The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Kids Review: Who Will Pull Santa's Sleigh? (Russ Willms)

91pw3LPISkL
About this Book: Many animals want to audition to pull Santa's sleigh and deliver toys to children around the world. But can anyone actually get the job done? This hilarious, behind-the-scenes story about Santa’s reindeer crew is perfect for fans of Santa Claus: The World's First Toy Expert and Olive, the...
Continue reading
  248 Hits
  0 Comment

2021 in Review: Lillian McCurry, Staff Reviewer's Top 5 books

Staff-Picks
81ZKUZnBDBS
71MZnFmyuUS
91PdgDryURL
91zWCkAqHLL
9113TS3U2RL
2021 in Review   The Team at YAbookscentral.com have worked hard all year reading wonderful books and creating insightful reviews to help readers find their next great read.    The staff has reflected on their top 5 favorite books of 2021.  We hope you are inspired to check out these great...
Continue reading
  256 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Charlotte Nebres (Charlotte and the Nutcracker: The True Story of a Girl Who Made Ballet History), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

56905060._SX318_20211219-041325_1



Today we are chatting with Charlotte Nebres, author of Charlotte and the Nutcracker ! Read on for more about Charlotte, her book, plus a giveaway!         Meet Charlotte Nebres !        Charlotte Nebres is a twelve-year-old pre-professional ballet dancer. Charlotte was the first Black dancer to be...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kelly McCreery
What a beautiful book! I love the story of the Nutcracker and this version looks enchanting!
Wednesday, 22 December 2021 12:54
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is beautiful and this will be a joy to read.
Saturday, 08 January 2022 16:32
  420 Hits
  2 Comments

Featured Review: Lifetime Passes (Terry Blas)

5152OkPhnpL
About This Book: In this darkly comedic YA graphic novel, a group of teens starts a program to bring senior citizens to a local theme park to take advantage of the unofficial park policy: If someone dies on the property, the rest of their party is given lifetime passes! Sixteen-year-old Jackie...
Continue reading
  287 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Worser (Jennifer Ziegler)

917KzfyWPkL
About This Book: William Wyatt Orser, a socially awkward middle schooler, is a wordsmith who, much to his annoyance, acquired the ironically ungrammatical nickname of “Worser" so long ago that few people at school know to call him anything else. Worser grew up with his mom, a professor of rhetoric and...
Continue reading
  245 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Interrupting Chicken: Cookies for Breakfast (David Ezra Stein)

A1DWGGueZPL
About This Book: In her latest star turn, the little red chicken from the Caldecott Honor Book Interrupting Chicken is hungry—and sillier than ever. It’s bright and early on a Saturday morning, and the little red chicken wants cookies for breakfast. What better way to persuade Papa than by jarring him...
Continue reading
  177 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: When You Adopt a Pugicorn (Matilda Rose)

61ZLfwjcTUL
About This Book: Every year, young princesses and princes arrive at Mrs. Paws' Magic Pet Shop to pick a perfect unicorn pet. But this year Princess Ava arrived too late. There are no unicorns left . . . only Pugicorn! He's short and hairy. He can't sit still or gallop gracefully—and...
Continue reading
  267 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Just Be Cool, Jenna Sakai (Debbi Michiko Florence)

611XKu4lVxL
About This Book: Fans of Lisa Greenwald and Wendy Mass are sure to fall head-over-heels for this funny, sweet story of crushes, competition, and the confusing reality of middle school. "Heartbreak is for suckers." -- Jenna Sakai When Jenna gets dumped over winter break, it confirms what she learned from her...
Continue reading
  171 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Vampires, Hearts, & Other Dead Things (Margie Fuston)

5183Cysbe0L._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In this “equal parts heartbreaking and joyful” (School Library Journal) debut YA novel that’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown meets They Both Die at the End, a teen girl takes a trip to New Orleans with her estranged best friend to find a vampire to save her dying...
Continue reading
  259 Hits
  0 Comment

Kid Review: The Snowflake (Benji Davies)

816bYPZreS
A bout This Book: From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of Tad and The Storm Whale, comes a dazzling wintery tale about a young girl wishing for a perfect Christmas tree, and a young snowflake wishing for the perfect place to land. High, high up in the clouds, a tiny snowflake...
Continue reading
  286 Hits
  0 Comment