Beautiful Creatures

Hot
 
0.0
 
3.6 (4)
6633 1
Beautiful_Creatures_One,4D_low_res.jpg
Ethan longs to escape his small Southern town. He meets a mysterious new girl, Lena. Together, they uncover dark secrets about their respective families, their history and their town. Based on the novel "Beautiful Creatures" by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.6
Acting 
 
3.7  (3)
Story 
 
4.0  (3)
Effects 
 
4.0  (4)
Dialogue 
 
3.3  (4)
Adaptation Quality 
 
3.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Enjoyable
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Acting 
 
5.0
Story 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
5.0
Dialogue 
 
5.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
5.0
While they changed a bit from the book, I still love this movie. It's one I watch often and enjoy so much.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
I didn't hate this.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Acting 
 
3.0
Story 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
4.0
Dialogue 
 
3.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
N/A
Now, I have not read this book. I really wanted to get to it before I watched the movie, but I haven't the patience and Netflix sent it to me without warning.

So I hunkered down on my bed of pillows and laptop cords, and watched this 2 hour long movie.

Being that I had no previous knowledge to how the book went, I found it okay. The ending was an obvious cliffhanger for a sequel, and I figured if I had read the book, that woulda pissed me off to no end.

Then, one fateful night over a plate of sushi with one of my best friends, Beautiful Creatures gets brought into our conversation. Her face instantly changed into one of utter disappointment.

Apparently, that is not at all how the books went, including that ending.

So yeah, I do not understand why some adaptations work and others just fall off the cliff.

BUT. Kyle Gallner is in this and he's sassy and I love him.

The main character, Ethan, has just about the worst southern accent of all the southern United States. I live in Louisiana and in all my days have I never heard someone with such a ridiculous accent.

Like I said, I did not hate the movie. The story was interesting and I never got bored.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Ok...
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Acting 
 
3.0
Story 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
4.0
Dialogue 
 
4.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
N/A
Give it a chance people! Think of it as a "retelling" of the novel!
Good Points
I actually liked it. Come on, the book is 500+ pages long, of course things were going to get cut out. I like to think of it as a "retelling" of the "Beautiful Creatures" novel. People need to give it a chance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
MADE ME WANT TO CRY IT WAS SO BAD
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Acting 
 
N/A
Story 
 
N/A
Effects 
 
3.0
Dialogue 
 
1.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
1.0
Don't watch this. It doesn't matter if you've read the book or not. Just don't see it. Please.
Good Points
All the puns I was macon of Macon Ravenwoood's name
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."