The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Sneak Peak Excerpt: Fragments: Journeys from Isolation to Connection (Maura Pierlot), plus Giveaway! (~International)

FRAG-USE
Maura portrait at desk
FRAG USE
FRAG USE
Today we get a sneak peak at an excerpt from Fragments   by Maura Pierlot! Read on for more about Maura, her book, and a giveaway!     Meet Maura Pierlot! Maura Pierlot is an award-winning author and playwright who hails from New York, but has called Canberra, Australia home since...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Irma Jurejevčič
I love the cover, it suits the title of the book. And the synopsys is very captivating.
Wednesday, 24 November 2021 15:07
Danielle Hammelef
The cover matches the synopsis well. This book sounds intriguing.
Friday, 26 November 2021 13:09
  328 Hits
  2 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ November 1, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads


Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  211 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Death of Jane Lawrence (Caitlin Starling)

41mRwHy0-DS
About This Book: Practical, unassuming Jane Shoringfield has done the calculations, and decided that the most secure path forward is this: a husband, in a marriage of convenience, who will allow her to remain independent and occupied with meaningful work. Her first choice, the dashing but reclusive doctor Augustine Lawrence, agrees...
Continue reading
  218 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Olwen Finds Her Wings (Nora Surojegin)

913xjK4r3zL
About This Book: Olwen the baby owl isn't happy. Sitting on her branch is boring. What else can little owls do? Olwen longs to be just like hare, squirrel and bear but no matter how hard she tries she can't hop, scamper or roar. That's not what owls do. But the...
Continue reading
  150 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Hannah and the Hobgoblins (Deborah Hunt)

71W0kpbtWeL
About this Book:  When Aunt Agatha sends Hannah a book about the Connemara Witches strange things begin to happen. Hannah has no idea that she comes from a family of witches but on her 12th birthday, she is shocked to learn that she is a Grand Witch and must go to...
Continue reading
  287 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: The Children's Moon (Jim LaMarche)

710lxhrmmEL
About This Book: There once was a time when the sun alone ruled the day, the moon graced the night, and little children were sent to bed before sunset. Then early one dawn, the moon heard sounds of children laughing, and she yearned to see them by daylight. "Certainly not!" snapped...
Continue reading
  164 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Final Season (Tim Green)

81heCBwQPYS
About This Book: F rom New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a gripping, deeply personal standalone football novel about a star middle school quarterback faced with a life-changing decision after his dad is diagnosed with ALS. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! With two all-star...
Continue reading
  201 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Our Way Back to Always (Nina Moreno)

413rTj1WTAL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson in this effervescent romance about childhood best friends reconnecting that's full of sunny days, warm nights, first kisses, and mended hearts. Luisa (Lou) Patterson grew up across the street from Sam Alvarez in the small, quirky town of...
Continue reading
  212 Hits
  0 Comment

It's Live! Cover Reveal: True Teryn (The Last Lumenian Book 2) (S.G. Blaise)

TRUE-TERYN-Ebook-cover-1
TRUE TERYN Ebook cover 1
TRUE TERYN Ebook cover 1
Author Photo
Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for True Teryn (The Last Lumenian Book 2) (S.G. Blaise), releasing December 7, 2021 from Lilac Grove Entertainment!         Before we get to the cover, here's a note from S.G. Blaise: “At the heart of  The Last Lumenian...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Danielle Hammelef
I like the cover and this book sounds action packed.
Friday, 26 November 2021 13:08
  350 Hits
  1 Comment

Giveaway: When We Say Black Lives Matter (Maxine Beneba Clarke)

9781536222388
9781536222388
Maxine Beneba Clarke
Book’s Title:  When We Say Black Lives Matter Author/Illustrator:  Maxine Beneba Clarke Release Date:  9/7/21 Publisher:  Candlewick Press     About the Book: When We Say Black Lives Matter In a powerful, poetic missive, award-winning author-illustrator Maxine Beneba Clarke celebrates the meaning behind the words Black Lives Matter.   Little one, when...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is eye-catching and this book sounds powerful.
Friday, 26 November 2021 13:08
Penny Olson
The cover is beautiful and the synopsis sounds important and relevant.
Sunday, 28 November 2021 01:54
  320 Hits
  2 Comments