The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

February 2021 Book Haul

YABC-Feb-21-book-haul

It's that time again . . . time for us to show off all the amazing books we received over the past few weeks! This month's haul is huge, and we are drooling over so many of the titles. Which books need to be added to your TBR?  
  274 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Watch Over Me (Nina LaCour)

41oI4ckTdyL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Mila is used to being alone. Maybe that’s why she said yes. Yes to a second chance in this remote place, among the flowers and the fog and the crash of waves far below. But she hadn’t known about the ghosts. Newly graduated from high school, Mila has...
Continue reading
  237 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Born at Dawn (Christina Davis)

51PccjRFaL
About This Book: Don’t miss this action-packed, highly anticipated fantasy novel with deadly secrets, thrilling love interests, and a brilliant, morally gray female lead. You’ll be on the edge of your seat – perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Mistborn, or The Cruel Prince! At 17, half-human thief Neva Roberts...
Continue reading
  241 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: I'll Be the One (Lyla Lee)

41S3F3PjulL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy. Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn’t dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn’t...
Continue reading
  219 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Merci Suarez Can't Dance (Meg Medina) ~ (US Only)

MSC_20210128-165156_1


   Merci Suarez Can't Dance (US Only) by: Meg Medina Release Date: April 16th, 2021 Publisher: Candlewick Press       About The Book Seventh grade is going to be a real trial for Merci Suárez. For science she’s got no-nonsense Mr. Ellis, who expects her to be a smart as...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Saturday, 30 January 2021 18:51
Debra Branigan
The cover is perfect for the story. The book does sound so middle school and any young reader is definitely going to connect.... Read More
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 13:10
Chiara Jucha
My students loved the first book, I am sure the second will be great!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:33
  529 Hits
  5 Comments

Author Chat with G.F. Miller (Glimpsed), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978153447135_20210128-154459_1



  Today we're excited to chat with G.F. Miller author of         Glimpsed. Read on for more about G.F. Miller and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet G.F. Miller ! G.F. Miller absolutely insists on a happy ending. Everything else is negotiable. Her wish is...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Saturday, 30 January 2021 18:51
Andrea Cerda
Love it the cover and the idea of the book!
Monday, 01 February 2021 15:43
Melanie Bracco
Sounds like a super cute story, I love the cover!
Monday, 01 February 2021 22:40
  411 Hits
  7 Comments

Featured Review: Born Royal (Marissa Allen)

51noRdGkF9L
About This Book: Imprisoned and experimented on since she was twelve, Princess Genevieve “Vi” Astor is ready for revenge. After manipulating her way to the throne of Kabria, Queen Esmerelda caused the death of the king and kept Vi as a royal hostage. For six years, the queen poked and prodded...
Continue reading
  200 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Time Travel for Love and Profit (Sarah Lariviere), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978059317420_20210126-191439_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Time Travel for Love and Profit  (Sarah Lariviere).  Read on for more about Sarah, plus a excerpt & a giveaway!         Meet Sarah Lariviere !    Sarah Lariviere's new YA novel, Time Travel for Love and Profit, will be published by Knopf/Random...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, love the title!
Wednesday, 27 January 2021 11:29
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is awesome. This book sounds filled with humor and heartbreak--my kind of read.
Saturday, 20 February 2021 14:13
Penny Olson
The cover is intriguing. The story sounds both funny and sad.
Wednesday, 24 February 2021 16:43
  762 Hits
  3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday ~ January 27, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Samantha’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    The Last Fallen Star Author:  Graci Kim Expected publication:  May 4, 2021 Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Graci Kim''s...
Continue reading
  205 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Unchosen (Katharyn Blair)

51JXTi9i8QL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying curse, swoon-worthy sea captains, and the power of one girl to choose her own fate in this contemporary standalone adventure that's perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and Seafire, and for anyone who has ever felt unchosen....
Continue reading
  272 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."