The Forgotten Ones (The Danaan Trilogy #1)

Hot
 
3.5
 
2.7 (1)
3792 0
The Forgotten Ones (The Danaan Trilogy #1)
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Amazon Digital Services
Age Group
18+
Published Date
May 15, 2013
ISBN Number
978-0615809052
ASIN Number
      
Allison O'Malley's plan is to go to grad school so she can get a good job and take care of her schizophrenic mother. She has carefully closed herself off from everything else, including a relationship with Ethan, who she's been in love with for as long as she can remember. What is definitely not part of the plan is the return of her long-lost father, who claims he can bring Allison's mother back from the dark place her mind has gone. Allison doesn't trust her father, so why would she believe his stories about a long forgotten Irish people, the Tuatha de Danaan? But truths have a way of revealing themselves. Secrets will eventually surface. And Allison must learn to set aside her plan and work with her father if there is even a small chance it could restore her mother's sanity.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Engaging Start To A New Series
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
What I Liked: Beautiful cover! I think this is the first NA book I've read that has NOT been a contemporary so, yay for that! I also appreciated that this is a fairly clean read as far as NA's go. It still has romance and swoon, but it doesn't delve too deep or get graphic which was refreshing. I love all things Irish and the twist on why Allison's mom is the way she is was creative and interesting. And then there's Ethan. I think he was my favorite character which is why what he experiences left me a little heartsick. WHY LAURA? WHY?! ;)

What Left Me Wanting More: I dove into this without rereading the summary and the fantasy element through me for a loop, but not in a bad way. I just wasn't expecting it. The ending felt a little abrupt to me, however, it does a great job of creating interest in where the story will go next which is always a plus.

Final Verdict: Engaging start to a new series!
Good Points
New Adult Fantasy
Clean Romance
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.7
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
2.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Good lore but poor execution
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
2.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
Conceptually, The Forgotten Ones drew me in with the Irish folklore. Stories of faeries are interesting to me and that was the reason I picked it up. In the Danaan trilogy, I found the folklore on which it was based to be good, and while it had lot of potential overall the book had shortcomings. I found the characters to be one-dimensional – with no motivation explained or any character development. I could go with the childhood friends for Ethan and Allison, but any interaction Allison had with the Danaan, including her father Liam and others like Aodhan or even Aofie, I couldn’t get them, like something was missing. It was all expression and dialogue – no understanding behind them. I was left wondering why this character helped her or why this character was reacting in a certain way to her. Secondly, the storytelling felt stilted and the breaks in plot did not give a good enough indication of a timeline, especially in the first half. The scene ends on a solemn statement or with Allison making up her mind about something and bam, it’s the next day (maybe) and I am left wondering what happened in between.

I would say only the back-story saved this book and the story between the lines added some depth. There was some bigger secret lurking behind Allison’s existence but it was just hinted at. The ending, while meaning to be a cliffhanger, just felt abrupt. Also, with the length of the book, it felt rushed. It could have had more depth, more back-story and more character development. This book is a maybe, and while I did not enjoy this immensely, I am holding out for the sequel to make up my mind on the trilogy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pikmi Pops(TM) are the latest collectible craze! Join these cute...

Latest Member Reviews

Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Tiger Queen
 
5.0
"All Kateri wants to do is impress her father, become the queen she's meant to be, protect her people, and..."
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
"Isaiah's family has struggled after the death of his sister in a car accident that wasn't her fault. The parents..."
The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."