The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ November 16, 2020

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads




Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  195 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: A Deal with the Elf King (Elise Kova)

51gBE0qhFHL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down! The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death....
Continue reading
  368 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Miss Meteor (Tehlor Kay Mejia)

51JWZzZhFUL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: A gorgeous and magical collaboration between two critically acclaimed, powerhouse YA authors offers a richly imagined underdog story perfect for fans of Dumplin’ and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. There hasn’t been a winner of the Miss Meteor beauty pageant who looks like Lita...
Continue reading
  243 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Casey L Bond (With Shield and Ink and Bone) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

55608004._SY475_20201111-223026_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Casey L Bond author of With Shield and Ink and Bone. Read on for more about Casey and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Casey L Bond ! Casey Bond lives in West Virginia  with  her husband and their two beautiful...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Simone
All I know about Norse mythology comes from Marvel movies, but a romance set in that Viking period that may also teach me somethin... Read More
Saturday, 14 November 2020 16:49
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, love the cover! Look forward to reading!
Saturday, 14 November 2020 18:25
Lauren
This book promises action and drama and seems like a page-turner. Also, I love covers that have hints to what takes place, and I f... Read More
Thursday, 19 November 2020 11:11
  329 Hits
  5 Comments

Featured Review: Heart Sister (Michael F. Stewart)

51MAEiwRXeL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: After his twin sister, Minnie, dies in an accident, Emmitt's world goes sideways. He’s lost his best friend and it feels like the family is falling apart without her. But Minnie was an organ donor and Emmitt soon receives an anonymous thank you letter from one of the...
Continue reading
  284 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Our Friendship Matters (Kimberley B Jones), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US/Can Only)

Official-Book-Cover



  Today we're excited to spotlight Our Friendship Matters (Kimberley B Jones).  Read on for more about Kimberley, plus a excerpt & a giveaway!         Meet Kimberley B Jones ! Kimberley B. Jones is a small country girl from St. George, SC. She followed her heart in college...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, love the cover! Think my niece would enjoy this!
Thursday, 12 November 2020 11:40
Chiara Jucha
Great cover, I think this book would be popular with my students
Monday, 16 November 2020 12:41
Kayla
I love this cover! So powerful!
Monday, 16 November 2020 13:41
  295 Hits
  4 Comments

Featured Review: A Cloud of Outrageous Blue (Vesper Stamper)

51Ey2UEOElL._SX384_BO1204203200_
About This Book: For fans of Fever 1793 comes the story of a young woman paving her own path and falling in love during the Great Plague of 1348, from the award-winning creator of What the Night Sings. Edyth grew up in a quiet village with a loving family, before losing...
Continue reading
  300 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Minecraft: The Shipwreck (C.B. Lee), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5054774_20201111-201451_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Minecraft: The Shipwreck (C.B. Lee).  Read on for more about C.B., plus a excerpt & a giveaway!         Meet  C.B. Lee !   C. B. Lee  is a Lambda Literary Award–nominated writer of young-adult science fiction and fantasy. Her works include the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
This book looks fun! My nephew would love it!
Wednesday, 11 November 2020 15:54
Jeana Kwiecinski
Sounds like a fun book and I love the cover!
Saturday, 14 November 2020 21:16
Chiara Jucha
My students would love this!
Monday, 16 November 2020 12:34
  343 Hits
  3 Comments

Giveaway: And the People Stayed Home (Kitty O' Meara) ~ (US Only)

And-The-People-Stayed-Home---cover



And The People Stayed Home (US Only) by: Kitty O' Meara Release Date: November 10th, 2020 Publisher: Tra Publishing       About the Book And the People Stayed Home is a beautifully produced picture book featuring Kitty O’Meara’s popular, globally viral prose poem about the coronavirus pandemic, which has a...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Think my twins would love this book, look forward to reading it!
Wednesday, 11 November 2020 12:30
Simone
I'd love to have something to look at to remember how quarantine felt, and this seems very fitting! I love illustrated poetry.... Read More
Saturday, 14 November 2020 16:46
Jeana Kwiecinski
What a sweet book and a great way to share a message with the children who lived this crazy time.
Saturday, 14 November 2020 21:13
  338 Hits
  8 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday ~ November 11, 2020

b2ap3_large_unnamed


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.       *Caitlin’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    A Sky Beyond the Storm Author:  Sabaa Tahir Expected publication:  December 1, 2020 Prepare for the jaw-dropping finale...
Continue reading
  200 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cousins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One...
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an...
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From beloved children's author and illustrator Tony Ross, comes a...
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As her grandmother's health declines, a young girl begins to...
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
San Solano, Texas, is a quaint town known for...
Sing Like No One's Listening
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a talented young singer...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface,...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every summer, they say goodbye. Dorit goes to Tel Aviv...
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...
Special Delivery
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovely book to share with children in an expecting...
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cousins
 
5.0
"THE COUSINS is a highly devourable and engaging family drama/mystery. The Story family is very wealthy, running a bunch of..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ROSES is an intriguing YA historical fantasy based on a Portuguese legend. The book tackles themes of..."
Speechless
 
4.7
"this story is amazing! i have a project for honors english 10, and this is a great story to chose..."
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
"I DON'T WANT TO WASH MY HANDS is a picture book about the need for frequent hand washing. The little..."
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
"DANCE LIKE A LEAF is a beautiful book about grief and loss of a loved one. A young girl loves..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"THE BITTERWINE OATH is a YA fantasy and light horror read. Nat is the descendent of the girl who put..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
"INCREDIBLE ANIMALS is a fascinating collection of animals by special skills, including clever camouflage, devoted parents (such as penguins), and..."
Special Delivery
 
4.0
"SPECIAL DELIVERY is a delightfully silly picture book. A little duck is eagerly awaiting the delivery of her baby brother...."
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
"EYELIKE STICKERS: TRAINS is an unbelievably cool collection of stickers. These 400 stickers include many photographs of trains, as well..."
 
4.3
"If your expecting the same type of books that you’ve been reading in this series, you’d be wrong. This whole..."
The Kinder Poison
 
5.0
"From start to finish I absolutely adored this story. The opening scene was so much fun to read while Zahru..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
"HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a YA rom-com with deep themes that make it such an engaging and captivating read. Gemma is..."
The Good Girls
 
4.0
"THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"Maeve finds a pack of tarot cards while cleaning out a closet at her school. What starts off as curiosity,..."
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
"DANGEROUS SECRETS: THE STORY OF IDUNA AND AGNARR is a great MG/YA fantasy romance. Based on Frozen, this book tells..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.0
"When Ellie is completely humiliated by her best friend an crush, she decides the best way to escape her jeering..."