Review Detail

Young Adult Nonfiction 1101
A Look into the Life and Faith of a Snowboarding Great
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kelly Clark is close to becoming a household name (at least with those of us that follow the Winter Olympics every four years), and as one reads this account of how she came to reign over women's snowboarding, the reasons become clear. Kelly is an admirable individual, and her fearless determination has led her to dominate in her field of athletics for over a decade.

Reading this story was like a blast from the past for me, as well, because I spent a season in Mammoth Lakes, California, in 2004, learning to snowboard and working at Mammoth Mountain Ski Area. When I was there, I attended Lighthouse Church and experienced firsthand the impact of the people at that church. As I read, I grew nostalgic, remembering the very people in the church who had shared that they had met Kelly and had spoken with her about the Lord, along with her journey towards finding Jesus. I left Mammoth in May 2004, probably right before Kelly moved there! So it was really exciting for me personally to read about her journey towards God from that point onward, and to read more about where the Lord has taken her in her sport. She is such an honest, open person, and a hard worker--truly a role model for women in the sport of snowboarding--a sport that, as I found when I worked at the resort, is known for promoting a culture of promiscuity and intoxication. Kelly's determination to be a light in her community is inspiring.

The writing style of this book is lacking, however--quote after quote riddles certain chapters, where firsthand descriptions would have helped to maintain an easier reading flow. I probably would have preferred to read a firsthand story rather than this style of writing, which works better in shorter articles and stories. I did think the addition of snowboarding history and terms was helpful and very informative, helping the reader to gain a better understanding of what tricks are being described in the book. Overall, I think this is a good read for kids who are highly involved in sports and wish to pursue big dreams to gain a thoughtful and grounded perspective on what truly makes a person special and how the process, not the outcome, is the most important part of working towards a dream.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
"A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman..."
When I Look Up
 
5.0
"WHEN I LOOK UP is a lovely story to capture a child's imagination. Told in brief rhymes like poetry, the..."