The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Waiting on Wednesday ~ February 24, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. *Samantha’s Choice* (YABC Promotions Manager)    This Way Madness Lies: 15 of Shakespeare's Most Notable Works Reimagined Author:  Dahlia Adler Expected publication:  March 16, 2021 In That...
Continue reading
  204 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Muted (Tami Charles)

5145kKyB17L
About This Book: A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds! Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown.So Denver is more than ready on...
Continue reading
  247 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Like Home (Louisa Onome), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978059317259_20210223-171301_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Like Home (Louisa Onome).  Read on for more about Louisa, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Louisa Onome ! Louisa Onomé holds a BA in professional writing from York University and lives in Toronto. Her debut novel is Like Home ....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 12:27
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
Keia
I love this cover!
Thursday, 25 February 2021 21:32
  1150 Hits
  8 Comments

Featured Review: A Dark and Hollow Star (Ashley Shuttleworth)

51T76qMNIL._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The Cruel Prince meets City of Bones in this thrilling urban fantasy set in the magical underworld of Toronto that follows a queer cast of characters racing to stop a serial killer whose crimes could expose the hidden world of faeries to humans. Choose your player. The “ironborn”...
Continue reading
  323 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC's Buzzworthy Books Of Winter 2021 Plus GIVEAWAY!! (Round Two) ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_BuzzWorthy-Books






















Which ones are we buzzing about? Check out our list and be sure to enter the awesome giveaway that we are hosting!!!           Orphaned and forced to serve her country’s ruling group of scribes, Karis wants nothing more than to find her brother, long ago shipped away....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Abigail Lowry
So many of these books look incredible! Can’t wait to read!
Tuesday, 02 March 2021 11:00
Chiara Jucha
There are some amazing books in this collection!
Monday, 08 March 2021 13:39
Tiffany Engler
These books sound great!
Tuesday, 09 March 2021 17:42
  412 Hits
  13 Comments

YABC's Buzzworthy Books Of Winter 2021 Plus GIVEAWAY!! (Round One) ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_BuzzWorthy-Book_20210223-040922_1





















Which ones are we buzzing about? Check out our list and be sure to enter the awesome giveaway that we are hosting!!!       Padawan Reath Silas is being sent from the cosmopolitan galactic capital of Coruscant to the undeveloped frontier—and he couldn’t be less happy about it. He’d rather...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Wow, so many great books, hope I win!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 10:41
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:07
Abigail Lowry
These are all such great books!
Wednesday, 24 February 2021 12:30
  1332 Hits
  19 Comments

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: Names in a Jar by Jennifer Gold + Giveaway (US/Canada)

NamesinaJar-final-header


We're so excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Names in a Jar by Jennifer Gold, releasing 9/14/2021 from Second Story Press! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author:   When you change your name, do you change who you are? A World War Two story...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 22 February 2021 15:07
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome! love the cover
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
Dianna G.
The cover is chilling with that skull! I am afraid the story will be so emotional that I can't handle the sadness.
Thursday, 25 February 2021 20:11
  482 Hits
  9 Comments

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Mindy McGinnis (The Initial Insult), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-_20210222-150835_1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!         Introducing Mindy McGinnis , YABC's Author of the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 22 February 2021 15:07
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! Can't wait to read another book by Mindy!
Thursday, 04 March 2021 18:20
  656 Hits
  8 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 22, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  239 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Baby and Solo (Lisabeth Posthuma) ~ (US Only)

978153621303_20210221-073811_1


   Baby and Solo (US Only) Author: Lisabeth Posthuma Release Date: May 11th, 2021 Publisher: Candlewick Press       About The Book Seventeen-year-old Joel Teague has a new prescription from his therapist—a part-time job—the first step toward the elusive Normal life he’s been so desperate to live ever since The...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Danielle Hammelef
I like the cover. This book sounds intriguing and unique. I will enjoy the trip back in time.
Sunday, 14 March 2021 11:06
Jana Leah
I like the cover - bright & grabs your attention. The story sounds fun.
Monday, 15 March 2021 13:00
  521 Hits
  2 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...

Latest Member Reviews

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."