The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 10, 2022

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  152 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Righteous (Renee Ahdieh)

41lMyHks7OL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In this latest installment of The New York Times bestselling quartet that began with The Beautiful, Pippa journeys to the treacherous and beguiling world of the fey in search of answers but instead falls in love. Following the explosive events of The Damned, Odette faces a vampire’s final...
Continue reading
  202 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Nelson Mandela (The First Names Series) (Nansubuga Nagadya Isdahl)

7139owEe0wL
About This Book: Meet the South African activist and president who fought for what was right Before he was the first Black president of South Africa, Nelson Mandela (1918–2013) was a boy with a traditional Thembu upbringing. He went on to study law and become involved with African nationalist politics. The...
Continue reading
  149 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Seahorses Are Sold Out (Katja Gehrmann and Constanze Spengler)

91KzgvgIa1L
About This Book: A lockdown bestseller and high spirited story about an enterprising only child and a single-father’s juggle to work from home. Mika’s father works from home and he’s very busy! He can never find time for the promised swimming trip. So Dad allows Mika to choose a pet from...
Continue reading
  140 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Dragons are the Worst! (Alex Willan)

71pUXEm4ZZL
About This Book: Mo Willems meets Bob Shea in this uproariously funny picture book about Gilbert the Goblin from the creator of Unicorns Are the Worst!. Gilbert the Goblin is absolutely, definitely, one-hundred-percent certain that dragons are the worst. They burn down everything in sight and they hoard all the gold....
Continue reading
  151 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: The Way to Rio Luna (Zoraida Córdova)

71gV1jmVrPL
About This Book: For fans of The Land of Stories comes an adventure that reveals the secret warnings hidden inside all classic tales -- beware fairyland at all costs. Eleven-year-old Danny Monteverde believes in magic. He knows that pixie dust is real, that wardrobes act as portals, and that rabbit holes...
Continue reading
  158 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: One True Loves (Elise Bryant)

41Zv6HAyjUL
About This Book: From the author of Happily Ever Afters comes another irresistible YA romantic comedy full of self-discovery and Black love—and a dreamy European cruise. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, Jenny Han, and Stephanie Perkins, with crossover appeal for readers of Jasmine Guillory and Talia Hibbert romances. Lenore Bennett...
Continue reading
  189 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Good Night, Good Night (Sandra Boynton)

71YhIQjt7L
About This Book: Maestro of bedtime Sandra Boynton expands her bestselling The Going to Bed Book in this deluxe collectible picture book that will help a new generation of children get ready for bed. The sun has set not long ago.So begins one of the most widely loved children’s books ever...
Continue reading
  171 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Piece by Piece: The Story of Nisrin's Hijab (Priya Huq)

71JjvsXC0FS
About This Book: In this middle-grade graphic novel, Nisrin will have to rely on faith, friends, and family to help her recover after she is the target of a hate crime Nisrin is a 13-year-old Bangladeshi-American girl living in Milwaukie, Oregon, in 2002. As she nears the end of eighth grade,...
Continue reading
  145 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Gridiron Girl (Tamara Girardi)

41owHM0oc-L
About This Book: Fun friendships, high school romance, and intense competition are at the heart of book one in Tamara Girardi’s swoon-worthy, young-adult contemporary series. Julia Medina, dubbed Jules by her closest friends, wants to be the new, starting quarterback of Iron Valley High School’s football team, and no one is...
Continue reading
  168 Hits
  0 Comment