The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Multicultural Children's Book Day Press Release

Multicultural Children's Book Day Press Release


  MULTICULTURAL CHILDREN’S BOOK DAY LOOKING TO BREAK NEW RECORD - SURPASS 26 MILLION SHARES Raab Associates Multicultural Children’s Book Day (MCCBD)  is just two years old, but founders Mia Wenjen and Valerie Budayr have achieved tremendous success and online support for diversity awareness. They’ve put thousands of free books into...
Continue reading
  2200 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae (US & Canada Only)

Giveaway: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae (US & Canada Only)
Beyond the Red by  Ava Jae Release Date:  3/1/16   About the Book Alien queen Kora has a problem as vast as the endless crimson deserts. She’s the first female ruler of her territory in generations, but her people are rioting and call for her violent younger twin brother to take...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Amy Hart
The cover is fairly interesting. I'm more drawn to the synopsis. I love a strong female lead, and prospecting for mates. Lol. This... Read More
Thursday, 21 January 2016 09:05
Irene Justice
What a unique book! I love the red and the two suns! As I am Sci-fi lover, the content of this story speaks to my soul. The advent... Read More
Sunday, 31 January 2016 18:38
Kari Wallman
This looks and sounds absolutely fantastic!
Sunday, 31 January 2016 18:45
  2380 Hits
  14 Comments

YALSA's 2016 Best Fiction For Young Adults

YALSA's 2016 Best Fiction For Young Adults
  2016 Best Fiction for Young Adults     This year's list features 64 titles. The members of the Best Fiction for Young Adults Committee  are Laurie Bartz, Hedberg Public Library, Janesville, Wisconsin; Elizabeth Bast, Starbuck Middle School, Racine WI; Julia Casas, Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles, CA; Shelley M....
Continue reading
  2615 Hits
  0 Comment

What's New in YA--January 19, 2016

What's New in YA--January 19, 2016
  Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!           After helping to rescue Princess Aislynn, Elanor has finally rejoined the rebel camp she calls home. Stolen from her parents at a young age and forced into service by the Wicked...
Continue reading
  1832 Hits
  0 Comment

The 5th Wave Trailer Reveal

The 5th Wave Trailer Reveal

b2ap3_thumbnail_wave-5.jpg
  With the release of The 5th Wave at the end of this week, we wanted to share the trailer, and share our love for this soon-to-be YA adaptation!!       What are you most looking forward to in this film? Let us know in the comments below!
  2121 Hits
  0 Comment

2016 Sydney Taylor Book Awards Press Release

2016 Sydney Taylor Book Awards Press Release
Association of Jewish Libraries

  www.jewishlibraries.org     2016 Sydney Taylor Book Awards Announced by Association of Jewish Libraries Lesléa Newman and Amy June Bates, author and illustrator of  Ketzel, the Cat who Composed , Aharon Appelfeld, Philippe Dumas and Jeffrey M. Green, author, illustrator and translator of  Adam and Thomas , and Laura Amy...
Continue reading
  1748 Hits
  0 Comment

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Cure by Tania Hagan + Giveaway (International)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Cure by Tania Hagan + Giveaway (International)
b2ap3_thumbnail_The-Cure-kindle-cover-final.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_24811_1253832148770_4426911_n.jpg
Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE CURE by Tania Hagan , releasing February 16, 2016 from CHBB. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tania:   Hello YABC readers! Thank you so much for allowing me to share this special event...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Bri Holt
The cover is gorgeous and not overly done up. The synopsis definitely has me wanting to read this. Definitely a unique sounding st... Read More
Monday, 18 January 2016 12:13
Jackie Gonzalez
The cover is extremely gorgeous and The synopsis is amazing! I cannot wait to dive into this book!
Monday, 18 January 2016 17:18
Fia
What do you think about the cover and synopsis? I'm glad you asked! I think the cover is amazing. I love how the hand and DNA-sha... Read More
Wednesday, 20 January 2016 17:50
  3390 Hits
  19 Comments

Giveaway: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (US only)

Giveaway: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (US only)
b2ap3_thumbnail_dark_20160115-034254_1.jpg
SALT TO THE SEA by Ruta Sepetys   Release Date: 2/2/2016   About the Book For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See , international bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Vivien
Love it!!! I absolutely ADORE Ruta's books. I cannot wait to read this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even though I'll probably cry.
Friday, 15 January 2016 18:23
Aila Jiang
I fell in love with Ruta Sepetys's books when I first discovered them on the shelves of my library, and I can't wait to read this ... Read More
Monday, 18 January 2016 09:38
Kara S
This author's reputation precedes her, and finally with this release, I recognize a storyline that will likely hook my interest! ... Read More
Tuesday, 19 January 2016 13:37
  3744 Hits
  19 Comments

Giveaway: Darkness Fair by Rachel A. Marks (US Only)

Giveaway: Darkness Fair by Rachel A. Marks (US Only)
b2ap3_thumbnail_dark.jpg
DARKNESS FAIR (Book Two of The Dark Cycle) by Rachel A. Marks Release Date: Feb 2nd, 2016   About the Book Against the backdrop of an ancient battle between the forces of Light and the forces of Darkness, Aidan struggles to control the newly awakened and enigmatic powers that seem to...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Fia
What do you think of the cover & synopsis? The covers are amazing! I love how they're two pictures over-lapping on each other! I... Read More
Wednesday, 20 January 2016 17:28
Zakiya Jamal
This sounds really interesting and the cover looks very dark and mysterious. ... Read More
Friday, 22 January 2016 01:02
Linda Romer
These books sound exciting! And I love the cover ♡ Thank you
Wednesday, 03 February 2016 13:48
  1983 Hits
  4 Comments

Giveaway: The Ballet Cat Collection by Bob Shea (US only)

Giveaway: The Ballet Cat Collection by Bob Shea (US only)
BALLET CAT series Book 1: The Totally Secret Secret (in stores now!) Book 2: Dance! Dance! Underpants! (in stores February 2) by Bob Shea For Ages 6-8 About the Books The Totally Secret Secret Ballet Cat and Sparkles the Pony are trying to decide what to play today. Nothing that Sparkles...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Fia
The covers are adorable! Loving the bright colors! I love how it's about her friendships with Pony and Butter Bear! Seems Kawaii!... Read More
Wednesday, 20 January 2016 18:00
Danielle Hammelef
The cover illustrations are cute and make me laugh, just like the synopsis promises. I would hang a poster of these covers in my o... Read More
Friday, 12 February 2016 15:02
  2265 Hits
  3 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."