Review Detail

Family Reunion, Winterbottom Style
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rita Lorraine Hubbard, The Original H.I.R. (Historical Investigative Reporter)

Love a good book full of quirky characters and laugh-out-loud situations? If you do, The Death (and Further Adventures) of Silas Winterbottom, The Body Thief, is the book for you.

Debut author Stephen M. Giles spins a delightfully well-written tale of an impossibly rich, incredibly old, mind-blowingly sinister patriarch named Silas Winterbottom, who has one foot in the grave and the other on a banana peel. Yes, Uncle Silas is dying fast, so he asks his nieces Isabella and Adele, and his nephew Milo, to visit him at his rambling estate to see who will inherit his fortune.

The cousins each have their reasons for answering Uncle Silas' call. The hilariously arrogant Isabella is a career criminal looking for that one big score that will land her on easy street for the rest of her life. Gullible Adele needs the inheritance to keep herself out of a horrifying institution for wayward girls. And cousin Milo, who holds Uncle Silas responsible for his parents' gruesome deaths, just wants to see the old prune reap what he sows.

Once the cousins arrive at Uncle Silas', they discover him to be a cold, crippled, calculating man with an unusual fondness for man-eating alligators. They also discover he isn't really interested in a tender family reunion, but something much more deadly! Suddenly the cousins must brave chicken-eating alligators, dark, rambling tunnels, mysterious house-guests, and diabolical doctors who simply love to experiment on unwilling subjects.

This is a refreshing, well-written book with fleshed-out characters that will have you laughing out loud one minute and marveling at how realistic they are the next. The writing is fresh, funny and perfectly-paced, and each character's "voice" is wonderfully authentic.

Thanks, Mr. Giles. Can't wait for the further adventures of the sinister Silas Winterbottom.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
"I know better than to start a Kelly Oram book at bedtime. I know better, yet I do it with..."
Being Jamie Baker (Jamie Baker #1)
 
5.0
"I was never a fan of superheroes growing up, but Kelly Oram creates someone that any reader could relate to...."
Cinder & Ella
 
5.0
"If perfection was possible in literature, Cinder & Ella would be case and point. But alas, reading is subjective so..."