YABC's Blogger Of The Month ~ Melissa Robles (The Reader and the Chef )

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_BloggerOfTheMonth

Welcome to YABC's monthly special feature post,

Blogger Of The Month!!

Each month YABC will be interviewing a different blogger and highlight all of their hard work within the blogging community!!

 

 

 

Introducing Melissa @ The Reader and The Chef,  YABC's Blogger Of The Month!!

Melissa is a YA book blogger, bookstagrammer, and a Slytherin living in Mexico. Her favorite genres are fantasy, contemporary, historical, and basically all things YA with a hint of romance. When she’s not reading, Melissa loves to sing out loud, eat sweets, and take lots of bookish photos. You can find her on her blog, The Reader and the Chef, on YA Books Central as the Instagram Manager, and contributing posts on Kate Tilton, Connecting Authors & Readers.

 

 

Blog * Twitter * Instagram * Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:   Can you tell our readers about yourself and your blog?
Hi everyone! My name is Melissa Robles and I blog over at The Reader and the Chef where, with the help of my sister (who is an actual chef), we talk about our favorite YA books and desserts (although these desserts are best appreciated on our Instagram account @thereaderandthechef). I'm also YABC's Instagram Manager & a staff reviewer, so I get to take even more bookish photos and spread the word about YABC's amazing work.

 

 

YABC:   Describe how did you first get into blogging?
 I first got into blogging almost 6 years ago, when I was turning 18. I had just received an iPod touch from my parents as a birthday gift and while I browsed the iBooks and Kobo apps, I noticed lots of YA literature, including a free novella of The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa, which I quickly downloaded and loved. I then headed over to Harlequin Teen's page and saw them calling bloggers to add an upcoming book on Goodreads. That led me to sign up and discover all these awesome blogs who talked about their love for books, which I immediately knew it was something I wanted to do one day too. It took me 3 years to start my own blog, but I've been part of the community since I was 18 since I joined another two blogs before my blog as guest reviewer.

 



YABC:   What do you think is the best service a blogger can provide to his readers?
An honest voice. For readers to trust your opinion. While reading tastes might differ, it is always great to know that when it comes to deciding whether a book is for them or not, your voice has a say in the matter.

 



YABC:    What do you think is the best strategy that worked well for you to get more traffic to your blog?
Participating in blog tours! It's always an honor to be included in a book's blog tour, and thanks to all the special content from the author (plus a giveaway or two) promoted on Twitter and Instagram, I always seem to get more traffic on my blog.

 



YABC:   What was the most challenging moment in your blogging journey so far?
There was a time when I was juggling College and an internship, meaning that I was out of my house from 6 am to 6 pm, so it was almost impossible to keep up with my blog. I was exhausted all the time, but I somehow got through it without affecting none of my responsibilities. I still feel quite proud of myself for it!




YABC:   What do you think is the best social media strategy for getting more visitors to a blog?
Promote your blog and create relationships on Twitter and Instagram. Join Twitter chats and visit other blogs. Interacting with the bookish community is the best way to go because just as you are trying to get more visitors on your blog, others are too. Besides, you will surely meet other amazing book bloggers and find blogs to inspire your own creativity!




YABC:   Tell me about your proudest achievement?
To have my favorite author (Danielle L. Jensen) dedicate her new book to me. I feel blessed. I never expected that one day my favorite author, whose debut book was my first ARC approval, to honor me this way. She also allowed me to Beta her last two books, and I thought that was the ultimate honor, but I was wrong. This is what brings tears to my eyes. I'm so grateful.

 



YABC:   How do you manage time to run your blog efficiently?
Ah, well, after all these years blogging, I discovered I'm a night owl and my best work for blogging always happens when it's late at night. So during the day, I dedicate my time to interact with the community, promote my posts, and post bookish photos on Instagram. Once everything is quiet and there's nothing to distract me, I quickly write my posts and schedule them for when they should go live.




YABC:   Where would you like to be in blogging five years from now?
I wish with all my heart to still be able to say "I'm a book blogger" but also somehow find a way to be much more active in this community, to take my blog to the next level, whatever that may be. Anything can happen in five years, but looking back to my already six years, I guess there's really a good chance that I won't ever leave this community. It's already my home.

 



YABC:   Can you name some of your favorite bloggers and explain why they are your favorites?​
A few of my (many) favorites are Brittany from Brittany's Book Rambles, Sarah K. from The Book Traveler, and Helena & Becky from Book Nerd Addict. These ladies have been wonderful supporters of my blog throughout these years and each day they inspire me with their creativity. They are also my go-to people whenever I look for great book recommendations!


Thank you so much for having me! ♥

 

 

 

 

THANK YOU Melissa for all your hard work and dedication to the blogging & Instagram community and thank you for taking time out to allow us to interview you and share your thoughts with all of our readers!!! Keep up the good work and looking forward to all of your future posts!!!

 

AWARD-WINNING DIGITAL MEDIA STAR ZACH KING SIGNS B...
Spotlight on Riptide Summer by Lisa Freeman, Plus ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."