A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive (Dave Pelzer #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (98)
47830 1

User reviews

98 reviews

 
(67)
 
(18)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (98)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 71 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Ordering
A SAD BOOK LIKE YOU WOULDN'T BELIEVE!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kayla

I thought this book was sooo sad. I cried almost throughout the whole book. I couldn't even imagine what David went through. I don't even know how he survived. I've read this book 3 times already within about 1 month and I'd really suggest for others to read this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Everyone should read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Mi-chan

A really moving story. It shows that the will to survive is the strongest hope that humans have. The author of the book is the boy and he bravely retells his story. It shows what children are feeling when they're being abused. There are very gruesome parts to this book but everyone should read it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
best book ever but so sad
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by tasha

this book is basicly about a boy named dave and his mom is always beting him 4 no real reasons and he lives in the garage his mom @ first was a loveing and caring mother but then she just became a devil come 2 life well only to her son dave! this book literly made me cry and iam 15 yrs old
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Writing with a Purpose
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Aileen

I literally cried while reading this book. It is written from the viewpoint of a child, using simple language and conveying the confusion and thought process that he had as a child. I went through an entire spectrum of emotions as the book went on, and I admire the writer, Dave, for having the courage to write it. I don't think anyone can read this book without undergoing some sort of transformation. Dave really accomplished something by writing this novel, by putting his story out there. He increased awareness and I for one have a greater understanding of the hell these kids are put through and what some of the signs are.


Writing with a purpose. I respect that. I can only hope that no one else has to go through what Dave did, but unfortunately, the world isn't like that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
oh my gosh!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Ashley

This book was extremey heartbreaking and yet at the same time it gave you hope. I read it about two years ago. I read it only once for a school thing and i never forgot it. it stays with me in my mind all the time. unfortaneatly I have not yet bought it, but i encourage everyone to read it. It includes alot about things that actually happen to young children
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
heart breaking!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by jessica

an absolutly heart-wrenching story of a young boy named dave who is horribly abused by his mother. the first in an amazing series that will break your heart and give you an unshakeable urge to hold your kids close and tell them how much you love them. saying this book is a great read would be a horrible understatement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
WOw
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Katie Bishop

After reading just parts of that book make me break down. I have expierenced some abuse but not that intense. That is so horrable a parent can be that mean to an innocent little child.That mother should have been sent to prison hopefully she went to hell where she belongs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Disgusting but intresting
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Bettina

David Pelzer's mom abuses him alot. His mother only abuses him, not any of his other brothers. David's mom makes him do all of the chores and if he doesn't do it right he is punished by not getting any food. His mother also punishes him for no good reason, like hitting him. David always tries to get more food but his mom is determined not to let him get any but food she gives him. David is determined not to let her get him down.

I thought this book was disgusting but it will keep you wondering what David will do next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A True Story that is the hardest part to understand
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by two sided freek

It's a true story and the 3rd worst child abuse case reported in US. the 1st and 2nd case's victim's didn't survive. What really amazes me is that David Pelzer had the courage to write about his childhood, to bear his vulnerablities to the world and break the child abuse cycle, now with his own child a girl he really loves. The incidents in this book have you crying with sympathy for him and believe me this is a tear jerker. You have to read it
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
dont even try to make me stop crying!
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by chick box

this book totally messed up my emotions! its about a boy and the abuse that he goes through by his alcacolic mother. all the pain this mom can do to a poor innocent boy just makes me sick. yet it did teach me to be grateful for what i have and for the wonderful parents i have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
98 results - showing 71 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."