Twilight [Film]

Hot
 
0.0
 
3.3 (3)
6219 1
Twilight [Film]
MPAA Rating
Run Time
122 min
Release Year
Buy This Film
Bella Swan (Kristen Stewart) doesn’t expect much when she moves to the small town of Forks, Washington, until she meets the mysterious and handsome Edward Cullen (Robert Pattinson)—a boy who’s hiding a dark secret: he’s a vampire. As their worlds and hearts collide, Edward must battle the bloodlust raging inside him as well as a coterie of undead that would make Bella their prey. Based on the #1 New York Times best-selling sensation by Stephenie Meyer, Twilight adds a dangerous twist to the classic story of star-crossed lovers.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Acting 
 
2.7  (3)
Story 
 
3.7  (3)
Effects 
 
3.0  (3)
Dialogue 
 
2.7  (3)
Adaptation Quality 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
........
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Acting 
 
2.0
Story 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
4.0
Dialogue 
 
2.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
4.0
Loved the book, the movie fell a bit for me.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Twilight
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Acting 
 
3.0
Story 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
2.0
Dialogue 
 
4.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
5.0
What I originally thought was just poor lighting due to a tight budget, was actually done in post production. I think it was a poor choice. It was suppose to represent the coldness of Edward, but it just makes the movie look cheap. The blue tone also just really bothers me. I’m not sure why, but my eyes just find it displeasing.

Another post production effect that looks bad is the infamous vampire sparkle. That’s one thing that should have been awesome! It’s probably one of the most memorable (and made fun of) aspects of this whole series! When Edward reveals himself to Bella, he just looks sweaty. Semi-sparkly, but mostly sweaty. Also why does he sound like a wind chime? Apparently his skin is musical also. I laugh ever time I hear those chimes. I can’t help it! Even the “meadow scene” was ruined for me by the whimsical chimes and glitter-sweat. Oh well.

More aesthetic type comments, but in regards to the cast. First, Rosalie’s hair. You all know what I’m talking about! The dark roots with the pale blond locks. How could they not notice that?! But her shoes…OMG those shoes she’s wearing when Bella comes over…I want them! I need them! Holy crap! Sorry, I love shoes (even though I prefer to be barefoot). Okay, back to the subject of hair…Jacob’s wig. Enough said. Now on to more beautiful things. While most girls were fawning over Robert Pattison, I only had eyes for Ashley Greene. Where had she been all my life?! Team Alice all the way! Seriously, she’s hot and I think she was the best casting decision in the entire franchise. Not because she’s super hot, but I feel like she IS Alice. Perfection.

Aside from casting Ashley Greene as Alice, I also loved the choices that they made for Laurent, James, and Victoria. I think the actors were fantastic, but I also liked how wardrobe put them in seemingly random pieces of clothing rather than the distressed backpacker look. The idea that they take articles of clothing from their victims was a very nice touch, and I loved James added line of “Nice jacket” when they attack the guy in the boat. Great stuff!

Perhaps I should comment on the actual story now, huh? Well, I liked how they stuck very close to the book. In fact, I probably like it better than the book, since it wasn’t so drawn out. I think it was a great choice to move time forward by skipping all of that Girls’ Choice Dance stuff and jumping straight to prom. Although it’s a shame to miss Edward backing up traffic to allow Tyler to ask Bella to the dance. The addition of the field trip was kind of interesting. I liked it, but it also kind of bugged me, since it’s not in the book, but whatever.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Well, then.
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Acting 
 
3.0
Story 
 
3.0
Effects 
 
3.0
Dialogue 
 
2.0
Adaptation Quality 
 
5.0
I went and saw this in theaters 2 nights after it came out. I read all the books, and was honestly excited to see how the movie captured the personalities of the book (or at least the little that was there..ahem..Jacob.)

The row behind me and my friends was full of a couple guys we went to high school with. Which is weird in itself. What dudes are just like, "hey, man. Let's go see that new vampire movie. It looks legit", or at least I'm assuming that's how they decided to go see Twilight on the same night we were.

Anyways, I mention those boys (football playing boys, at that!!) because they were the entertainment the entire movie. They gave a running commentary of Bella's lack of enthusiasm and when things started to get sexy with Edward, they were more than inappropriate. (Maybe there were tying to defuse the awkwardness of 2 dudes seeing a vampire romance at 10 o'clock at night).

So yea. As for the transition from book to movie, it was almost a perfect cross over. I think they chose a decent cast, and the soundtrack is actually one of my favorites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."