YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Special Ones (Em Bailey), Plus Excerpt & Extra Giveaway!

TheSpecialOnesSM

Today we're excited to share an excerpt from Em Bailey's The Special Ones as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt! 

Read on for more about Em and her novel!

And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win the Grand Prize!

 

 You can find Scavenger Hunt rules  HERE!!

 

 

 

Meet Em Bailey!

Em Bailey is an Australian author of many books for children. Her first novel for young adults was Shift, a psychological thriller published internationally to great acclaim, which won the teens' choice Gold Inky Award and was selected as a Notable Book by the Children's Book Council of Australia. Em Bailey lives in Germany with her partner and daughter.

 

 

 

Meet The Special Ones!

Esther is one of the Special Ones: four young spiritual guides who live in a remote farmhouse under the protection of a mysterious cult leader. He watches them around the clock, ready to punish them if they forget who they are—and all the while, broadcasting their lives to eager followers on the outside. Esther knows that if she stops being Special, he will “renew” her. Nobody knows what happens to the Special Ones who are taken away from the farm for renewal, but Esther fears the worst. Like an actor caught up in an endless play, she must keep up the performance if she wants to survive long enough to escape, but after being a Special One for so long will she be able to fall back into her old life and remember who she was before she was “special”?

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Excerpt ~

 

I’m peeling potatoes at the kitchen table when Harry and

Felicity return late in the afternoon. Felicity proudly carries

the wicker basket filled with freshly harvested items from the

kitchen garden: radishes, baby carrots, silverbeet. The scent of

outside clings to them.

Harry triumphantly holds up the headless chicken. “Dinner!”

Blood drips onto the stone floor.

“It’s Martha,” Felicity informs me. “She hardly laid any

eggs, so it’s fair, really.”

“Thank you.” I take the carcass and use some string Harry

gives me to hang it up over a pan to let it drain. We had chickens

in the backyard of our old house in the country, but they

were pets. The idea of eating them would’ve horrified me.

Now I find myself thinking of all the ways I can use this small

chicken. The feathers can plump up our pillows. The fat can

be used for cooking. The bones will be boiled to make stock

for soup, and once they’re removed and dried, I’ll grind them

into a powder for my medicines. Nothing is wasted here.

Our followers will enjoy this, no doubt, if the scene makes

it into one of the teaching films. Your life seems so authentic, so

sustainable and honest, the followers write to me. I never correct

them, of course.

Martha’s blood splashes rhythmically into the pan. Funny

to think that I used to be fussy about my food. No gristle, no

fat, nothing that looked too much like the creature it came

from. One lean winter in here and all that changed. Now I eat

everything. Eels from the dam, frogs, grubs. Once I even fried

up a snake that Harry killed on the veranda steps. It’s surprising

how anything can taste good if you’re hungry enough.

Outside the window, the leaves of the eucalyptuses shimmer

silver-white in the late afternoon sun. Felicity slides into

one of the heavy wooden chairs that Harry made the first year

I was here and watches as I sort through the vegetables. The

lettuces are caterpillar-holed but the radishes are red and perfect.

Radishes always grow well here for some reason.

“Any news?” Felicity asks me. She knows that Harry has

been searching for the Lucille, but she isn’t allowed to speak

to him about it. Questions of this nature must be directed to

me alone.

I take a breath and plaster on a smile, making sure I’m

turned toward the main camera on the wall. “Yes. Good

news!”

Felicity sits up straight. “Lucille’s coming back?”

“Yes. Wonderful, isn’t it?”

“I’m glad. Really, really glad,” says Felicity, wrapping herself

in her arms.

The Felicitys and the Lucilles are generally not very close

— the age gap is too big for them to be friends, and the Lucilles

are not exactly the motherly type — but I understand why

Felicity is pleased. It feels unbalanced here when one of us is

missing. Like a table minus a leg.

Now my smile is genuine. “Me too.”

 

 

 

 

 

The Special Ones

By: Em Bailey

Publisher: HMH Books

Release Date: July 18th, 2017 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of The Special Ones (Em Bailey) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

**And for a chance at the YABC Scavenger Hunt Grand Prize,
 
continue to the Official Entry Form!
 
When completed, submit your entry by clicking the Rafflecopter post below**
 
 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

YABC Scavenger Hunt: Skipping Forward (Bethany Wic...
YABC Scavenger Hunt: Romeo, Juliet and Jim (Iva-Ma...

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Sunday, 09 July 2017 19:08

The cover is well designed, the synopsis filled in some important details!

0
The cover is well designed, the synopsis filled in some important details!
Dianna G. on Sunday, 09 July 2017 21:06

I've got to read this -- amazing summary and the excerpt just leaves me wanting more. The cover is the creepiest kind of cool.

0
I've got to read this -- amazing summary and the excerpt just leaves me wanting more. The cover is the creepiest kind of cool.
Aireanna Lesch on Wednesday, 12 July 2017 11:12

This book sounds gruesome, and the cover looks super creepy! I LOVE IT!

0
This book sounds gruesome, and the cover looks super creepy! I LOVE IT! :p
Meigan on Wednesday, 12 July 2017 21:14

Oh my gravy, this one sounds so good! Cults?! Yes please! Mysterious and creepy, exactly like the cover makes it seem.

0
Oh my gravy, this one sounds so good! Cults?! Yes please! Mysterious and creepy, exactly like the cover makes it seem.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 16 July 2017 23:51

Both the cover and the synopsis creep me out.

0
Both the cover and the synopsis creep me out.
Danielle Lynn on Monday, 17 July 2017 16:47

Sounds like one heck of a super creepy mystery! And that cover definitely doesn't disappoint!

0
Sounds like one heck of a super creepy mystery! And that cover definitely doesn't disappoint!
Nancy Hernandez on Thursday, 20 July 2017 22:54

Im curious about the story and the cover is decent.

0
Im curious about the story and the cover is decent.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 22 July 2017 11:04

The cover is spooky which matches the scary synopsis. Will make a fun and creepy read.

0
The cover is spooky which matches the scary synopsis. Will make a fun and creepy read.
Courtney Gendreau on Sunday, 23 July 2017 01:43

I love the creepiness of this cover!

0
I love the creepiness of this cover!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"When Ivy and Iris were ten, their parents divorced. Ivy lived with their father and Iris with their mother. Then..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."