Waiting on Wednesday ~ September 22, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by

Jill at Breaking the Spine

and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

 

 

*Lillian’s Choice*

(YABC Indie Co-Manager)

  The Beast: A Beauty and the Beast Retelling

Author: Frost Kay

Expected publication: September 30, 2021

Making deals with the devil is never wise.

Living on the outskirts of society taught Thorn three vital lessons. Money and beauty bought everything, people were obsessed with treasure, and no one returned from the beast's territory.

No one, but Thorn.

When she's commissioned to retrieve a special flower from deep within the mountains, she knows it's a bad idea to tempt fate again, but is left with little choice when she's blackmailed into accepting the job.

It was supposed to be a simple extraction.

Ambushed and captured by the cursed dragon she hoped to avoid, the cloaked shifter gives her two choices. Play his wicked game or pay for her transgressions in blood. Despite the way his deep voice sends shivers down her spine, or the way he seems to soften toward her, she knows there's only one way their games will end.

Blood would be spilled, just not her own.

Enter the world of the Twisted Kingdoms at your own risk where monsters wear pretty masks, good and evil are at war, and fairy tales don't exist. If you love fiery heroines, sexy villains, enemies-to-lovers romance, pulse-pounding action, mafia undertones, and dark fairy tales, you need to discover the new series readers are comparing to Holly Blacks's Cruel Prince and Jennifer L. Armentrout's A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire.

 

 

*Connie's Choice*

(YABC Site Manager)

  Only a Monster

 

Author: Vanessa Len

Publication date: February 22, 2022

The sweeping romance of Passenger meets the dark fantasy edge of This Savage Song in this stunning contemporary fantasy debut from Vanessa Len, where the line between monster and hero is razor thin.

Don’t forget the rule. No one can know what you are. What we are. You must never tell anyone about monsters.

Joan has just learned the truth: her family are monsters, with terrifying, hidden powers.

And the cute boy at work isn’t just a boy: he’s a legendary monster slayer, who will do anything to destroy her family.

To save herself and her family, Joan will have to do what she fears most: embrace her own monstrousness. Because in this story…she is not the hero.

Dive deep into the world of Only a Monster: hidden worlds dwell in the shadows, beautiful monsters with untold powers walk among humans, and secrets are the most powerful weapon of all.

 

 

*Jan’s Choice*

(YABC Staff Reviewer)

  Heart of the Impaler

Author: Alexander Delacroix

Expected publication: December 7, 2021

Alexander Delacroix's darkly romantic debut Heart of the Impaler is perfect for fans of Kiersten White's And I Darken.

Vlad Dracula has long lived in the shadows cast by his bloodthirsty father, the voivode, and his older brother, Mircea. Despite their cruelty, Vlad has yearned to prove himself worthy of the throne his whole life. In the cold halls of the voivode's palace, Vlad can only rely on his cousin and closest friend, Andrei Musat.

When Vlad and Andrei meet Ilona Csáki, the daughter of an influential boyar, they each find themselves inextricably drawn to her. But then Ilona is betrothed to Mircea as part of a political alliance, and Vlad's resentfulness of his brother begins to seethe into something far darker.

Ilona has no desire to marry the voivode’s eldest son, but love and marriage are the least of her worries. The royal family’s enemies have already tried to put an arrow through her back―and if anyone discovers her blossoming feelings for Andrei and Vlad, she may just wish they’d succeeded.

Beneath the shadow of impending war, the only battle that will be deadlier than the one for Ilona’s life will be the one for her heart. 

 

 

What book are you looking forward to in 2021?

Comment the name of the book below!

Giveaway: The Wishing Tree (Meika Hashimoto) ~ US ...
Rockstar Book Tours: Excerpt & Giveaway ~ Remnants...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment