The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Giveaway: The Brighter The Stars (Bryan Prosek) ~ (US Only)

tbt_20210224-163044_1


   The Brighter The Stars (US Only) Author: Bryan Prosek Release Date: November 10th, 2020 Publisher: CamCat Publishing       About The Book Caught between love and revenge, Jake has one chance to live up to the man his uncle was. Earth crashed into interstellar politics as a lightweight, lagging...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Wednesday, 24 February 2021 12:33
Andrea Cerda
Love the cover and the book looks really interesting!
Tuesday, 02 March 2021 14:05
  414 Hits
  2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday ~ February 24, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. *Samantha’s Choice* (YABC Promotions Manager)    This Way Madness Lies: 15 of Shakespeare's Most Notable Works Reimagined Author:  Dahlia Adler Expected publication:  March 16, 2021 In That...
Continue reading
  174 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Muted (Tami Charles)

5145kKyB17L
About This Book: A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds! Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown.So Denver is more than ready on...
Continue reading
  174 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Like Home (Louisa Onome), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978059317259_20210223-171301_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Like Home (Louisa Onome).  Read on for more about Louisa, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Louisa Onome ! Louisa Onomé holds a BA in professional writing from York University and lives in Toronto. Her debut novel is Like Home ....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 12:27
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
Keia
I love this cover!
Thursday, 25 February 2021 21:32
  309 Hits
  3 Comments

Featured Review: A Dark and Hollow Star (Ashley Shuttleworth)

51T76qMNIL._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The Cruel Prince meets City of Bones in this thrilling urban fantasy set in the magical underworld of Toronto that follows a queer cast of characters racing to stop a serial killer whose crimes could expose the hidden world of faeries to humans. Choose your player. The “ironborn”...
Continue reading
  221 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC's Buzzworthy Books Of Winter 2021 Plus GIVEAWAY!! (Round Two) ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_BuzzWorthy-Books






















Which ones are we buzzing about? Check out our list and be sure to enter the awesome giveaway that we are hosting!!!           Orphaned and forced to serve her country’s ruling group of scribes, Karis wants nothing more than to find her brother, long ago shipped away....
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Abigail Lowry
So many of these books look incredible! Can’t wait to read!
Tuesday, 02 March 2021 11:00
  95 Hits
  1 Comment

YABC's Buzzworthy Books Of Winter 2021 Plus GIVEAWAY!! (Round One) ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_BuzzWorthy-Book_20210223-040922_1





















Which ones are we buzzing about? Check out our list and be sure to enter the awesome giveaway that we are hosting!!!       Padawan Reath Silas is being sent from the cosmopolitan galactic capital of Coruscant to the undeveloped frontier—and he couldn’t be less happy about it. He’d rather...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Wow, so many great books, hope I win!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 10:41
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:07
Abigail Lowry
These are all such great books!
Wednesday, 24 February 2021 12:30
  411 Hits
  5 Comments

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: Names in a Jar by Jennifer Gold + Giveaway (US/Canada)

NamesinaJar-final-header


We're so excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Names in a Jar by Jennifer Gold, releasing 9/14/2021 from Second Story Press! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author:   When you change your name, do you change who you are? A World War Two story...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 22 February 2021 15:07
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome! love the cover
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
Dianna G.
The cover is chilling with that skull! I am afraid the story will be so emotional that I can't handle the sadness.
Thursday, 25 February 2021 20:11
  217 Hits
  3 Comments

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Mindy McGinnis (The Initial Insult), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-_20210222-150835_1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!         Introducing Mindy McGinnis , YABC's Author of the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 22 February 2021 15:07
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
  413 Hits
  2 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 22, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  164 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."