YABC Scavenger Hunt: Girls Made Of Snow and Glass (Melissa Bashardoust), Plus Playlist & Extra Giveaway!

GirlsOfSnowandGlassSM

Today we're excited to share a playlist for Melissa Bashardoust's Girls Made Of Snow and Glass as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt! Read on for more about Melissa and her novel!

And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance to win the Grand Prize!

 

 You can find Scavenger Hunt rules HERE!!

 

 

 

Meet Melissa Bashardoust!

Melissa Bashardoust received her degree in English from the University of California, Berkeley, where she rediscovered her love for creative writing, children’s literature, and fairy tales and their retellings. She currently lives in Southern California with a cat named Alice and more copies of Jane Eyre than she probably needs. Girls Made of Snow and Glass is her first novel.

 

 

Website * Twitter

 

 

 

 

Meet Girls Made Of Snow and Glass!

Frozen meets The Bloody Chamber in this feminist fantasy reimagining of the Snow White fairytale

At sixteen, Mina's mother is dead, her magician father is vicious, and her silent heart has never beat with love for anyone—has never beat at all, in fact, but she’d always thought that fact normal. She never guessed that her father cut out her heart and replaced it with one of glass. When she moves to Whitespring Castle and sees its king for the first time, Mina forms a plan: win the king’s heart with her beauty, become queen, and finally know love. The only catch is that she’ll have to become a stepmother.

Fifteen-year-old Lynet looks just like her late mother, and one day she discovers why: a magician created her out of snow in the dead queen’s image, at her father’s order. But despite being the dead queen made flesh, Lynet would rather be like her fierce and regal stepmother, Mina. She gets her wish when her father makes Lynet queen of the southern territories, displacing Mina. Now Mina is starting to look at Lynet with something like hatred, and Lynet must decide what to do—and who to be—to win back the only mother she’s ever known…or else defeat her once and for all.

Entwining the stories of both Lynet and Mina in the past and present, Girls Made of Snow and Glass traces the relationship of two young women doomed to be rivals from the start. Only one can win all, while the other must lose everything—unless both can find a way to reshape themselves and their story.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Playlist ~ 

 

My writing playlists are a mix of lyrically relevant songs and instrumental pieces that set the mood. Here are two mini-playlists, one for each of the protagonists in my book. Happy listening!

 

Songs for the Princess:

Landscape – Florence and the Machine

The Sick Doll – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Dust to Dust – The Civil Wars

Ice Dance – Danny Elfman

Winter Song – Ingrid Michaelson and Sara Bareilles

 

Songs for the “Evil” Queen:

Pretty Hurts – Beyoncé

The Old Castle – Modest Mussorgsky

Hardest of Hearts – Florence and the Machine

Mareta no’m faces plorar – Montserrat Figueras

Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – Nina Simone

 

 

 

 

 

Girls Made Of Snow and Glass

By: Melissa Bashardoust

Publisher: Flatiron Books

Release Date: September 5th, 2017 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will receive a copy of Girls Made Of Snow and Glass (Melissa Bashardoust) 

~ (US Only) ~

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*


a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

**And for a chance at the YABC Scavenger Hunt Grand Prize,
 
continue to the Official Entry Form!
 
When completed, submit your entry by clicking the Rafflecopter post below**
 
 

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Chapter 23 Read Along: Tendrils of Darkness
YABC Scavenger Hunt: Truthers (Geoffrey Girard), P...

Related Posts

 

Comments 15

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Sunday, 09 July 2017 19:27

The cover made me see the world in a whole new way. The synopsis was crisp and efficient.

0
The cover made me see the world in a whole new way. The synopsis was crisp and efficient.
Dianna G. on Sunday, 09 July 2017 21:00

Love the cover AND the title.
As for the summary, retellings are fun -- I would enjoy this book, I think.

0
Love the cover AND the title. As for the summary, retellings are fun -- I would enjoy this book, I think.
Danielle on Monday, 10 July 2017 21:39

The cover is stunning. And I love the family dynamics in the story!!!!

0
The cover is stunning. And I love the family dynamics in the story!!!!
Danielle Lynn on Wednesday, 12 July 2017 23:35

Okay, that story line is EPIC! That's probably the most creative adaptation for Snow White I've ever heard of! Sounds like it's going to an amazing retelling and I'm extremely excited to add this to my TBR.

And that cover...perfect! Not cheesy and overdone like some retellings tend to be. This gives me chills!

0
Okay, that story line is EPIC! That's probably the most creative adaptation for Snow White I've ever heard of! Sounds like it's going to an amazing retelling and I'm extremely excited to add this to my TBR. And that cover...perfect! Not cheesy and overdone like some retellings tend to be. This gives me chills!
Julie on Thursday, 13 July 2017 04:36

This sounds really interesting! I love fairy tale based stories! The cover is pretty good too.

0
This sounds really interesting! I love fairy tale based stories! The cover is pretty good too.
Penny Olson on Saturday, 15 July 2017 00:46

The cover is stark and jagged. You had me at feminist fantasy retelling of Snow White.

0
The cover is stark and jagged. You had me at feminist fantasy retelling of Snow White.
Anne on Saturday, 15 July 2017 01:42

I love retellings! This sounds like a good one and the cover is pretty!

0
I love retellings! This sounds like a good one and the cover is pretty!
Kristi Housman on Monday, 17 July 2017 19:49

Love the cover and I'm always excited for new retellings.

0
Love the cover and I'm always excited for new retellings.
Shannon Mizikoski on Monday, 17 July 2017 22:26

Gah, this sounds so, SO good! I am picky about retellings, but this one captured my interest immediately. And the cover is simple, but seems quite perfect for the vibe of the synopsis, so I like it!

0
Gah, this sounds so, SO good! I am picky about retellings, but this one captured my interest immediately. And the cover is simple, but seems quite perfect for the vibe of the synopsis, so I like it!
Nancy Hernandez on Saturday, 22 July 2017 00:44

Love the cover and story, intrigue!!!

0
Love the cover and story, intrigue!!!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...

Latest Member Reviews

Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."