The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sara B. Larson)

51bgw2XSRGL._SX320_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In Warriors of Wing and Flame, the spellbinding sequel to Sisters of Shadow and Light, acclaimed author Sara B. Larson continues her timeless tale of the bond between two sisters and the powerful magic that threatens to tear them apart forever. The doorway between the magical world of...
Continue reading
  334 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Tom Durwood (The Illustrated Boatman's Daughter) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

IllustratedBoatmansDaughter_RGB_front



  Today we're excited to chat with Tom Durwood author of The Illustrated Boatman's Daughter. Read on for more about Tom and his book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Tom Durwood ! Tom Durwood is a teacher, writer and editor with an interest in history.  Tom most recently taught...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Brittany Carter
I like the cover photo a lot and it sounds interesting
Wednesday, 04 November 2020 15:10
Victoria Scott
Sounds like a great story!
Thursday, 19 November 2020 11:15
  496 Hits
  2 Comments

Spotlight on How The Multiverse Got Its Revenge (K.Eason), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

0-_20201026-213123_1


A picture containing dragon, the top of a castle tower, with a green sky.

Description automatically generated

Today we're excited to spotlight How The Multiverse Got Its Revenge  by K. Eason.  Read on for more about K Eason and their book, a guest post, plus a giveaway!        Meet K. Eason ! K. Eason  is a lecturer at the University of California, Irvine, where she and...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book sounds great, love the cover design.
Tuesday, 27 October 2020 11:27
Andrea Cerda
Love the cover!!! Looks interesting!
Friday, 30 October 2020 13:46
Lily M.
The colors on this conver are pretty
Saturday, 31 October 2020 04:17
  578 Hits
  9 Comments

What's New In YA ~ October 27th, 2020

b2ap3_large_whats-new-logo


Two sisters. One brutal murder. A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself… And an intoxicating romance. Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon...
Continue reading
  240 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Among the Beasts and Briars (Ashley Poston)

51y7KoZld2L
About this Book: Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns with a dark, lush fairy tale–inspired fantasy for fans of Sara Raasch and Susan Dennard. Cerys is safe in the Kingdom of Aloriya. Here there are no droughts, disease, or famine, and peace is everlasting. It has been this...
Continue reading
  269 Hits
  0 Comment

Rockstar Book Tours, Excerpt & Giveaway: Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor #3) (Jessica Townsend) ~ (US Only)

0-8





  I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the HOLLOWPOX: THE HUNT FOR MORRIGAN CROW by Jessica Townsend Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway! About The Book: Title:  HOLLOWPOX: THE HUNT FOR MORRIGAN CROW (Nevermoor, #3)...
Continue reading
  194 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Nova Ren Suma (Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Author Chat with Nova Ren Suma (Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)



  Today we're excited to chat with Nova Ren Suma author of Foreshadow. Read on for more about Nova Ren Suma & Emily X.R. Pan and the book, plus a giveaway!       Meet  Nova Ren Suma ! Nova Ren Suma  is the author of the #1  New York Times...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Monday, 26 October 2020 12:16
Andrea Cerda
It look like a good read!
Friday, 30 October 2020 13:46
Chiara Jucha
Looks amazing!
Monday, 02 November 2020 11:57
  437 Hits
  8 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ October 26, 2020

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads





Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  236 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA (Nova Ren Suma & Emily X. R. Pan)

51CLQSlC-RL._SX332_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Thirteen Short Stories from Bold New YA Voices & Writing Advice from YA Icons Created by New York Times bestselling authors Emily X. R. Pan and Nova Ren Suma, Foreshadow is so much more than a short story collection. A trove of unforgettable fiction makes up the beating...
Continue reading
  324 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: In the Study with the Wrench (Diana Peterfreund)

51vBFzLl5kL
About This Book: In the aftermath of Headmaster Boddy’s murder, Blackbrook Academy has been thrown into complete disarray. Half the student body hasn’t bothered to return to campus—but those who have include Orchid, Vaughn, Scarlett, Peacock, Plum, and Mustard, now warily referred to by the other students as the Murder Crew....
Continue reading
  341 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cousins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One...
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an...
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From beloved children's author and illustrator Tony Ross, comes a...
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As her grandmother's health declines, a young girl begins to...
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
San Solano, Texas, is a quaint town known for...
Sing Like No One's Listening
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a talented young singer...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface,...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every summer, they say goodbye. Dorit goes to Tel Aviv...
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...
Special Delivery
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovely book to share with children in an expecting...
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cousins
 
5.0
"THE COUSINS is a highly devourable and engaging family drama/mystery. The Story family is very wealthy, running a bunch of..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ROSES is an intriguing YA historical fantasy based on a Portuguese legend. The book tackles themes of..."
Speechless
 
4.7
"this story is amazing! i have a project for honors english 10, and this is a great story to chose..."
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
"I DON'T WANT TO WASH MY HANDS is a picture book about the need for frequent hand washing. The little..."
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
"DANCE LIKE A LEAF is a beautiful book about grief and loss of a loved one. A young girl loves..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"THE BITTERWINE OATH is a YA fantasy and light horror read. Nat is the descendent of the girl who put..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
"INCREDIBLE ANIMALS is a fascinating collection of animals by special skills, including clever camouflage, devoted parents (such as penguins), and..."
Special Delivery
 
4.0
"SPECIAL DELIVERY is a delightfully silly picture book. A little duck is eagerly awaiting the delivery of her baby brother...."
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
"EYELIKE STICKERS: TRAINS is an unbelievably cool collection of stickers. These 400 stickers include many photographs of trains, as well..."
 
4.3
"If your expecting the same type of books that you’ve been reading in this series, you’d be wrong. This whole..."
The Kinder Poison
 
5.0
"From start to finish I absolutely adored this story. The opening scene was so much fun to read while Zahru..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
"HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a YA rom-com with deep themes that make it such an engaging and captivating read. Gemma is..."
The Good Girls
 
4.0
"THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"Maeve finds a pack of tarot cards while cleaning out a closet at her school. What starts off as curiosity,..."
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
"DANGEROUS SECRETS: THE STORY OF IDUNA AND AGNARR is a great MG/YA fantasy romance. Based on Frozen, this book tells..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.0
"When Ellie is completely humiliated by her best friend an crush, she decides the best way to escape her jeering..."