The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Giveaway: Houdini and Me (Dan Gutman) ~ (US Only)

5408143_20210302-150442_1


   Houdini and Me (US Only) Author: Dan Gutman Release Date: March 2nd, 2021 Publisher: Holiday House       About The Book Harry has always admired the famous escape artist Houdini. And when Houdini asks for help in coming back to life, it seems like an amazing chance...or could it...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Tuesday, 02 March 2021 11:33
Chiara Jucha
I think my kids would love this!
Monday, 08 March 2021 13:33
Debra Branigan
I love Dan Gutman's work and this one looks to be perfect for his young readers. Thanks for sharing.
Monday, 15 March 2021 19:58
  494 Hits
  5 Comments

Featured Review: Dark Stars (Danielle Rollins)

51250NeBNpL
About This Book: The final time-twisting installment in Danielle Rollins’s epic time travel romance, perfect for fans of Alexandra Bracken and Kiera Cass. Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The Chronology Protection Agency wants nothing to do with her. The Black Cirkus no longer trusts her. And Ash… Ash...
Continue reading
  324 Hits
  0 Comment

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: Phoebe Unfired by Amalie Jahn + Giveaway (US Only)

Phoebe-Unfired-Cover-Amalie-Jahn-300DPI-final-header


We're so excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Phoebe Unfired by Amalie Jahn, releasing 6/15/2021 from Bermlord Publications! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi YABC!!! I'm so excited to reveal the cover for my latest book, PHOEBE UNFIRED, with you today! The process...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Monday, 01 March 2021 13:11
Andrea Cerda
Love the cover and the book looks really interesting!
Tuesday, 02 March 2021 14:05
Gabby Roberts
The art is cute and the book sounds interesting!
Tuesday, 16 March 2021 02:06
  626 Hits
  7 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ March 1, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads


Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  170 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Shadow War (Lindsay Smith)

51pUA-MIQ9L
About This Book: Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling tale of power, shadow, and revenge set during World War II. World War II is raging, and five teens are looking to make a mark. Daniel and Rebeka seek revenge against the Nazis who slaughtered their family; Simone...
Continue reading
  247 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Lost Prince (Cait Marie)

51bh8gn6A9L
About This Book: A mythical healing flower. A fractured kingdom. A curse unbroken. Adalina and Shane will do whatever it takes to protect their people. Even if that means working with the "enemy." They stopped one tragedy, but now they face an even bigger challenge. Their only hope lies in the...
Continue reading
  254 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Lily To The Rescue: Lost Little Leopard (W. Bruce Cameron), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

lost-little-leopard








  Today we're excited to spotlight Lily To The Rescue: Lost Little Leopard (W. Bruce Cameron).  Read on for more about W. Bruce, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet W. Bruce Cameron !   W. BRUCE CAMERON is the #1  New York Times  bestselling author of  A...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks fun, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 01 March 2021 12:35
Debra Branigan
The cover is so attractive! I know the story will be a delight to read. Congratulations on the new book.
Friday, 12 March 2021 14:38
Jana Leah
This story looks & sounds fun.
Wednesday, 17 March 2021 17:26
  529 Hits
  6 Comments

Featured Review: Prepped (Bethany Mangle)

51SyNIp95wL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: For fans of Jeff Zentner and Katie Henry comes a thrilling and funny debut about a teen raised in a doomsday community who plots her escape with the boy from the bunker next door. Always be ready for the worst day of your life. This is the mantra...
Continue reading
  317 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Anchored (Bridget E. Baker)

41k3AMv6eqL
About This Book: Two worlds, one fate … Alora was born with the ability to Lift, a power no other women on Terra possess. If the wrong people find out, there’s no telling what will happen. But when she almost kills a man in self-defense, her secret is exposed and she’s...
Continue reading
  322 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: The Brighter The Stars (Bryan Prosek) ~ (US Only)

tbt_20210224-163044_1


   The Brighter The Stars (US Only) Author: Bryan Prosek Release Date: November 10th, 2020 Publisher: CamCat Publishing       About The Book Caught between love and revenge, Jake has one chance to live up to the man his uncle was. Earth crashed into interstellar politics as a lightweight, lagging...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Wednesday, 24 February 2021 12:33
Andrea Cerda
Love the cover and the book looks really interesting!
Tuesday, 02 March 2021 14:05
JG Carse
Cover looks like art and the concept of the book is incredible
Thursday, 11 March 2021 01:19
  747 Hits
  7 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...

Latest Member Reviews

Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."