The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

YABC's Valentine's Day Giveaway Extravaganza 2021 (Children's) ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_VDayGiveaway

Welcome to YABC's fourth annual Valentine's Day Giveaway Extravaganza! We're featuring titles that reflect love, happiness, and plenty of heart! Check out all of these amazing books that are perfect for reading during the Valentine's Day holiday and then enter the HUGE giveaway being offered that will include books from these fabulous...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Jana Leah
Kitty's Cuddles looks especially adorable.
Monday, 15 February 2021 22:47
Zachary Snyder
So many great books, hope I can win these for my twins!
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 12:36
Madeline Tebo
The kids I work with would love the children's books, and I really want to read Cemetery Boys!
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 18:52
  1171 Hits
  10 Comments

YABC's Valentine's Day Giveaway Extravaganza 2021 (YA) ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_VDayGiveaway-1

Welcome to YABC's fourth annual Valentine's Day Giveaway Extravaganza!   We're featuring titles that reflect love, happiness, and plenty of heart! Check out all of these amazing books that are perfect for reading during the Valentine's Day holiday and then enter the HUGE giveaway being offered that will include  Young Adult...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kiara T.
I'm most excited for Love Is A Revolution!
Sunday, 21 February 2021 20:17
Kristy
I'm most excited for Tokyo Ever After!
Sunday, 21 February 2021 20:34
Abigail Lowry
All of these books look amazing! Can’t wait to read!
Sunday, 21 February 2021 21:36
  161 Hits
  4 Comments

Featured Review: Sleeping Beauty's Spindle (Shonna Slayton)

51dnL9wuB1L._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Hidden for generations, Sleeping Beauty's cursed spindle resurfaces... In 1894 Vermont, Briar Rose is determined to keep her orphaned siblings together. She's set her sights on marrying an ambitious young man to take them out of the cotton mills and back to the Old Country. Trouble is, he...
Continue reading
  196 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Nubia: Real One (L.L. McKinney)

51r9gDOD8L._SX325_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Can you be a hero...if society doesn't see you as a person? Nubia has always been a little bit...different. As a baby she showcased Amazonian-like strength by pushing over a tree to rescue her neighbor's cat. But despite her having similar abilities, the world has no problem telling...
Continue reading
  232 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: LEGENDBORN (Tracy Deonn) ~ (US Only)

5089233_20210212-183032_1


   LEGENDBORN (US Only) Author: Tracy Deonn Release Date: September 15th, 2020 Publisher: MK McElderry        About The Book An Instant  New York Times  Bestseller! Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Tiffany Engler
I have seen nothing but great things about this book! Love the cover. Can't wait to read it!!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 09:03
Kiara T.
This book sounds great, I love the cover!
Sunday, 21 February 2021 20:26
Keia
I've heard so many good things about this book!
Thursday, 25 February 2021 21:42
  323 Hits
  4 Comments

Spotlight on Ellie Makes Her Move (Marilyn Kaye), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

EMH_20210212-181805_1


  Today we're excited to spotlight Ellie Makes Her Move (Marilyn Kaye).  Read on for more about Marilyn, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Marilyn Kaye ! Marilyn Kaye is the author of over 100 books for young readers, including The Spyglass Sisterhood, Gifted, and Replica series....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Saturday, 13 February 2021 23:32
Chiara Jucha
This book sounds intriguing!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:41
Debra Branigan
The cover is a great MG cover. I love the premise of the book and will putting this one in the hands of my granddaughter. Thanks f... Read More
Monday, 01 March 2021 14:44
  221 Hits
  3 Comments

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: A FEELING LIKE HOME by Haleigh Wenger + Giveaway (International)

Final-a-feeling-like-home-header


We're so excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  A Feeling Like Home by Haleigh Wenger, releasing 8/3/2021 from Sword and Silk Books! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi YABC! Thanks so much for stopping by for the cover reveal of my novel, A...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Friday, 12 February 2021 11:53
Melanie Bracco
Love the cover, and the synopsis sounds great!
Tuesday, 02 March 2021 18:41
  345 Hits
  2 Comments

Spotlight on Happy Girl Lucky (The Valentine's #1) (Holly Smale), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

x648-_20210212-174517_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Happy Girl Lucky (The Valentine's #1)   by Holly Smale.  Read on for more about Holly, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Holly Smale ! Holly Smale is the author of Geek Girl , Model Misfit , Picture Perfect and All...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Lauren
What a bright and lively cover! Also, the synopsis sounds juicy and drama-filled!
Friday, 12 February 2021 13:30
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Saturday, 13 February 2021 23:32
Debra Branigan
What a attractive cover. The story sounds like a very cute and fun read.
Saturday, 27 February 2021 18:57
  287 Hits
  3 Comments

Author Chat with Melissa Albert (Tales From The Hinterland), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

t_20210212-162953_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Melissa Albert author of         Tales From The Hinterland. Read on for more about Melissa and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Melissa Albert ! Melissa Albert  is the  New York Times  bestselling author of  The Hazel Wood...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Friday, 12 February 2021 11:53
Lauren
The cover is so classically magical. Also, I love that these are short stories but each sound unique and thrilling.
Friday, 12 February 2021 13:26
Debra Branigan
Pretty cover and the idea of the stories sound very interesting.
Saturday, 27 February 2021 18:53
  281 Hits
  3 Comments

Giveaway: Curls (Ruth Forman) ~ (US Only)

978153444631_20210212-053140_1



   Curls (US Only) Author/Illustrator: Ruth Forman/Geneva Bowers Release Date: December 22nd, 2020 Publisher: Little Simon        About The Book A joyfully poetic board book that delivers an ode to African American girls and the beauty of their curls. Me Morning Mirror Smile Shine big hair love This simple,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it to my twins!
Friday, 12 February 2021 11:49
Jana Leah
This book sounds fun & I'd like to share it with my niece.
Friday, 12 February 2021 14:15
  196 Hits
  2 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."