When Real Life Informs Fantasy by Chloe Jacobs

When Real Life Informs Fantasy by Chloe Jacobs

 

Writing Mylena: How Real Life Informed My Fantasy World

I’ve always been a big outdoorsy person. From my humble beginnings as a little girl growing up near the Rockies in Alberta, to a teenager heading out for long weekends at our local campground with my best friend’s dad’s camper – you remember the kind that lowered into the bed of a pick­up and all the beds folded out from the table and the chairs and stuff?—and then when my husband and I got together and started to do some more intense portaging and canoeing.

 

 

We would go everywhere, and try anything. I’ve camped with no gear, curled up under a tree (that might have been an accident). I’ve camped in a yurt in winter (that one was really nothing more than a plywood shack with a cot in it). I’ve camped in parks where you can hear the family snoring in the site next to you because it’s so close, but I’ve also camped in areas where the only thing you hear for miles is the sound of the forest, and you’ve never felt that kind of isolation before in your life.

So when I sat down to write Greta’s story and she gets stuck in a place with no civilization and no big cities, and no modern conveniences, I thought I could really do that part of her journey justice. I wanted to give the world of Mylena the same kind of feeling I had growing up – of a natural environment that envelops you, becomes a part of you, and demands respect and awe.

Even though we still spend a lot of time outdoors, we don’t camp as much anymore for various reasons, and so Mylena became my new adventure, and that world became as real to me as all the memories from my childhood.

What have you read recently that made you think about old memories? What kinds of settings in books do you relate to the most? City? Country? Fantasy? – and why? 

 

 

Meet Chloe Jacobs! 

Chloe Jacobs is a native of nowhere and everywhere, having jumped around to practically every Province of Canada before finally settling in Ontario where she has now been living for a respectable number of years. Her husband and son are the two best people in the entire world, but they also make her wish she'd at least gotten a female cat. No such luck. And although the day job keeps her busy, she carves out as much time as possible to write. Bringing new characters to life and finding out what makes them tick and how badly she can make them suffer is one of her greatest pleasures, almost better than chocolate and fuzzy pink bunny slippers.

 

 

Meet Chloe's new book!

Greta and the Lost Army (Mylena Chronicles #3)

By: Chloe Jacobs

Release Date: February 1, 2016

About the book:

After spending the last four years trapped in a place of monsters, demons, and magick, the last thing the fierce teenage bounty hunter Greta expected was to ever be back on Earth. But a rare opportunity gives her and the Goblin King Isaac the opportunity to do just that. Now she’s home. With a boy in tow. And her parents have lots of questions.


Although Greta finally has her heart’s deepest wish—to see her family again—every step she takes to reconnect with them drives her further away from Isaac. Greta and Isaac planned for her to return to Mylena and become his queen, but she’s not sure if she can go back to that harsh world, though staying on Earth means giving up the boy she loves.

But a powerful enemy refuses to let Greta escape. A demon who will stop at nothing to destroy her and everything she loves. Even if it means following her to Earth and forcing her to face a fate as unavoidable as love itself.

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner who will receive their choice of a digital copy of Greta and the Goblin King (Mylena Chronicles, #1), Greta and the Glass Kingdom (Mylena Chronicles, #2), or Greta and the Lost Army (Mylena Chronicles, #3) + a special, secret gift from David's Tea (DavidsTea.com). US and Canada only.

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Spotlight on The Cure by Tania Hagan, Plus Giveawa...
The Librarian's Corner--February 22, 2016
 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
john rodgers on Wednesday, 16 March 2016 17:18

i hope i win this

0
i hope i win this

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."