b2ap3_large_Current-Reads

Hello YABC'ers!

Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday!

We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and

obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below and comment to let us

know what book or books you're reading as well!!

Share, Tweet, and post with the hashtag #YABCCurrentReads!

Happy Reading!!

 

 

*Samantha's Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Even If We Break (Marieke Nijkamp)

Author: Marieke Nijkamp

Publication Date: September 15, 2020

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marieke Nijkamp comes a shocking new thriller about a group of friends who go to a cabin to play a murder mystery game...only to have the game turned against them.

FIVE friends go to a cabin.

FOUR of them are hiding secrets.

THREE years of history bind them.

TWO are doomed from the start.

ONE person wants to end this.

NO ONE IS SAFE.

For five friends, this was supposed to be one last getaway before going their separate ways—a chance to say goodbye to each other, and to the game they've been playing for the past three years. But they're all dealing with their own demons, and they're all hiding secrets.

Finn doesn't trust anyone since he was attacked a few months ago. Popular girl Liva saw it happen and did nothing to stop it. Maddy was in an accident that destroyed her sports career. Carter is drowning under the weight of his family's expectations. Ever wants to keep the game going for as long as they can, at all costs.

When the lines between game and reality start to blend with deadly consequences, it's a race against time before it's game over—forever.

Are you ready to play? 

 

 

*CJ's Current Read*

(Site Owner)

The Invisible Life of Addie Larue (V. E. Schwab)

Author: V.E. Schwab

Publication Date: October 6, 2020

Publisher: Tor Books

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever―and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name. 

 

 

*Kim's Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Legendborn (Tracy Deonn)

Author: Tracy Deonn

Anticipated Publication Date: September 15, 2020

Publisher: Simon Teen

Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic.

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home. A residential program for bright high schoolers at UNC–Chapel Hill seems like the perfect escape—until Bree witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus.

A flying demon feeding on human energies.

A secret society of so called “Legendborn” students that hunt the creatures down.

And a mysterious teenage mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts—and fails—to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.

The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory with a hidden connection: the night her mother died, another Merlin was at the hospital. Now that Bree knows there’s more to her mother’s death than what’s on the police report, she’ll do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if that means infiltrating the Legendborn as one of their initiates.

She recruits Nick, a self-exiled Legendborn with his own grudge against the group, and their reluctant partnership pulls them deeper into the society’s secrets—and closer to each other. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and explain that a magical war is coming, Bree has to decide how far she’ll go for the truth and whether she should use her magic to take the society down—or join the fight.

 

 

 *Caitlin's Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Shadow Fall (Audrey Grey)

Authors: Audrey Grey

Anticipated Publication Date: April 20, 2020

Publisher: Starfall Press

Perfect for fans of Secondborn, The Hunger Games, and Maze Runner, this dark dystopian tale of survival, intrigue, and slow-burn romance will grip you until the very last page.

My name is Maia Graystone: prisoner, rebel, and reluctant savior of a dying world.

In exactly 552 hours, an asteroid will end life as we know it. Not that I'm counting or anything. Trapped inside a hellish prison with thieves and murderers, I have more current worries.

Like the brother I left behind or the not-so-friendly inmates or the fact that I'm wanted by the most powerful man in existence.


Then a mysterious benefactor breaks me out and offers the impossible: a spot in the Shadow Trials. Win and I'll receive a coveted place for my brother and I on the space station in the stars.

But the opportunity comes at a steep price. Partner with a dashing psychopath, enter the court that once condemned me to death, survive the ruthless trials created by my own mother, and kill the Emperor--the very man who's hunting me.

In this cunning game of life and death, nothing is as it seems and everyone expects me to fail. But they forgot one tiny detail.

Never underestimate the girl with nothing left to lose.



Dare to enter the gritty world of Shadow Fall where tyrants rule, misfits reign, and anti-heroes are tasked with saving the world. If you like enemies-to-lovers romance, high-octane action, and epic themes of good versus evil, you'll binge this rollercoaster of emotions late into the night!


WARNING. This series is dark, raw, and intense. If you prefer your books full of rainbows and unicorns and random sprinkles of happiness, this might not be your kind of story. But, if you like gritty stories with heart, I promise the ending of the final (third) book will have a happily ever after! 

 

 

*Lillian's Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Conscript: Star Defenders (Pamela Stewart)

Author: Pamela Stewart

Publication Date: November 14, 2019

Publisher: Independent

Conscripted and forced to fight for her life...

Seventeen-year-old Vega Volante was almost done with her mandatory service to the Axis government. Everyone had told her it would be easy--in and out.

Then, the hostile aliens invaded.

Now, she slaves away training and retooling a mining ship for war as part of the Star Defenders. All Vega wants is to get home to her family. So, when a chance at officers training opens up, she jumps at the opportunity for more freedom. But there are only five slots, and Vega must use all her planetborn skill to fight for her place.

As if that wasn't enough, the ship's condition continues to worsen. "Accidents" may not be accidents. The lines between friends and enemies blur, and Vega realizes there's a lot more at stake than her chance at freedom.

Fans of Aurora Rising, Ender's Game, and Brandon Sanderson's Skyward will devour this story of adventure, mystery, and friendship.

 

 

What book are you currently reading? Comment below! 

Share, Tweet, and post with the hashtag #YABCCurrentReads!