A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive (Dave Pelzer #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (98)
48123 1

User reviews

98 reviews

 
(67)
 
(18)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (98)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 71 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Ordering
WHOA
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by f00lishchick

This book was pretty intense because i have never met anybody in my life who had experienced this kind of abuse. what made it more surprising was the fact that the author was writing about his own, personal past; this was an autobiography. this book was fun to read because each page kept me on edge because i kept wanting to turn the page and know what would happen next.in my opinion it was a pretty good book and i would recommend everybody to read and experience what it feels like to be Dave; even if it is only for one day
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Battered and Broken
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rachel Connell

This book is wonderful. It wil make you gasp, cry, and take your breath away. If you can't take gruesome injuries I wouldn't recommend this book to you. This book makes you think about those kids at your school who people make fun of and always wear dirty clothes. It makes take a second look at other people's situations and makes you appreciative of your own. One day Dave's mother snaps and starts hating him. He undergoes starvation, beatings, poisonings, burnings, and much more. Crying out for someone to help him and no one pays attention. This would be a book that everyone should read at least once.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A book to open your eyes
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Shannon

This book is about a boy. Who struggles through life. Wondering why and what it is that he has done. To deserve the unending abuse. His mother inflicts upon him. He endures unmentionable conflicts with his mother. Where she retaliates with stabbing him to setting him necked on a lit stove when he was four. He becomes more of a warrior fighting for his life. Then a child seeking his mother's love. At the brink of life and death. He finds no reprieve but, only guilt at being rescued an abandoning his brothers. This book may shock you. It shows the most shocking and gruesome details into the life of an abused child. It will open your eyes to the world around you.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Hard One But Worth It
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Amy

I really like this book, even though I did not enjoy reading it at the time. It is a hard book to read because of the subject matter, and the book is very graphic and descriptive which can be upsetting at times. It was extremely worthwhile, but I think that I was a little young to read it at the time- I would say 18 and up would understand and be able to cope with reading this book.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Riveting
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by pjrenick

This book is one that you can't put down once you've started it.  It is graphic - and it's definitely not for everyone - but it's a great book about how someone can survive torture worse than most of us can imagine.  Many of my students (7th grade) have read this book and every single one of them have requested the follow-up book to read next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Riveting
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by PJR

"A Child Called It" is a unique book. It tells the story of Dave Peltzer's childhood. The horrors that this man suffered as a child are worse than most things we can even imagine.

I teach 7th grade reading and try to keep a WIDE variety of books in my classroom library, but this one is just too graphic for many young readers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A hard read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by undercover reader

Little David was always in a constant struggle day in and day out to survive. His alclholic, sick, cruel, and abusive mother played such severe games with David. At times David wasn't sure if his mother was going to kill him today or tomarrow.


Although young, to survive his horrid lifestyle, where he slept in the basement with no covers for warmth, went days without food, and had bruises through out his whole body. He learned to think like an adult in order to survive his mother's rage and abusive "games". A teacher at his school finally reports Davids scars to the police. David was finally told what he wanted to hear most of his entire life
"She will never hurt you again"

Although this story was so horrifying, at the end, the happy ending made it worth while. Can't wait to read the lost boy.

Honestly, I would'nt reccomend it to faint hearted readers.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Holy Crap...
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Christy

Wow... this book was really good. At the beginning, I was starting to think that it was gonig to be really boring but then it got into his life. I had no idea what was going on but I realized that this boys life was falling apart. Well, it seems like its falling apart then you learn that its only getting better. To be honest, that boys mother deserves to die...

sorry for being so blunt
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
For Mature Audiences
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by amanda

This is an emotion filled book with what could be considered for mature audiences, those who are able to cope with the violence that was done to David.

I think this is a must read for everyone eventually, but parents need to decide when it is right for someone under the age of 14. It exposes a world that is often ignored but is very important to realize that such violence can take place, even with family members.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Boy in Abuse
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Steph

I think this book is a true gem in a pile of rocks.It shows how child abuse is a real problem in the world and how it affects our most inner thoughts and lives.Showing how love is a true necessity in a child's life and should be given whith open arms,and no one even the most selfish of children should live without it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
98 results - showing 71 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Lizzy McTizzy and the Busy Dizzy Day
 
4.0
"Lizzy McTizzy is late for a party but she can't find her shoe. She looks everywhere both inside and outside..."
Save Me a Seat
 
5.0
" Save Me A Seat by Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan is must read that should be on every..."
Cheese
 
4.0
"Originally published as Oggie Cooder (2000) and Oggie Cooder, Party Animal (2009), Cheese capitalizes on Oggie's main hobby (and stress..."
Honey
 
4.0
"From the annoying neighbor girl, to a wig-wearing hairdresser, and a secret-keeping father, Honey is a novel that oozes with..."
Woof: A Love Story
 
3.5
"An ordinary dog who loves to do ordinary dog stuff is running along one day when he sees a beautiful..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Jinxie Audrey is an outsider in her school.  She looks funny, doesn't fit in and lives in a..."
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by flapjack This book  is a great way of saying there are just somethings in life you just..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ray Ray This book caught my eye on the shelf at my library. Once i started..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mimi So B. It is one of those rare books that simply rocks! The author has such..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by mearley Soof--one of only 23 words that Heidi's mother speaks. Consumed with a need to find out..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by zach pacheco i cried a lot in this book and it seams as though in many parts..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bella "So B. It?What kind of title is that?" That's what I first..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by GirlwiththeBraids Heidi It has always wondered about her life, her origin, and her family. Living with her..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by GirlwiththeBraids Regular Guy by Sarah Weeks In this clever novel, Sarah Weeks writes down the..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede Oggie Cooder is a spunky kid who charves (chews and carves) cheese when he is nervous...."
 
4.0
"Im starting to think that Sarah Weeks has a thing for interesting character names and words. In So B. It,..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bria This story is truly something great. The charachters journey to becoming a fully realized person..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by bookworm9 So B. It is the type of book where you quickly have to suspend your disbelief,..."
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Tamanna I found this book very dull and boring. Personally, i very much like storie4s with ore..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jessica M I'm hear to tell you about So.B.It. The setting of this story is in Navada...."