A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive (Dave Pelzer #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (98)
41189 1

User reviews

98 reviews

 
(67)
 
(18)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (98)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 41 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Ordering
Incredibly Disturbing and Sad
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by dykehalo

One of the worst cases of abuse on record recorded in a book. It's incredibly sad, gross, and disgusting all the things this boy goes through. At the same time it's inticing and hard to put down.

If this book doesn't make you thankfull for the laws North America now has, Children's Aid/Social Workers, and your parents i don't know what will.
I LOVED IT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Completely Great
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jordan

This book was so sad. I can't believe how his mother treated him. I understand that he was young and all, and I probably would have lied to at his age, but jeez, you have to tell. I hope this book will help other people realize the dangers of child abuse out there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
SAD!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ToRi

This book was so sad. I couldn't believe that it was about a real person because the things his mother did to him were just plain cruel. I really don't know how he survived all of that.
Dave was abused by his mother. She would bash him, hold his head under water, make him eat his own vomit.

Don't let all of these things put you off because this book was a truly sad but amazing story of how he sy=urvived through these horrible things.

I don't understand how a mother can do that to her child!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A great true story
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Dying kitty

I first read A Child called it about a year ago. Although I knew what it was about, I was not quite expecting the contents that I was confronted with.


A Child called it is a shocking story of appalling child abuse, which no one should have to go through. Unfortunately, as shown in this book, people did go through it, and probably still do.


It's one of those stories that really brings you in and helps you to see through the eyes of the writer, due the detail put into the book. When he's describing some of the punishments it's almost although you are there, watching it, which makes it all the more disturbing and upsetting.

I have also read Dave Pelzers other books; The lost boy and A man names Dave, and both add to the life he had with his mother, but also help to bring a happy end to the situation, despite several other up's and down's in his life, including his dad dying and having a bad marriage and getting divorced.


Overall I think this is a book that should not be thought lightly of. The content is strong and very upsetting in parts but perhaps that is necessary to get his message across. I see it as not only an interesting (if not disturbing) read, but also as a campaign against child abuse.

If you have yet to read this book, go out and buy it but be warned of the contents. Some of the punishments inflicted upon David are things you would not even expect to see in a gore/horror movie. However, it is an interesting and informative read for people who are interested in the subject or who just want to read about someone who has gone through such a bad childhood and come out on top.

Dave Pelzer is an inspiration to all.


-Rachel Hall (17 years old)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
What a tragic story
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Nelly

When i first saw this book i thought that it was going to be boring, but when my friends told me that it was great book i decided to read it. This book was so great but yet, so sad. how can a mother do that to her own child? This has been one of the GREATEST books i have ever read
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
OUTSTANDING!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Tiffany

As a freshman in high school i was assigned to read an autobiography or a biography and do a report in it. I picked from the shelf "A child called "it"". Never did i think in that moment i was about to read the most amazing and heart shattering book. The detail from this book really makes you feel you are there witnessing it!! I loved this book and i encourage many to read it!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
sad and disturbing
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by wwegurl

This is a good book. I can't believe how horrible some humans can act!This tells the story of an abused child, who is also the author. He had to go through so many things and still didn't give up. This is a book of great courage and determination. Also read The Lost Boy, a continuation of this story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Breathtaking
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Holly

Only one word can describe this amazing book: breathtaking! From the first page to last, this book had my attention, it tells the story of a young man who is abused by his mother. He told his story so well, with alarming details, and the descriptions were so great that I could picture every sentence in my mind. I would recommend "A Child Called It" to anyone up for a great read with a wonderful lesson!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Everyone should read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Mi-chan

A really moving story. It shows that the will to survive is the strongest hope that humans have. The author of the book is the boy and he bravely retells his story. It shows what children are feeling when they're being abused. There are very gruesome parts to this book but everyone should read it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
best book ever but so sad
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by tasha

this book is basicly about a boy named dave and his mom is always beting him 4 no real reasons and he lives in the garage his mom @ first was a loveing and caring mother but then she just became a devil come 2 life well only to her son dave! this book literly made me cry and iam 15 yrs old
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
98 results - showing 41 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
"AWESOME ACHIEVERS IN TECHNOLOGY is an approachable middle grade non-fiction book about people behind every day inventions that you may..."