Trailer Reveal: Sorcery for Beginners by Matt Harry

sorcery-for-beginners

Today we're excited to share the book trailer for Matt Harry's book, Sorcery for Beginners!

 

 

 
 And here's more about Sorcery for Beginners!
 

All Owen Macready wants is to be an average eighth grader. Then his mom goes to Africa to find herself, his dad moves him to Las Vegas, and Owen discovers an easy-to-understand guide to magic that actually works.  

But when he uses sorcery against a school bully, a chain of events is set in motion that will make Owen the target of a ruthless millionaire, get his father arrested, and possibly upend the natural order of the entire world. No pressure.

SORCERY FOR BEGINNERS is a middle-grade fantasy novel that deals with magic in the Internet Age. It is the first in a proposed series that will explain ancient, complicated topics such as spell casting, alchemy, and cryptozoology to the modern young person in an exciting way. Part novel, part “For Dummies” help guide, and every bit a fun, fast-paced adventure, SORCERY FOR BEGINNERS will appeal to fans of J.K. Rowling, Rick Riordan, and anyone who ever wanted to be a sorcerer, but didn’t want to do a bunch of hard, boring work. 

To order Sorcery for Beginners, click HERE!

 

 

More about the author, Matt Harry!

I have been writing since I was a middle grader myself. In 2001, I graduated from USC’s School of Cinematic Arts with an MFA in Film Production. I have sold and optioned screenplays to production companies, and my work has received accolades from the FOX Comedy Script Contest, the Austin Film Festival, and the prestigious Nicholl Fellowships. In 2010, I wrote and produced a feature-length movie called Fugue that won Best Horror Film at the Mississippi International Film Festival. I have also written articles for the Cleveland Plain Dealer, the Akron Beacon-Journal, and the textbook Elements of LiteratureSORCERY FOR BEGINNERS is my first novel.

Blog Tour: The Long Ride Home by Tawni Waters, Plu...
It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Uncrossing (Melissa ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Welcome to New York: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Engine That Could is on the move and...
Be a Tree!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical, gorgeously illustrated look at the majesty of trees—and...
Gearbreakers (Gearbreakers, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're...
The Story King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic has been reset in the Sunlit Lands, and the...
In A Flash
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A riveting and dramatic story of two devoted sisters, Italian...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tonight, seventeen-year-old Evalee is scheduled to die. ...
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Engine That Could is on the move and...
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to the Alpactory! These wacky alpacas are here to...
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the joys of learning to share in this exuberant...
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Westworld meets Warcross in this high-stakes, dizzyingly smart sci-fi about...
If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...

Latest Member Reviews

Welcome to New York: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO NEW YORK is a delightful board book adventure with the Little Engine that Could, as she heads to..."
Be a Tree!
 
3.5
"BE A TREE! is an intriguing picture book that compares people to trees. This extended metaphor compared the ways that..."
Gearbreakers (Gearbreakers, #1)
 
4.0
"GEARBREAKERS is a thrilling YA sci-fi/dystopian read. Godolia rules with an iron fist, using modified humans as their weapons to..."
In A Flash
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set in WWII where two Italian sisters survive after being forced into a Japanese internment camp..."
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is an adorable Little Engine book that takes the reader on a trip through some of the..."
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
"THE ALPACTORY: READY, PACK, GO! is a cute picture book about preparedness. The book starts with three animals who are..."
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
"I LIKE TO SHARE! is a simple board book about kindness and friendship. The book is told in a few..."
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
"THE INFINITY COURTS is a stunning and dazzling YA fantasy about morality, humanity, and the afterlife. Nami is truly excited..."
If Only...
 
4.0
"IF ONLY... is an intriguing picture book that ultimately encourages readers to be happy with who they are. The book..."
Like a Giant
 
4.0
"LIKE A GIANT is an intriguing picture book about imagination and play. A young child is approached by a giant,..."
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
"A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS CARROS/ROSA LOVES CAR is a delightful, bilingual board book about toy cars. Rosa and her..."
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
"THE DUCK WHO DIDN'T LIKE WATER is a delightful picture book about friendship and kindness. Duck is not a fan..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
Forest of the Fae (The Balloonist Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"Such a fascinating series. The Story: Once again, we're following two different stories, that..."
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
4.5
"This book took me a bit longer to get into than the other ones. I think I was having a..."
All Last Summer
 
5.0
" A refreshing and sweet story. The story: Lila is trying to..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.7
"What worked: Unique coming-of-age story that tackles grief and tragedy. Told through the eyes of six teens, this story starts..."
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE LLAMA is a charming picture book story about friendship. Little Llama lives with her herd high in the..."
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
"THE BOY AND THE SEA is a beautiful story about growing up, dreaming, and peace. The boy brings his questions..."
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
"IN YOUR BED is a cute board book containing a poem about bedtime. The book captures elements of bedtime, such..."