A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive (Dave Pelzer #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (98)
45116 1

User reviews

98 reviews

 
(67)
 
(18)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (98)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 71 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Ordering
A SAD BOOK LIKE YOU WOULDN'T BELIEVE!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kayla

I thought this book was sooo sad. I cried almost throughout the whole book. I couldn't even imagine what David went through. I don't even know how he survived. I've read this book 3 times already within about 1 month and I'd really suggest for others to read this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Everyone should read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Mi-chan

A really moving story. It shows that the will to survive is the strongest hope that humans have. The author of the book is the boy and he bravely retells his story. It shows what children are feeling when they're being abused. There are very gruesome parts to this book but everyone should read it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
best book ever but so sad
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by tasha

this book is basicly about a boy named dave and his mom is always beting him 4 no real reasons and he lives in the garage his mom @ first was a loveing and caring mother but then she just became a devil come 2 life well only to her son dave! this book literly made me cry and iam 15 yrs old
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Writing with a Purpose
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Aileen

I literally cried while reading this book. It is written from the viewpoint of a child, using simple language and conveying the confusion and thought process that he had as a child. I went through an entire spectrum of emotions as the book went on, and I admire the writer, Dave, for having the courage to write it. I don't think anyone can read this book without undergoing some sort of transformation. Dave really accomplished something by writing this novel, by putting his story out there. He increased awareness and I for one have a greater understanding of the hell these kids are put through and what some of the signs are.


Writing with a purpose. I respect that. I can only hope that no one else has to go through what Dave did, but unfortunately, the world isn't like that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
oh my gosh!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Ashley

This book was extremey heartbreaking and yet at the same time it gave you hope. I read it about two years ago. I read it only once for a school thing and i never forgot it. it stays with me in my mind all the time. unfortaneatly I have not yet bought it, but i encourage everyone to read it. It includes alot about things that actually happen to young children
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
heart breaking!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by jessica

an absolutly heart-wrenching story of a young boy named dave who is horribly abused by his mother. the first in an amazing series that will break your heart and give you an unshakeable urge to hold your kids close and tell them how much you love them. saying this book is a great read would be a horrible understatement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
WOw
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Katie Bishop

After reading just parts of that book make me break down. I have expierenced some abuse but not that intense. That is so horrable a parent can be that mean to an innocent little child.That mother should have been sent to prison hopefully she went to hell where she belongs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Disgusting but intresting
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Bettina

David Pelzer's mom abuses him alot. His mother only abuses him, not any of his other brothers. David's mom makes him do all of the chores and if he doesn't do it right he is punished by not getting any food. His mother also punishes him for no good reason, like hitting him. David always tries to get more food but his mom is determined not to let him get any but food she gives him. David is determined not to let her get him down.

I thought this book was disgusting but it will keep you wondering what David will do next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A True Story that is the hardest part to understand
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by two sided freek

It's a true story and the 3rd worst child abuse case reported in US. the 1st and 2nd case's victim's didn't survive. What really amazes me is that David Pelzer had the courage to write about his childhood, to bear his vulnerablities to the world and break the child abuse cycle, now with his own child a girl he really loves. The incidents in this book have you crying with sympathy for him and believe me this is a tear jerker. You have to read it
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
dont even try to make me stop crying!
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by chick box

this book totally messed up my emotions! its about a boy and the abuse that he goes through by his alcacolic mother. all the pain this mom can do to a poor innocent boy just makes me sick. yet it did teach me to be grateful for what i have and for the wonderful parents i have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
98 results - showing 71 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."