YABC WINS Best Book Blog in the Eighth Annual UTOPiA Awards!!

UTOPiAcon_Awards_Winner2019

It’s time to announce the winners in the Eighth Annual UTOPiA Awards.

But first I have to say a huge thank you to the members of the UTOPiAcon Academy, which is almost 1,000-members strong, who nominated their peers and associates this year. We had the highest number of nominations ever received. I’m talking 51 pages of nominees to go through to narrow down to a maximum of seven final nominees in respective categories that then go to the public voting round.

It was staggering, and a true testament to how this community really feels about each other. It was clearly an honor for members to recognize those they respect and admire, and it showed. This speaks louder than any drama of the week. You love what you do, you love this community of writers, editors, bloggers, readers, designers, and more. You show up for yourselves and each other.

We also surpassed last year’s public votes tally! So, a huge thank you to the fans and readers who voted, shared, and participated in the awards outcome this year.

There is no live awards celebration this year, but stay tuned, because the UTOPiA 2021 event in Nashville is in planning mode, and we have over 30 authors already signed up to participate!

While there can only be one winner in each category, my personal congratulations go to all those nominated, and to all of you out there who are leading your dreams.

Without further ado…Drumroll please….

 

 

 

Eighth Annual UTOPiA Award Winners 2019

 

Best Sci-Fi/Dystopian Book
TRAITOR BORN by Amy A. Bartol

 

Best Paranormal Book 
FALLEN ACADEMY: YEAR ONE by Leia Stone

 

Best Fantasy Book
ELEMENTAL WITCH by Shannon Mayer

 

Best Contemporary Book
COVET by Ella James

 

Best Short Story/Novella 
GYPSY HEART by Randi Cooley Wilson

 

Best Mystery/Suspense Book
VERITY by Colleen Hoover

 

Best Middle Grade Book
REVENGE OF MAGIC by James Riley

 

Best Audiobook
HELLION by Karen Lynch; narrated by Erin Mallon, Zachary Webber

 

Best Anthology 
THE MONSTER BALL: A Paranormal Anthology by Heather Hildenbrand, Randi Cooley Wilson, Nikki Jefford, J.L. Weil, Jane Washington, Melissa Haag, Stacey Marie Brown, Jennifer Snyder, Alyssa Rose Ivy, Raye Wagner, Desni Dantone

 

Best Serial Series
DRAGON SCHOOL by Sarah K.L. Wilson

 

Best Book Hangover
THE WICKED KING by Holly Black

 

Best Debut Novel
THE RULE OF ONE by Ashley Saunders and Leslie Saunders

 

Best Supernatural Book Cover
QUEEN OF AIR AND DARKNESS by Cassandra Clare; Margaret K. McElderry Books

 

Best Contemporary Book Cover
IF by Randi Cooley Wilson; cover design by Hang Le

 

Best Book Trailer
HIGH STAKES by Casey L. Bond; produced by The Illustrated Author Design Services

 

Best Book Editing
TRAITOR BORN by Amy A. Bartol; Edited by Jason Kirk at 47North

 

Best Interior Book Design
BRUTAL CURSE by Casey L. Bond; Melissa Stevens of The Illustrated Author Design Services

 

Best Contemporary Lead
Lana Peri in THE CURSED SERIES PARTS 1 & 2 by Rebecca Donovan

 

Best Supernatural Lead
Roselle St. Sismode in TRAITOR BORN by Amy A. Bartol

 

Best Villain
Agent Crow in TRAITOR BORN by Amy A. Bartol

 

Hottest Couple
Francesca and Wolfe in THE KISS THIEF by L.J. Shen

 

Best BFF
Shea in FALLEN ACADEMY by Leia Stone

 

Best Quote or Highlight
“For every light, there was a shadow, for every dream, a nightmare.”
DREAM KEEPER by Amber R. Duell

 

Best Bookstagrammer
@DarkFaerieTales_

 

Best Book Blog
YA Books Central

 

Best Book-to-Screen Adaptation
UMBRELLA ACADEMY; series by Gerard Way

 

Best Supernatural Series
FALLEN ACADEMY by Leia Stone

 

Best Contemporary Series
BLINDED LOVE series by Stacey Marie Brown

 

UTOPiAN of the Year
Alessandra Torre

 

Book of the Year
TRAITOR BORN by Amy A. Bartol

 

Author of the Year
Leia Stone

 

 

 

 

Press Release: SUZANNE COLLINS ANNOUNCES HUNGER GA...
Featured Review: All of Us with Wings (Michelle Ru...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."