YABC Scavenger Hunt: Chemistry Lessons (Meredith Goldstein), Plus Guest Post & Extra Giveaway!

ChemistryLesson

Today we're excited to share an guest post from

Meredith Goldstein's Chemistry Lessons as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt! 

Read on for more about Meredith and her novel!

And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance

to win the Grand Prize!

 

 

 You can find Scavenger Hunt rules  HERE !!

 

 

Meet Meredith Goldstein!

Image result for meredith goldstein author

Meredith Goldstein is an advice columnist and entertainment reporter for The Boston Globe. Her advice column, Love Letters, is a daily dispatch of wisdom for the lovelorn that has been running online and in the paper for eight years. Meredith’s first novel, The Singles(2012), was about a group of dateless guests at a wedding. In 2018 she’ll release two books: “Can’t Help Myself: Lessons and Confessions From a Modern Advice Columnist,” a memoir (Grand Central), and Chemistry Lessons (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), a young adult novel about a young woman who uses science to manipulate her love life.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

Meet Chemistry Lessons!

For seventeen-year-old Maya, the equation for happiness is simple: a dream internship at MIT + two new science nerd friends + a perfect boyfriend = one amazing summer. Then Whit dumps her out of the blue. 

Maya is miserable until she discovers that her scientist mother, before she died, was conducting research on manipulating pheromones to enhance human attraction. If Maya can finish her mother’s work, maybe she can get Whit back. But when her experiment creates chaos in her love life, she realizes that maybe love and loss can’t be understood using the scientific method. Can she learn to trust the unmeasurables of love and attraction instead?

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

~ Guest Post ~ 

 

By Meredith Goldstein

Author of Chemistry Lessons

 

I remember the first time I smelled it.

It was a very big deal – because I don't smell much of anything, ever.

My nose is almost always stuffed up because of allergies. Usually, when people say, “Oh … that smells so good,” about flowers or some tasty looking plate of food, I have to take their word for it.

But when I walked down Main Street in Cambridge, Massachusetts one afternoon years ago, I was overwhelmed by the scent. It was chocolate - everywhere. “A chocolate explosion,” I whispered to myself.

It smelled like candy bar insides. Like heaven. The scent seemed to cover an entire block.

I looked up an down the street to identify where the magic scent might be coming from, but couldn’t find any clues. No bakery. No ice cream shop. Nothing sweet.

All I saw was a nondescript factory building. No one coming in or out. The windows gave nothing away.

Eventually, I googled the address, and then I found the sign. It was a business called Cambridge Brands, a company responsible for making Tootsie Rolls.

Tootsie Rolls were being made just miles from my house!

Massachusetts gets a lot of attention for its history in the American Revolution, but some of its more recent past involves the creation of candy and sweets. Necco used to make its confectionaries in Cambridge. (Link here: https://cambridgehistory.org/candy/necco.html) Fluff, that weird-yet-perfect marshmallow spread, was invented in Somerville.

When I began writing Chemistry Lessons, a YA novel about a young scientist who tries to manipulate her love life with pheromones, I knew I wanted to involve as many smells as possible. And my favorite scent – the one around Cambridge Brands – happens to be right down the street from the lab building where my main character, Maya, would do her experiment at MIT.

In the book, Maya finds comfort in the chocolate explosion on Main Street. She and her friends call it a “whiff walk.”

Now, when I visit the neighborhood to enjoy the scent, I feel like I’m there with her.

If you ever come to Boston, I recommend making a special trip to the corner of Massachusetts Avenue and Main Street in Cambridge to take a whiff walk of your own. Visit the MIT Museum, which is nearby. Check out the old Necco building. Then head to Main Street and inhale. You won’t be disappointed.

 

 

Chemistry Lessons

By: Meredith Goldstein

Publisher: HMH

Release Date: June 19th, 2018 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Chemistry Lessons (Meredith Goldstein) ~ (US Only)

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway* 

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

**And for a chance at the YABC Scavenger Hunt Grand Prize,
 
continue to the Official Entry Form!!
 
When completed, submit your entry by clicking the Rafflecopter post below**
 
 
 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

YABC Scavenger Hunt: For A Muse Of Fire (Heidi Hei...
YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Traitor Prince (CJ Redwin...

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
Dianna G. on Monday, 19 March 2018 10:06

The cover is adorable! Love the info about the tootsie rolls.
I was drawn by the summary because my daughter has talked about going to MIT.

0
The cover is adorable! Love the info about the tootsie rolls. I was drawn by the summary because my daughter has talked about going to MIT.
Edit~A on Friday, 23 March 2018 03:04

Chemistry, chocolate, YA romance AND AN AWESOME COVER.... what else do you need to attract the reader?!!

0
Chemistry, chocolate, YA romance AND AN AWESOME COVER.... what else do you need to attract the reader?!! :D
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 25 March 2018 19:46

The cover is so cute and perfect. I love the synopsis and this will be fun to read.

0
The cover is so cute and perfect. I love the synopsis and this will be fun to read.
Hailey Joseph on Monday, 26 March 2018 15:25

I love the plot of this book and the cover really compliments it. I can't wait to read this!

0
I love the plot of this book and the cover really compliments it. I can't wait to read this!
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 27 March 2018 21:06

The cover is so cute! I love it! The synopsis sounds so great, can't wait to read!

0
The cover is so cute! I love it! The synopsis sounds so great, can't wait to read!
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 28 March 2018 00:58

The cover is really creative. The story sounds fun.

0
The cover is really creative. The story sounds fun.
Erin on Thursday, 29 March 2018 20:50

I love it...both the cover and the synopsis!! I am a chemistry nut so this is right up my alley! ❤

0
I love it...both the cover and the synopsis!! I am a chemistry nut so this is right up my alley! ❤
wendy rinebold on Thursday, 29 March 2018 20:53

Beautiful cover and sounds great!

0
Beautiful cover and sounds great!
Kelly G on Monday, 02 April 2018 15:27

The story sounds so amazing and the cover is stunning!

0
The story sounds so amazing and the cover is stunning!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."