Review Detail

The Strange True Tale of Frankenstein's Creator Mary Shelley
(Updated: September 11, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
What worked: This is a fascinating insight into the life of the author of Frankenstein. The beginning paragraph, when Mary Shelley's son finds the heart of his dead father in his mother's portal desk, introduces readers to the strangeness that was a part of Shelley's life.

One word sums up Mary Shelley's life: drama. Though she lived in the early 1800s, her life wasn't dull. The daughter of a feminist and known author, Mary ran away from home at age 16 with poet Percy Bysshe Shelley. He was the love of her life, but also the cause of heartache and much drama.

Readers find out more about Shelley's life. She was shunned by her family when she ran away. She also suffered miscarriages, deaths of children, smallpox, and being a widow at the age of 25. Her life is the stuff of tragedies, but she never gave up hope.

There's also references of how ruthless society at this time was to those who committed suicide and to unmarried women who had children. Mary had the brunt of society disapproval when she ran off with the poet Shelley, who was married and had one small child at the time.

The illustrations are equally fascinating. There's photos of Mary and Percy Shelley when young. Also photos of their children and friends like Lord Bryon.

Everyone knows the story of how the young friends met together and dared each other to write a horror story. This would be the backdrop to what inspired Mary Shelley to write Frankenstein. There's a photo of the now crumbing ancient castle that might have been the inspiration of the Frankenstein's castle. We also see a picture of the handwriting of a page of the novel. There's also mention of Mary Shelley's other works.

Engaging story of the creator of Frankenstein and her strange but very true life that was filled with love, drama, and heartache.
Good Points
1. Fascinating insight into the life of the author of Frankenstein
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

Soldier (Talon #3)
 
5.0
"I have loved this series since the beginning but I just knew Soldier was going to be a little different..."
Soldier (Talon #3)
 
5.0
"What I loved: I have found myself completely invested in the world that Julie has created and the characters..."