The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Author Chat with Ibi Zoboi (Star Child), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978039918738_20220123-024143_1



Today we are chatting with Ibi Zoboi, author of Star Child ! Read on for more about Ibi, her book and giveaway!         Meet Ibi Zoboi !            Ibi Zoboi's debut novel American Street was a National Book Award finalist. She is also the...
Continue reading
  145 Hits
  0 Comment

What's New in YA? January 25, 2022

b2ap3_large_Whats-New-in-Y_20210913-153432_1
715mgH8QD1S
81ZGVE H6L
81Y rleF11L
913cuszcfFS
91EjYMSRB8L
91zysvXaFpL
What's New in YA? January 25, 2022       Stone Cold ( Sarah Humpherys ) Publisher: ‎  Morgan James Fiction (January 25, 2022) Reading age: ‎  12 - 18 years Grade level: ‎  7 - 9 In a kingdom where emotion is punished by death, Princess Syona is forced into...
Continue reading
  126 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: In the Forest (Anouck Boisrobert)

81bavfjqYPL
  About This Book: In a lush, green forest, a sloth sleeps. Turn the pages of his story--told in a stunning pop-up display--to witness the tragic process of deforestation and watch as a single seed brings new life. Inventive design and bold art illustrate this important lesson about the environment and...
Continue reading
  135 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Shadow of Light (Molly E. Lee)

51Nqm50VHEL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: I just saved the boy I’m falling for from a gruesome death by a demon. And what does he have to say? I’m the key to opening the gates of Hell. I mean, a thank-you would’ve been nice. Or another scorching-hot, forbidden kiss. Either way, destiny will have...
Continue reading
  110 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 24, 2022

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  118 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Beyond the End of the World (Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner)

51QsDqxadnL
About This Book: Perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Laini Taylor, this much-anticipated sequel to New York Times bestselling authors Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner’s The Other Side of the Sky is a thrilling race against time—with a tantalizing star-crossed love and an electric conclusion. Time to find a way...
Continue reading
  167 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Little Mermaid: (Or, How to Find Love Underwater) (J. M. Farkas)

71ZZ7Wh3dIS
About This Book: A blackout poetry version of the classic fairy tale "The Little Mermaid," offering a new, spare, and lovely tale of empowerment, body acceptance, and knowing where you belong You know the story of the Little Mermaid—the girl who traded her tail for legs, her beloved sea for sand,...
Continue reading
  134 Hits
  0 Comment

kids review: Pig and Horse and the Something Scary (Zoey Abbott)

71OI7McpcRL
About This Book: A gentle, perceptive story about facing our fears, worries, and anxieties—and the power of a supportive friend “I have something in my head and it is scaring me,” Pig said. “What is it?” asked Horse. “I can’t say. I’m trying to ignore it.” Pig can’t stop thinking about...
Continue reading
  124 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Zack Smith (Dolpin Girl 2: Eye of the Baloney Storm), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

59580634._SX318_20220122-001738_1



Today we are chatting with Zach Smith, author of Dolphin Girl 2: Eye of the Baloney Storm ! Read on for more about Zach, his book and giveaway!         Meet Zack Smith !           Zach Smith is a cartoonist, author, illustrator, and show creator....
Continue reading
  216 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Earth is Big: A Book of Comparisons (Steve Tomecek)

81k0J0a2tOL
About This Book: Find out how unique Planet Earth really is in this eye-catching book of comparisons! Earth is big! (compared to a frog) Earth is small! (when it’s hiding in a galaxy) And that's not all. Earth is wet and dry, hot and cold, round and jagged, fast and slow....
Continue reading
  142 Hits
  0 Comment