Review Detail

Young Adult Nonfiction 2301
House of Night: Burned Review
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Cari

Finishing Burned was sort of a let down and more so than the books in
the past. I dont feel anything major was accomplished in this book.
Sure Zoey is back from the Otherworld but did we really think she would
stay there? She is the main character after all. It seems like with
the House of Night Series its either a hit or miss, for example I loved
Tempted but not so fond of Marked.

     The story picks up from where Tempted left off and Zoeys soul is
shattered from watching Kalona kill one of her inner circle. While in
the Otherworld Zoey starts to lose pieces of her soul and makes the
decision to stay there. I found it hard to believe she didnt think
about how this would affect her friends, warriors, and most importantly
her grandmother. She never fights to find a way back and if she truly
loves those she left behind it should have weighed on her mind just a
little.

     Stevie Rae seems to be following in Zoeys footsteps and I say this
because she is keeping secrets, having a hard time being the High
Priestess, not being able to choose one guy, and ultimately wanting to
be with the bad guy. This feels like Zoey, Stark, and Eric all over
again. Aside from Stevie Rae the Nerd Herd does not play a big role.

     We only saw Grandma Redbird once, which for someone who could lose
her granddaughter I would think she would be more involved role. Also
the way Dallas talks is annoying he adds the word "Girl" at the end of
every sentence when he is talking to or about Stevie Rae. Heath does
the same thing with Zoey. He says annoying phrases such as "snot nose"
or it seems he can never speak properly which as the story line goes
along it really gets old. Cast throws plenty of profanity that doesnt
add value to the story. To parents if your younger teens read this
series I would be cautious with this book.

     I felt that the book jacket and/or description made it seem that
Stevie Rae and Aphrodite would save Zoey when really Aphrodite only had
one vision that she could see what the world would be like without her.
The stand out star was Stark he grows into being a better person. Even
though the House of Night is centered on the female characters, Spark
is really the only reason to finish this book.

     I took a few days to write the review because I was hoping that as
the days passed I would find the good in Burned, but that didn't happen.
I am not sure if it's because the book was bad or I have read so many
great books since I started the series that this book just didn't live
up to what I have read. Either way I was not happy. Have you read the
book? What did you think? Did you enjoy it?
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

Firebrand (Steeplejack #2)
 
4.7
"Now working as a private detective/spy, Ang may be living a financially healthier life than her years a steeplejack, but..."
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
 
4.3
"I really enjoyed reading the first book in this series, Front Lines, so I was really excited for this sequel...."
The Turncoat's Gambit
 
5.0
"THE TURNCOAT’S GAMBIT by Andrea Cremer is the conclusion of an alt-history trilogy that examines the what-ifs of a failure..."
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
 
5.0
"Just wowza. I'm a huge fan of FRONT LINES, the first book in the series. This series is an..."
Wolf By Wolf
 
4.3
"Intriguing take on 'what would have happened if Hitler had won the war'. Add to that a wicked paranormal..."
Smoke
 
3.0
"In historical England, people give off Smoke. It is generally accepted that this Smoke is a product of sin, and..."
Plus One
 
4.0
"Elizabeth Fama sets her novel, PLUS ONE, in a segregated world where half of the population lives and works in..."
The Only Thing to Fear
 
3.7
"History has taken an awful twist in THE ONLY THING TO FEAR. Hitler and his cronies have taken over the..."
Front Lines
 
4.7
"I usually avoid reading WWII novels, whether they are young adult or non-fiction, because I don’t like how they all..."
Front Lines
 
4.0
"An alternate history story of World War 2 where women are eligible to be drafted after a court ruling. Front..."
Front Lines
 
5.0
"In this alternate history, women are subject to being drafted and can enlist during World War II. Three of the..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.0
"In the year 1818, Alasdair Finch lives in a world where men have mechanical parts and live hidden away with..."