YABC's Blogger Of The Month ~ Melissa Robles (The Reader and the Chef)

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_BloggerOfTheMonth

Welcome to YABC's monthly special feature post,

Blogger Of The Month!!

Each month YABC will be interviewing a different blogger and highlight all of their hard work within the blogging community!!

 

 

 

 

Introducing Melissa @ The Reader and The Chef, YABC's Blogger Of The Month!!

 

 

Melissa is a YA book blogger, bookstagrammer, and a Slytherin living in Mexico. Her favorite genres are fantasy, contemporary, historical, and basically all things YA with a hint of romance. When she’s not reading, Melissa loves to sing out loud, eat sweets, and take lots of bookish photos. You can find her on her blog, The Reader and the Chef, on YA Books Central as the Instagram Manager, and contributing posts on Kate Tilton, Connecting Authors & Readers.

 

 

 

Blog * Twitter * Instagram * Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:   Can you tell our readers about yourself and your blog?

Hi! My name is Melissa and I'm the co-owner of The Reader and the Chef! I live in Mexico and I blog with my sister who is the chef (an actual chef!). My sister helps me by reviewing books on our site plus creating delicious goodies to post along with books for our bookstagram! My favorite series is The Malediction Novels by Danielle L. Jensen and I am pretty much obsessed with all things Fantasy. Oh, and I LOVE Kdramas. :)

 



YABC:    Describe how did you first get into blogging?

Oh, it happened YEARS ago. I think 7! I basically found out about blogging when I discovered the Kobo app in my iPod touch and fell in love with a freebie novella by Julie Kagawa, Winter's Passage (from The Iron Fey series). After reading and loving it, I went to check out Harlequin Teen's page to found out more about the series and there I saw talk about bloggers, which prompted me to read reviews and ultimately joining a couple of book blogs as guest reviewer, then creating my own 4 years ago.

 



YABC:   What type of networking do you think is better to enhance your traffic to the blog?

Constantly sharing on social media has always been key, plus interacting with fellow bookish friends!




YABC:    What do you think is the best strategy that worked well for you to get more traffic to your blog?

Interacting with fellow book lovers. Visiting their blogs and commenting back will help you build an audience because most book bloggers are reciprocate. You may end up finding incredible voices and friends to keep for a lifetime!

 



YABC:    How do you want to improve yourself in the next year?

I want to be more organized! Also to stop being a night owl and more of a morning person. I am working on both, but it is definitely a struggle! I concentrate a lot more at night but I would benefit to wake up earlier so I can have free evenings to read more after getting all of my responsibilities out of the way.

 



YABC:    Who has impacted you most in blogging and how?

My friend Kate Tilton from Kate Tilton's Author Services has been there for me right from the start, even before my own book blog! She welcomed me to the book community with open arms and now I am proud to be working with her as her Review Coordinator. I am blessed to know her!




YABC:   What was the most challenging moment in your blogging journey so far?

Right after I finished College I thought I would have to leave blogging behind and get a job. I was reluctant to do it because I had invested so much of my time with my blog that the idea of saying goodbye to my blogging days pained me. However, after holding on for a little longer, things worked out in my favor. I joined YABC as a Staff Reviewer, then became the Instagram Manager (!!!), and now my own Bookstagram channel keeps getting bigger, so I think I will be blogging for a long while.




YABC:   What do you think is the best social media strategy for getting more visitors to a blog?

Pretty photos and constant fangirling in a single tweet works wonders! Also... *whispers* get your trusted book blogging friends to give you a boost by retweeting/or sharing in their own social media. Tagging publishers and authors (when everything you talk about is positive) works well too!




YABC:   Tell me about your proudest achievement?

AHH, this is a hard one. I am proud of several things! I am proud to be YABC's Instagram Manager! Also proud to be friends with my favorite author, Danielle L. Jensen. I'm proud to work in my friend's company. To be an Intern at Entangled Publishing. So in the end, I am proud to keep doing what I love to do: to work with books!




YABC:    Can you name some of your favorite bloggers and explain why they are your favorites?​

My friends Rebeca & Helena from Book Nerd Addict are two of my favorites! They are incredibly sweet, talented, and overall amazing friends. I love talking to them every day and fangirling about books.

Also shout-out to my sister Isabel (my co-blogger) because she now reads more books than me and she deserves all the praise! ♥


---
Best,
Melissa
YABC Instagram Manager

 

 

 

 

 

THANK YOU Melissa for all your hard work and dedication to the blogging & Instagram community and thank you for taking time out to allow us to interview you and share your thoughts with all of our readers!!! Keep up the good work and looking forward to all of your future posts!!!

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Ecosystem by Joshua Davi...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ April 11th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
Blade of Mad Vision
 
5.0
"Loved it! It makes me want to be an artist and a fencer and learn languages and go on adventures..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
The Curie Society
 
4.2
"Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to..."
Spi-ku: A Clutter of Short Verse on Eight Legs
 
4.3
"From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every..."