The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Giveaway: Girlhood: Teens Around the World in Their Own Voices (Masuma Ahuja), Plus Guest Post! ~ (US Only)

Ahuja_Girlhood_H_20210217-022254_1



   Girlhood: Teens Around The World In Their Own Voices (US Only) Author: Masuma Ahuja Release Date: February 9th, 2021 Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers         "Masuma Ahuja shares what inspired this book." This book is based on a series I wrote for The Lily, which I dreamed up when...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:33
  367 Hits
  1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday ~ February 17, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Samantha’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    All These Bodies Author:  Kendare Blake Expected publication:  September 21, 2021 Description not yet available.     *Melissa's Choice*...
Continue reading
  166 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Amelia Unabridged (Ashley Schumacher)

51f09oIzbVL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Sparks fly between two teens as they grapple with grief, love, and the future in this unforgettable debut novel sure to entice fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer E. Smith Eighteen-year-old Amelia Griffin is obsessed with the famous Orman Chronicles, written by the young and reclusive prodigy N....
Continue reading
  186 Hits
  0 Comment

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: THE VERITAS PROJECT by C. F. E. Black + Giveaway (US Only)

The-Veritas-Project---eBook-cover-large-header


We're so excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  The Vertias Project by C.F.E. Black, releasing 3/16/2021! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Ever walked into a crowded room and just wanted to wrap Harry’s invisibility cloak around you? Yep. Know the feeling. BUT IT...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great! Look forward to reading it.
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 12:42
Kiara T.
I love the cover and the book sounds really good!
Monday, 22 February 2021 23:33
Lindsey Keefer
Oh heck yeah, I've been so hungry for new dystopians and this sounds amazing!! I love the idea of slowly losing your identity whil... Read More
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 00:44
  200 Hits
  4 Comments

Spotlight on The Wide Starlight (Nicole Lesperance), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

The-Wide-Starlight-Hi-Res-Cove_20210216-160437_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight The Wide Starlight (Nicole Lesperance).  Read on for more about Nicole, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Nicole Lesperance ! Nicole Lesperance grew up on Cape Cod and graduated from Wesleyan University. She spent a few years in London and now...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 12:29
Tabitha Stephenson
This. Looks. Magical! A stunning cover and a unique plot - I can't wait to read this!
Thursday, 18 February 2021 22:50
Debra Branigan
Pretty cover and the synopsis sounds so intriguing. I look forward to reading this.
Tuesday, 02 March 2021 21:14
  248 Hits
  3 Comments

Author Chat with E. Latimer (Witches Of Ash and Ruin), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Witches-of-Ash-and-Ruin-Paperback-Cove_20210216-170407_1



  Today we're excited to chat with E. Latimer author of         Witches Of Ash and Ruin. Read on for more about E. Latimer and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet E. Latimer ! LATIMER is the author of Witches of Ash and Ruin, and...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great! Look forward to reading it.
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 12:42
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great! Look forward to reading it.
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 12:42
Kiara T.
I love the cover and the book sounds really good!
Monday, 22 February 2021 23:28
  251 Hits
  4 Comments

Featured Review: Don't Tell a Soul (Kirsten Miller)

41G8EGGM3BL
About This Book: Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect for fans of Truly Devious--a haunting story about a new girl in an old town filled with dark secrets . . . that might just kill her. People say the house is cursed. It preys on the weakest,...
Continue reading
  183 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Sunshine (Marion Bauer) ~ (US Only)

5584360_20210215-160826_1

   Sunshine (US Only) Author: Marion Bauer Release Date: May 18th, 2021 Publisher: Candlewick Press       About The Book Newbery Honoree Marion Dane Bauer evokes the “summer that changed everything” in the life of a boy growing up without a mother. Since as far back as Ben can remember,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 12:36
Chiara Jucha
I think this book would resonate with my students.
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:44
  210 Hits
  2 Comments

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Namina Forna (The Gilded Ones), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-_20210215-174101_1






    Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!         Introducing Namina Forna , YABC's Author...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Katelyn Burns
I love the synopsis! I'm so excited to read this. I was so happy when I found out there's going to be a film adaptation too. The ... Read More
Monday, 15 February 2021 18:25
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 12:35
Madeline Tebo
This has been one of my most anticipated reads of 2021!
Tuesday, 16 February 2021 19:03
  329 Hits
  9 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 15, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads




Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  157 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."