The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Giveaway: Monsters Among Us (Monica Rodden) ~ (US Only)

9780593125861-fullsize-rgb-_20210201-163902_1


Monsters Among Us (US Only) by: Monica Rodden Release Date: January 5th, 2021 Publisher: Random House BYR       About the Book Fans of Sadie and You will be riveted by this compulsively readable new thriller about a survivor of dating violence who uses her newfound awareness of everyday evil...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Andrea Cerda
This looks interesting and the cover is eye-catching.
Monday, 01 February 2021 15:40
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Monday, 01 February 2021 15:51
Suleika
Love the cover and this book sounds so good! Definitely want to read!
Monday, 01 February 2021 16:25
  380 Hits
  12 Comments

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Adalyn Grace (All The Tides Of Fate), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

1.jpg





Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!         Introducing Adalyn Grace , YABC's Author of the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Andrea Cerda
I´ve hear so much about this book and the first one was excellent, can wait to get the second one in my hands!
Monday, 01 February 2021 15:40
Zachary Snyder
Books look great! look forward to reading!
Monday, 01 February 2021 15:46
Suleika
Love the cover! Cannot wait to read it! Will be reading book one this month, possibly this week!
Monday, 01 February 2021 16:31
  447 Hits
  9 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 1, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads




Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  149 Hits
  0 Comment

February 2021 Book Haul

YABC-Feb-21-book-haul

It's that time again . . . time for us to show off all the amazing books we received over the past few weeks! This month's haul is huge, and we are drooling over so many of the titles. Which books need to be added to your TBR?  
  269 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Watch Over Me (Nina LaCour)

41oI4ckTdyL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Mila is used to being alone. Maybe that’s why she said yes. Yes to a second chance in this remote place, among the flowers and the fog and the crash of waves far below. But she hadn’t known about the ghosts. Newly graduated from high school, Mila has...
Continue reading
  234 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Born at Dawn (Christina Davis)

51PccjRFaL
About This Book: Don’t miss this action-packed, highly anticipated fantasy novel with deadly secrets, thrilling love interests, and a brilliant, morally gray female lead. You’ll be on the edge of your seat – perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Mistborn, or The Cruel Prince! At 17, half-human thief Neva Roberts...
Continue reading
  238 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: I'll Be the One (Lyla Lee)

41S3F3PjulL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy. Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn’t dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn’t...
Continue reading
  217 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Merci Suarez Can't Dance (Meg Medina) ~ (US Only)

MSC_20210128-165156_1


   Merci Suarez Can't Dance (US Only) by: Meg Medina Release Date: April 16th, 2021 Publisher: Candlewick Press       About The Book Seventh grade is going to be a real trial for Merci Suárez. For science she’s got no-nonsense Mr. Ellis, who expects her to be a smart as...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Saturday, 30 January 2021 18:51
Debra Branigan
The cover is perfect for the story. The book does sound so middle school and any young reader is definitely going to connect.... Read More
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 13:10
Chiara Jucha
My students loved the first book, I am sure the second will be great!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:33
  484 Hits
  5 Comments

Author Chat with G.F. Miller (Glimpsed), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978153447135_20210128-154459_1



  Today we're excited to chat with G.F. Miller author of         Glimpsed. Read on for more about G.F. Miller and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet G.F. Miller ! G.F. Miller absolutely insists on a happy ending. Everything else is negotiable. Her wish is...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Saturday, 30 January 2021 18:51
Andrea Cerda
Love it the cover and the idea of the book!
Monday, 01 February 2021 15:43
Melanie Bracco
Sounds like a super cute story, I love the cover!
Monday, 01 February 2021 22:40
  393 Hits
  6 Comments

Featured Review: Born Royal (Marissa Allen)

51noRdGkF9L
About This Book: Imprisoned and experimented on since she was twelve, Princess Genevieve “Vi” Astor is ready for revenge. After manipulating her way to the throne of Kabria, Queen Esmerelda caused the death of the king and kept Vi as a royal hostage. For six years, the queen poked and prodded...
Continue reading
  198 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."