YABC's Blogger Of The Month ~ Melissa Robles (The Reader and the Chef)

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_BloggerOfTheMonth

Welcome to YABC's monthly special feature post,

Blogger Of The Month!!

Each month YABC will be interviewing a different blogger and highlight all of their hard work within the blogging community!!

 

 

 

 

Introducing Melissa @ The Reader and The Chef, YABC's Blogger Of The Month!!

 

 

Melissa is a YA book blogger, bookstagrammer, and a Slytherin living in Mexico. Her favorite genres are fantasy, contemporary, historical, and basically all things YA with a hint of romance. When she’s not reading, Melissa loves to sing out loud, eat sweets, and take lots of bookish photos. You can find her on her blog, The Reader and the Chef, on YA Books Central as the Instagram Manager, and contributing posts on Kate Tilton, Connecting Authors & Readers.

 

 

 

Blog * Twitter * Instagram * Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:   Can you tell our readers about yourself and your blog?

Hi! My name is Melissa and I'm the co-owner of The Reader and the Chef! I live in Mexico and I blog with my sister who is the chef (an actual chef!). My sister helps me by reviewing books on our site plus creating delicious goodies to post along with books for our bookstagram! My favorite series is The Malediction Novels by Danielle L. Jensen and I am pretty much obsessed with all things Fantasy. Oh, and I LOVE Kdramas. :)

 



YABC:    Describe how did you first get into blogging?

Oh, it happened YEARS ago. I think 7! I basically found out about blogging when I discovered the Kobo app in my iPod touch and fell in love with a freebie novella by Julie Kagawa, Winter's Passage (from The Iron Fey series). After reading and loving it, I went to check out Harlequin Teen's page to found out more about the series and there I saw talk about bloggers, which prompted me to read reviews and ultimately joining a couple of book blogs as guest reviewer, then creating my own 4 years ago.

 



YABC:   What type of networking do you think is better to enhance your traffic to the blog?

Constantly sharing on social media has always been key, plus interacting with fellow bookish friends!




YABC:    What do you think is the best strategy that worked well for you to get more traffic to your blog?

Interacting with fellow book lovers. Visiting their blogs and commenting back will help you build an audience because most book bloggers are reciprocate. You may end up finding incredible voices and friends to keep for a lifetime!

 



YABC:    How do you want to improve yourself in the next year?

I want to be more organized! Also to stop being a night owl and more of a morning person. I am working on both, but it is definitely a struggle! I concentrate a lot more at night but I would benefit to wake up earlier so I can have free evenings to read more after getting all of my responsibilities out of the way.

 



YABC:    Who has impacted you most in blogging and how?

My friend Kate Tilton from Kate Tilton's Author Services has been there for me right from the start, even before my own book blog! She welcomed me to the book community with open arms and now I am proud to be working with her as her Review Coordinator. I am blessed to know her!




YABC:   What was the most challenging moment in your blogging journey so far?

Right after I finished College I thought I would have to leave blogging behind and get a job. I was reluctant to do it because I had invested so much of my time with my blog that the idea of saying goodbye to my blogging days pained me. However, after holding on for a little longer, things worked out in my favor. I joined YABC as a Staff Reviewer, then became the Instagram Manager (!!!), and now my own Bookstagram channel keeps getting bigger, so I think I will be blogging for a long while.




YABC:   What do you think is the best social media strategy for getting more visitors to a blog?

Pretty photos and constant fangirling in a single tweet works wonders! Also... *whispers* get your trusted book blogging friends to give you a boost by retweeting/or sharing in their own social media. Tagging publishers and authors (when everything you talk about is positive) works well too!




YABC:   Tell me about your proudest achievement?

AHH, this is a hard one. I am proud of several things! I am proud to be YABC's Instagram Manager! Also proud to be friends with my favorite author, Danielle L. Jensen. I'm proud to work in my friend's company. To be an Intern at Entangled Publishing. So in the end, I am proud to keep doing what I love to do: to work with books!




YABC:    Can you name some of your favorite bloggers and explain why they are your favorites?​

My friends Rebeca & Helena from Book Nerd Addict are two of my favorites! They are incredibly sweet, talented, and overall amazing friends. I love talking to them every day and fangirling about books.

Also shout-out to my sister Isabel (my co-blogger) because she now reads more books than me and she deserves all the praise! ♥


---
Best,
Melissa
YABC Instagram Manager

 

 

 

 

 

THANK YOU Melissa for all your hard work and dedication to the blogging & Instagram community and thank you for taking time out to allow us to interview you and share your thoughts with all of our readers!!! Keep up the good work and looking forward to all of your future posts!!!

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Ecosystem by Joshua Davi...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ April 11th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."