The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: Curse of the Divine (Kim Smejkal)

61G7WgxkkZL
About This Book: Return to the world of inklings, tattoo magic, and evil deities as Celia uncovers the secrets of the ink in order to stop Diavala once and for all. This eagerly anticipated sequel to Ink in the Blood is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Wicked Saints. Celia...
Continue reading
  271 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Emmie and the Tudor Queen (Natalie Murray)

51QIHUaLh-L._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: True love has never been more deadly in this lush sequel to the best-selling Emmie and the Tudor King.For an extraordinary love, Emmie Grace has given up her life in the modern world to move to the sixteenth century and marry the Tudor king she bravely saved from...
Continue reading
  208 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Dragonfly Girl (Marti Leimbach), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Dragonfly-hc-_20210219-202344_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Dragonfly Girl (Marti Leimbach).  Read on for more about Marti, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Marti Leimbach ! Marti Leimbach  is the author of several novels for adult readers, including the international bestseller  Dying Young , which was made into...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kiara T.
I love the cover and the book sounds great!
Monday, 22 February 2021 23:36
Debra Branigan
The cover is great and the thriller of a story sounds like an excellent read. Thanks for sharing.
Saturday, 06 March 2021 20:23
Danielle Hammelef
I love the detail on the cover. This book will keep me reading way past my bedtime.
Sunday, 14 March 2021 11:04
  421 Hits
  5 Comments

Author Chat with Ann Bausum (Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge)!

5337470_20210219-040520_1



  Today we're excited to share an interview hosted by YABC's very own Karen Yingling with Ann Bausum author of Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge . Read on for more about Ann and her book!    ...
Continue reading
  394 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Curse of Jenny Greene (Mandy O'Dell and Kimberly Loth)

51NAiOMRDzL
About This Book: In the wispy dark of a foggy night, the children come. The children die. Jenny Greenteeth croons to them, her keening call they cannot deny. A ghost witch cloaked in fog hunts the children of Blaylock Bay. She’s been doing it for centuries and she never gives back...
Continue reading
  247 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Rena Barron (Reaper Of Souls), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5246034_20210218-170703_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Rena Barron author of Reaper Of Souls.  Read on for more about Rena, her book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Rena Barron ! Rena Barron grew up in small-town Alabama, where stories of magic and adventure sparked her imagination. After penning...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Thursday, 18 February 2021 16:52
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! Can't wait to read it!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 07:41
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:09
  487 Hits
  5 Comments

Author Chat with Diane Zahler (Daughter of the White Rose), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978082344607_20210218-164012_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Diane Zahler author of         Daugher of the White Rose. Read on for more about Diane and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Diane Zahler ! Diane Zahler is the author of over ten books for young readers,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Thursday, 18 February 2021 16:56
Tabitha Stephenson
I love this cover! I hope the trend of illustrated covers never ends. The plot sounds fantastic as well and I can't wait to dive i... Read More
Thursday, 18 February 2021 22:42
Amanda
A medieval setting and girl- power? What's not to love? Adore the cover!
Friday, 19 February 2021 18:08
  614 Hits
  8 Comments

Featured Review: Shine Until Tomorrow (Carla Malden)

51sGGjtE2hL._SX306_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Social misfit Mari Caldwell desperately wants to get on with her life. If only she could get there faster―specifically to Yale―and leave behind all the things that make her anxious: driving a car, crossing bridges, her peers, her parents’ divorce. Mari only feels at ease behind the lens...
Continue reading
  294 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: The Reclaimed Kingdom (Dana Claire) ~ (US Only)

TRK-box-mockup-cop_20210217-170019_1



   The Reclaimed Kingdom (US Only) Author: Dana Claire Release Date: February 14th, 2021 Publisher: Chamberlain Publishing House       About The Book Newbery Honoree Marion Dane Bauer evokes the “summer that changed everything” in the life of a boy growing up without a mother. Since as far back as...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Suleika
LOVE the cover! This sounds so good!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:25
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:33
Dixie
I am so excited for this book. The dagger and the crown immediately grabbed my attention. The cover is beautifully done.
Thursday, 18 February 2021 13:03
  580 Hits
  10 Comments

Giveaway: Girlhood: Teens Around the World in Their Own Voices (Masuma Ahuja), Plus Guest Post! ~ (US Only)

Ahuja_Girlhood_H_20210217-022254_1



   Girlhood: Teens Around The World In Their Own Voices (US Only) Author: Masuma Ahuja Release Date: February 9th, 2021 Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers         "Masuma Ahuja shares what inspired this book." This book is based on a series I wrote for The Lily, which I dreamed up when...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:33
Chiara Jucha
Looks amazing!
Monday, 08 March 2021 13:44
Jana Leah
I'd like to share this book with my niece. I think she'd enjoy it too.
Saturday, 13 March 2021 20:18
  508 Hits
  4 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...

Latest Member Reviews

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."