The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Waiting On Wednesday ~ September 11th, 2019

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_WO_20190911-151718_1

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at   Breaking the Spine   and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.                 *Olivia's Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)   Fireborne (Rosaria Munda)   Author: Rosaria Munda Expected publication: October 15th,...
Continue reading
  186 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Tiger Queen (Annie Sullivan)

42281646._SY475_
About This Book: From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous...
Continue reading
  170 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: A Match Made in Mehendi (Nandini Bajpai)

40697008
About This Book: Fifteen-year-old Simran "Simi" Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole-matchmakers-with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a soon-to-be lawyer, her family is thrilled that she has the "gift." But Simi is...
Continue reading
  139 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: BENEATH and BENEATH: HORIZON DIVIDED (Maureen Miller) ~(US Only)

_20190909-184907_1





Beneath and Beneath: Horizon Divided (US Only) by: Maureen Miller Release Date: March 6th, 2019 Publisher: Maureen Miller   About the Book:   Beneath   From USA TODAY bestselling author Maureen A. Miller comes this young adult adventure that will plunge you deep into the Atlantic Ocean.      It was Stella...
Continue reading
  244 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Tim Wynne-Jones (The Starlight Claim), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US/Canada Only)

47190155._SY475_
Tim Wynne-Jones


  Today we're excited to chat with Tim Wynne-Jones author of The Starlight Claim.  Read on for more about Tim and his book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Tim Wynne-Jones !   Tim Wynne-Jones is the accomplished author of numerous young adult novels, including The Emperor of Any Place, Blink...
Continue reading
  227 Hits
  0 Comment

What's New In YA ~ September 10th, 2019

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_whats-new-logo














Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh House. One of the six great houses of England, Burleigh’s magic always kept the countryside well. And as a child, this magic...
Continue reading
  211 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Mirror Bound (Monica Sanz), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

43263359



Today we're excited to spotlight Mirror Bound by Monica Sanz.  Read on for more about Monica and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!          Meet Monica Sanz!   Ever since reading Wuthering Heights as a child, Monica has been obsessed with dark and heartbreaking romances (and brooding...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Debra Branigan
The cover is very pretty and will attract the YA readers of this genre. The synopsis sounds great; I need to get the first book an... Read More
Saturday, 14 September 2019 09:55
  394 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Of The Week: Guest Post with Jodi Meadows (When She Reigns), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

unnamed-1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!       Introducing Jodi Meadows , YABC's Author of the Week!!...
Continue reading
  421 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ September 9th, 2019

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  183 Hits
  0 Comment

First Liners: YA Novels with First Lines that Grab Us From Page One










We love sinking our teeth into books. We CANNOT get enough of them. The cracking of the spine, the waft of the freshly or not freshly printed pages wafts under our nose; and we're transported to new and exciting worlds. Books make our world go round, and these books we're recommending...
Continue reading
  254 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

IMG_4918.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the...
City of Beasts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"If you see a beast, and you have the...
The Grace Year
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden....
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for...
The Survival List
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sloane Weber is devastated when her older sister dies...
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed YA debut pits a deadly siren princess and...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy...
Kingdom of Souls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay. The...
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
"This heartwarming story deals with friendship, empathy, caring, nurturing and...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two young...
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The third installment of the Making of America series, Abraham...
Tiger Queen
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold,...
A Match Made in Mehendi
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of When Dimple Met Rishi comes a...
Cold Day in the Sun
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Holland Delviss wants to be known for her talent...
Perfectly You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ivy Nixon is the student body Vice President at...
A Treason of Thorns
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dark, gripping, and utterly unique, this atmospheric historical fantasy...

Latest Member Reviews

Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
"A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
The Rift
 
3.3
"THE RIFT is a unique YA fantasy that takes place on Black Water Island, a place prized for the herd..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
"A highly accessible biographical overview of (arguably) the most renowned and history-altering of all the United States presidents. The book..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
"THE BEAUTIFUL takes place in New Orleans, primarily following a young woman, Celine. Celine fled France after a terrible event..."
Hilda and the Mountain King (Hilda, #6)
 
5.0
"HILDA AND THE MOUNTAIN KING is an engaging and thrilling children's fantasy adventure. This graphic novel tells the story of..."
 
5.0
"Eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson goes to Madrid, Spain with his family in order for his mother to reconnect with the country..."
Glow of the Fireflies
 
3.3
"GLOW OF THE FIREFLIES is a YA fantasy that follows a teenaged girl, Briony, who has no memories from before..."
Good Night, Santa: A Magical Christmas Story
 
5.0
"GOOD NIGHT, SANTA is a simple but elegant book that celebrates the Christmas season, perfect for bedtime. The illustrations are..."
Jolly Jingly Christmas: The Best Christmas Book Ever!
 
5.0
"JOLLY JINGLY CHRISTMAS is a cute rhyming, lift-the-flap, musical, non-religious celebration of the season. Each of the five full page..."
Dear Sweet Pea
 
4.0
"Sweet Pea is in her last year of primary school (K-7th grade) and will be starting at secondary school the..."
I Can Make This Promise
 
5.0
"I CAN MAKE THIS PROMISE is a moving middle grade contemporary fiction about trusting your parents, finding your heritage, and..."
Peppa Pig Festival of Mud
 
4.5
"What I Loved: The story is based off an episode of Peppa Pig, and definitely reads like one. It..."
Everybody Says Meow
 
N/A
"What I Loved: This is one of those books that you can't help but smile while you read, even..."
The Other, Better Me
 
4.0
"THE OTHER, BETTER ME is a contemporary middle grade novel that follows a ten-year-old, Lola, as she explores herself and..."
Goldilocks For Dinner
 
5.0
"What I loved: The illustrations in this book are unique and eye catching, engaging the children from the outset. The..."
Creep
 
3.3
"CREEP is an interesting YA thriller/horror that follows an incoming high school freshman, Olivia (Liv). Olivia lives in a small..."