for everyone. I'm not normally much..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."
The Maze Runner
 
4.7
"Nice story that unfolds really fast, and in an interesting way. I enjoyed this first part to the trilogy...."
The Return (The After Trilogy: Book Two)
 
5.0
"Kelly St. Clare is a genius! An evil genius for sure, but she's still a genius! This book was..."
The Return (The After Trilogy: Book Two)
 
5.0
"You don't expect science fiction to have you rolling in laughter. The story: Let's face it, the..."
Glass Houses (The Morganville Vampires #1)
 
3.3
"Set in Morganville, Texas, Claire Danvers has just started university and is living in a horrible dormitory on campus. Constantly..."
 
4.7
"This is one of the only series that does make me think and that sticks with me long after I've..."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"This book jumps right into the action. Kady and Ezra's home planet; Kerenza is invaded by BeiTech. UTA (United Terran..."
Glass Houses (The Morganville Vampires #1)
 
5.0
"A quick read but really enjoyable! The characters are believable and the boys are just WOW. It seems a little..."
The Maze Runner
 
3.3
"The Maze Runner is the first novel in a series set in a dark post-apocalyptic world. Our central character..."
Illuminae
 
4.3
"The story follows exes Kady and Ezra after two rival corporations decide to go to war, resulting in the destruction..."
Behind The Throne
 
3.7
"An action-dense sci-fi full of politics and intrigue—with strong crossover appeal for fantasy fans, especially those who enjoy works along..."
Glass Houses (The Morganville Vampires #1)
 
5.0
" Claire is sixteen years old, and starting her first year of post-secondary education in Morganville. After angering Monica, one..."
Illuminae
 
5.0
"Lo and behold, the book that put me into a reading slump for a while because I couldn’t find anything..."
Sing Down The Stars
 
4.0
"Sing Down the Stars by L.J. Hatton is book one in The Celestine Series, a sci-fi tale about an alien..."
Resurgence (Silver Blackthorn #3)
 
4.0
"The adventure and rebellion of Silver Blackthorn ends here. The third and last book in the trilogy, RESURGENCE starts off..."
Alight
 
4.7
"What a fantastic followup to Alive, the first book in this series! The author uses a nice technique for reminding..."