YABC Scavenger Hunt: Chemistry Lessons (Meredith Goldstein), Plus Guest Post & Extra Giveaway!

ChemistryLesson

Today we're excited to share an guest post from

Meredith Goldstein's Chemistry Lessons as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt! 

Read on for more about Meredith and her novel!

And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance

to win the Grand Prize!

 

 

 You can find Scavenger Hunt rules  HERE !!

 

 

Meet Meredith Goldstein!

Image result for meredith goldstein author

Meredith Goldstein is an advice columnist and entertainment reporter for The Boston Globe. Her advice column, Love Letters, is a daily dispatch of wisdom for the lovelorn that has been running online and in the paper for eight years. Meredith’s first novel, The Singles(2012), was about a group of dateless guests at a wedding. In 2018 she’ll release two books: “Can’t Help Myself: Lessons and Confessions From a Modern Advice Columnist,” a memoir (Grand Central), and Chemistry Lessons (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), a young adult novel about a young woman who uses science to manipulate her love life.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

Meet Chemistry Lessons!

For seventeen-year-old Maya, the equation for happiness is simple: a dream internship at MIT + two new science nerd friends + a perfect boyfriend = one amazing summer. Then Whit dumps her out of the blue. 

Maya is miserable until she discovers that her scientist mother, before she died, was conducting research on manipulating pheromones to enhance human attraction. If Maya can finish her mother’s work, maybe she can get Whit back. But when her experiment creates chaos in her love life, she realizes that maybe love and loss can’t be understood using the scientific method. Can she learn to trust the unmeasurables of love and attraction instead?

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

~ Guest Post ~ 

 

By Meredith Goldstein

Author of Chemistry Lessons

 

I remember the first time I smelled it.

It was a very big deal – because I don't smell much of anything, ever.

My nose is almost always stuffed up because of allergies. Usually, when people say, “Oh … that smells so good,” about flowers or some tasty looking plate of food, I have to take their word for it.

But when I walked down Main Street in Cambridge, Massachusetts one afternoon years ago, I was overwhelmed by the scent. It was chocolate - everywhere. “A chocolate explosion,” I whispered to myself.

It smelled like candy bar insides. Like heaven. The scent seemed to cover an entire block.

I looked up an down the street to identify where the magic scent might be coming from, but couldn’t find any clues. No bakery. No ice cream shop. Nothing sweet.

All I saw was a nondescript factory building. No one coming in or out. The windows gave nothing away.

Eventually, I googled the address, and then I found the sign. It was a business called Cambridge Brands, a company responsible for making Tootsie Rolls.

Tootsie Rolls were being made just miles from my house!

Massachusetts gets a lot of attention for its history in the American Revolution, but some of its more recent past involves the creation of candy and sweets. Necco used to make its confectionaries in Cambridge. (Link here: https://cambridgehistory.org/candy/necco.html) Fluff, that weird-yet-perfect marshmallow spread, was invented in Somerville.

When I began writing Chemistry Lessons, a YA novel about a young scientist who tries to manipulate her love life with pheromones, I knew I wanted to involve as many smells as possible. And my favorite scent – the one around Cambridge Brands – happens to be right down the street from the lab building where my main character, Maya, would do her experiment at MIT.

In the book, Maya finds comfort in the chocolate explosion on Main Street. She and her friends call it a “whiff walk.”

Now, when I visit the neighborhood to enjoy the scent, I feel like I’m there with her.

If you ever come to Boston, I recommend making a special trip to the corner of Massachusetts Avenue and Main Street in Cambridge to take a whiff walk of your own. Visit the MIT Museum, which is nearby. Check out the old Necco building. Then head to Main Street and inhale. You won’t be disappointed.

 

 

Chemistry Lessons

By: Meredith Goldstein

Publisher: HMH

Release Date: June 19th, 2018 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Chemistry Lessons (Meredith Goldstein) ~ (US Only)

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway* 

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

**And for a chance at the YABC Scavenger Hunt Grand Prize,
 
continue to the Official Entry Form!!
 
When completed, submit your entry by clicking the Rafflecopter post below**
 
 
 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

YABC Scavenger Hunt: For A Muse Of Fire (Heidi Hei...
YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Traitor Prince (CJ Redwin...

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
Dianna G. on Monday, 19 March 2018 10:06

The cover is adorable! Love the info about the tootsie rolls.
I was drawn by the summary because my daughter has talked about going to MIT.

0
The cover is adorable! Love the info about the tootsie rolls. I was drawn by the summary because my daughter has talked about going to MIT.
Edit~A on Friday, 23 March 2018 03:04

Chemistry, chocolate, YA romance AND AN AWESOME COVER.... what else do you need to attract the reader?!!

0
Chemistry, chocolate, YA romance AND AN AWESOME COVER.... what else do you need to attract the reader?!! :D
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 25 March 2018 19:46

The cover is so cute and perfect. I love the synopsis and this will be fun to read.

0
The cover is so cute and perfect. I love the synopsis and this will be fun to read.
Hailey Joseph on Monday, 26 March 2018 15:25

I love the plot of this book and the cover really compliments it. I can't wait to read this!

0
I love the plot of this book and the cover really compliments it. I can't wait to read this!
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 27 March 2018 21:06

The cover is so cute! I love it! The synopsis sounds so great, can't wait to read!

0
The cover is so cute! I love it! The synopsis sounds so great, can't wait to read!
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 28 March 2018 00:58

The cover is really creative. The story sounds fun.

0
The cover is really creative. The story sounds fun.
Erin on Thursday, 29 March 2018 20:50

I love it...both the cover and the synopsis!! I am a chemistry nut so this is right up my alley! ❤

0
I love it...both the cover and the synopsis!! I am a chemistry nut so this is right up my alley! ❤
wendy rinebold on Thursday, 29 March 2018 20:53

Beautiful cover and sounds great!

0
Beautiful cover and sounds great!
Kelly G on Monday, 02 April 2018 15:27

The story sounds so amazing and the cover is stunning!

0
The story sounds so amazing and the cover is stunning!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
Blade of Mad Vision
 
5.0
"Loved it! It makes me want to be an artist and a fencer and learn languages and go on adventures..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
The Curie Society
 
4.2
"Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to..."