Waiting On Wednesday

Waiting On Wednesday

 

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at
and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

 

 

 

 

Kayla's choice for Waiting On Wednesday

(Blog Manager for YABC)

A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT by Sabaa Tahir

 

25716704

Author: Sabaa Tahir

Book: Hardcover464 pages

Expected publication: August 30th 2016

Publisher: HarperVoyager

A Torch Against the Night takes readers into the heart of the Empire as Laia and Elias fight their way north to liberate Laia’s brother from the horrors of Kauf Prison. Hunted by Empire soldiers, manipulated by the Commandant, and haunted by their pasts, Laia and Elias must outfox their enemies and confront the treacherousness of their own hearts.

In the city of Serra, Helene Aquilla finds herself bound to the will of the Empire’s twisted new leader, Marcus. When her loyalty is questioned, Helene finds herself taking on a mission to prove herself—a mission that might destroy her, instead.

 

Why Kayla chose A Torch Against The Night:

The sequel to An Ember in the Ashes. That's right, a continuation of this fantastic series!! When I read last year that this was meant to be a standalone I felt it all: rage, sadness, anxiety--what would happen to my favorite character? And then we were promised more. With a knack for building extraordinary worlds and characters, I can't wait to see where Sabaa Tahir takes this story. 

 

 

Nanouk's choice for Waiting On Wednesday

(Staff Reviewer for YABC)

THE LAST STAR by Rick Yancey

 

16131489

 

Author: Rick Yancey

Book: Hardcover, 352 pages

Expected publication: May 24th, 2016

Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
 

The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

'Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times

We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.

Master storyteller Rick Yancey invokes triumph, loss, and unrelenting action as the fate of the planet is decided in the conclusion to this epic series.

 

Why Nanouk chose The Last Star:

Because the first two books were super exciting and there are so many things left to be resolved in the final installment of this trilogy! I can't wait to find out how Cassie is going to, you know, 'save the world' from the aliens. SO EXCITED!

 

 

Beth's choice for Waiting On Wednesday

(Assistant Blog Manager for YABC)

A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING by Jessica Cluess

 

23203252

 

Author: Jessica Cluess

Book: Hardcover, 416 pages

Expected publication: September 20th, 2016

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

 

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. 
Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she's shocked when instead of being executed, she's invited to train as one of Her Majesty's royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one.
As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city--and the one she loves?

Exhilarating and gripping, Jessica Cluess's spellbinding fantasy introduces Henrietta Howel, a powerful, unforgettable heroine, and an entertaining world filled with magic, monsters, and mayhem.

 

Why Beth chose A Shadow Bright and Burning:

When I first read the synopsis for A Shadow Bright and Burning I immediately knew that I couldn't wait to read this amazing book! I mean magic, suspense, and fantasy all mixed into one thrilling book?? Yep, this book is for me! I read where some people were comparing it to Harry Potter with all the magic involved in the story and this just made me want to stand up and yell, YEAH!!!!!! Really looking forward to this amazing book!!

 

 

 

YA Books Central

Author Chat with Darcy Woods
Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Young Adult Fantasy Book...
 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

American Betiya
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first...
The Story Blanket
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Babba Zarrah lives in a tiny village in the snow-covered...
Now That Night is Near
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's bedtime, and across the land everyone is settling down...
Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With heart-shaped lift-the-flaps and a surprise mirror at the end,...
Calm Bunny (Yoga Tots)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charming illustrations and step-by-step instructions take little ones through a...
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The differences between Bertram and his neighbor Alan were never...
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love to press the soft, silicone buttons on...
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Step into an opulent world filled with risk, romance, and...
Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...

Latest Member Reviews

American Betiya
 
5.0
"AMERICAN BETIYA is a breathtaking contemporary read about identity, family, and racism. Rani is an Indian American with dreams of..."
The Story Blanket
 
5.0
"‘The Story Blanket’ by Ferida Wolff and Harriet May Savitz, illustrated by Elena Odriozola, is the story of Babba Zarrah,..."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
" The Story: Willow is a figure skater who has been sidelined from her team by an injury...."
Now That Night is Near
 
4.0
"NOW THAT NIGHT IS NEAR is a lovely poem in a picture book about going to sleep. A cat travels..."
Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
"MOMMY LOVES YOU is a sweet board book of love between mother and child. The book features mother and baby..."
Calm Bunny (Yoga Tots)
 
4.0
"CALM BUNNY is a colorful board book that walks young children through some simple yoga poses to help promote focus..."
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
"THE PROBLEM WITH PIERRE is a sweet picture book about a picky cat, good friends, and problem-solving. Bertram and Alan..."
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
"NOISY TRACTOR is a cute board book with an interactive element that presents some farm-themed basics. Each page features some..."
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
"RAVAGE THE DARK is a satisfying conclusion to a YA fantasy duology. In this sequel, we begin with Cayo, Amaya,..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"One day, Thirteen-year-old Anamaria has an encounter from Thirty, a strange woman who insists she's from the future...."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."