YABC Scavenger Hunt: Violet Grenade (Victoria Scott), Plus Excerpt & Extra Giveaway!

FullSizeRender_26

Today we're excited to share Victoria Scott's excerpt from her book, Violet Grenade as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt! Read on for more about Victoria and her book!

And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win the Grand Prize!

 

 

 

You can find Scavenger Hunt rules and entry form HERE!

 

 

 

 

Meet Victoria Scott!

Victoria Scott is the acclaimed author of eight books for young adults. Her novels are sold in fourteen different countries, and she loves receiving fan mail from across the world. Victoria loves high fashion, big cities, and pink cotton candy. You can find her online at VictoriaScott.com.  

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

 Meet Violet Grenade!

DOMINO: A girl with blue hair and a demon in her mind.

CAIN: A stone giant on the brink of exploding.

MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.

WILSON: The one who will destroy them all.

When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. Left with few alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval. But after suffering weeks of bullying and unearthing the madam’s secrets, Domino decides to leave. It’ll be harder than she thinks, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the person living inside Domino’s mind.

Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Excerpt from VIOLET GRENADE by Victoria Scott ~

 

The club, Havoc, is packed. Bodies pulse against one another and, as I pass them by, I am forgotten. It’s a feeling like no other—to be present and invisible at once. I don’t appreciate that the people are so close, that they are everywhere. But they don’t see me so it’s okay.

It doesn’t take long for me to lose myself in the music. I dance alone, and in my head it feels like I’m normal, like all these people are my friends and they give me space, but they care about me, too. My head falls back, and I raise my arms into the air. Music injects my veins and rushes through my body. It takes me away, far away.

Until.

Until someone grows nearer than the others. An arm wraps around my waist and hips brush my rear.

“Back up,” I yell, because there’s no way he’d hear me otherwise.

He doesn’t back up.

I spin around and the guy—tall, broad-shouldered, eyes that remind me of a Sunday school boy but I know better— pulls me tighter. He leans his head down to my ear and tells me I look sexy. Do I want to dance?

We’re already dancing, and the answer is no. It’s always no.

“Let go of me,” I holler. “I won’t say it again.”

The guy grins so that I can see every tooth in his mouth. His cheeks are bright red, and his brow is covered in sweat. He isn’t unattractive, but I can smell what’s beneath his sweet cologne. He is ugly on the inside. And his hands are on me.

He spins me around and my stomach clenches.

I’m being pulled backward toward a corner and oh my God no one is seeing what he’s doing. Or they see and don’t mind. My heart beats so hard it aches, and my breathing comes fast. But I don’t care about that. I care about what will happen if he keeps manhandling me.

I fear what I will do.

The guy pushes me against a wall so that my belly touches sheetrock painted black. His hands roam over my body, exploring the curveless shape of my torso. If he only knew. If he only knew he had an explosive in his grasp.

He runs a finger over my lips.

He pulls the clip off the grenade.

He pushes his mouth against the back of my neck.

He relishes the danger of the bomb in his hand.

His palm slides down the flat of my stomach.

Seconds left until detonation. Take cover!

Inside my head, I scream. Outside my head, I scream. I thrash against him but he uses my weakness to his advantage. I am shy of five feet tall, and I am built of bones.

He is built of steak dinners and whole milk.

His hands move lower and lower, and deep inside the recesses of my brain, something sinister yawns awake. No, no, no! Nothing to see here! Go back to sleep!

It’s no use.

Wilson is here.

 

 

 

 

 

Violet Grenade

By: Victoria Scott

Release Date: May 16th, 2017

Publisher: Entangled Teen

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Violet Grenade (Victoria Scott) ~ US Only
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

**And for a chance at the YABC Scavenger Hunt Grand Prize,
continue to the Official Entry Form. When completed, submit your entry by clicking the Rafflecopter post below.**
 
 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

YABC Scavenger Hunt: Girl On The Verge (Pintip Dun...
YABC Scavenger Hunt: Bad Romance (Heather Demetrio...

Related Posts

 

Comments 14

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Sunday, 18 June 2017 15:54

The cover is very purple, and there's a demon in this book!

0
The cover is very purple, and there's a demon in this book!
Dianna G. on Sunday, 18 June 2017 17:43

Very pretty cover! I don't understand about the summary, though.....what? Grenade?

0
Very pretty cover! I don't understand about the summary, though.....what? Grenade?
Julie on Thursday, 22 June 2017 02:22

I like the purple in the cover. The story sounds confusing but potentially interesting.

0
I like the purple in the cover. The story sounds confusing but potentially interesting.
Francisco Nordman on Friday, 23 June 2017 00:19

I like the cover. I'm confused by the story I want to read more.

0
I like the cover. I'm confused by the story I want to read more.
Isabella Wojnarowicz on Friday, 23 June 2017 00:27

I love the cover's aesthetic and the story sounds very intriguing

0
I love the cover's aesthetic and the story sounds very intriguing
Aireanna Lesch on Friday, 23 June 2017 12:44

Love the color violet! Cool cover and the story seems super unique and crazy!

0
Love the color violet! Cool cover and the story seems super unique and crazy! :D
Penny Olson on Sunday, 25 June 2017 00:28

The cover, like the story, seems dark and violent.

0
The cover, like the story, seems dark and violent.
Courtney Gendreau on Monday, 26 June 2017 00:33

It sounds like a great read, and it has a gorgeous cover to match

0
It sounds like a great read, and it has a gorgeous cover to match
Danielle Lynn on Wednesday, 28 June 2017 20:40

I'm totally drawn to this cover. The excerpt is definitely what drew me in though. I mean,
you can't end an excerpt like that! Come onnnnn! Now I have no choice... I HAVE to read it and find out what's going on!

0
I'm totally drawn to this cover. The excerpt is definitely what drew me in though. I mean, you can't end an excerpt like that! Come onnnnn! Now I have no choice... I HAVE to read it and find out what's going on!
Shannon Mizikoski on Wednesday, 28 June 2017 21:40

The cover is quite lovely! But mostly I am excited for the book itself, because I adore Victoria's books! Thanks for the chance!

0
The cover is quite lovely! But mostly I am excited for the book itself, because I adore Victoria's books! Thanks for the chance!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."