Top 5 Experiences That Inadvertently Prepared KC Held to Write HOLDING COURT, Plus Giveaway!

Top 5 Experiences That Inadvertently Prepared KC Held to Write HOLDING COURT, Plus Giveaway!

 

1. I spent a summer working in a castle.

In college I had a summer internship in textile conservation at Hearst Castle in San Simeon, California. I also wrote my senior thesis on the castle’s decorative arts collection, so when I wasn’t working on restoring medieval tapestries I got to explore the castle. 

 

 

2. I dressed up like a nun.

When I was in 8th grade my school put on a production of The Sound of Music. I was hoping to play Louisa but I was taller than pretty much everyone, including Captain Von Trapp, and I’m a terrible singer, so I got to be a nun instead. 

 

 

 

3. I got tasered.

I was working as an assistant to a police commander and my office mate, Jodi, and I heard they were doing taser testing down the hall so we decided to go check it out. The sergeant in charge asked for volunteers to be tasered and Jodi and I raised our hands. And they tasered us. 

 

4. I worked in a costume shop.

Several, in fact. I helped create garments ranging from Civil War dresses for a movie of the week starring Angelina Jolie, to vampire ninja mafia suits for a big budget action flick, to gowns requiring so many sequins I walked around shedding sparkly bits for weeks. 

 

 

5. I fell in love with a boy who looked really good in tights.

They were spandex athletic tights, not Renaissance‐style leggings but still, he looked really good in them. 

 

 

 

Now meet Holding Court!

Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her new job at castle-turned-dinner-theater Tudor Times. Some extra cash, wearing a fancy-pants dress, and plenty of time to secretly drool over the ever-so-tasty--and completely unavailable--Grayson Chandler. Except that it's not quite what she imagined.For one, the costume Jules has to wear is awful. Then there's the dead body she finds that just kind of...well, disappears. Oh, and there's the small issue of Jules and her episodes of what her best friend calls "Psychic Tourette's Syndrome"--spontaneous and uncontrollable outbursts of seemingly absurd prophecies.The only bright side? This whole dead body thing seems to have gotten Grayson's attention. Except that the more Jules investigates, the more she discovers that Grayson's interest might not be as courtly as she thought. In fact, it's starting to look suspicious...

 

 

Meet K.C. Held!

K.C. HELD was born and raised in California with stopovers in Honduras, Mexico, and France. Married to her high school sweetheart, and mom to two avid bookworms, she holds an MFA in costume design and has worked as a freelance costumer in opera, theater, film and television. K.C. is represented by Kathleen Rushall at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency. Her debut young adult novel, HOLDING COURT, will be published by Entangled Teen on March 1, 2016. 

 

 

 

 

Holding Court

By: K.C. Held

Release Date: March 1, 2016 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a Holding Court Swag Pack (US only).

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway: Great Falls by Steve Watkins (US & Canad...
It's Live!! Cover Reveal: How to Make Out by Brian...
 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Kaitlin Gillespie on Monday, 28 March 2016 15:41

I loved hearing about your 5 experiences. It was hilarious and I want to hear more about them. (Did getting tasered hurt really bad?)

I can't wait to read this book. It sounds hilarious but very mysterious at the same time.

1
I loved hearing about your 5 experiences. It was hilarious and I want to hear more about them. (Did getting tasered hurt really bad?) I can't wait to read this book. It sounds hilarious but very mysterious at the same time.
K.C. Held on Monday, 18 April 2016 12:46

Thanks, Kaitlin! Getting tasered was definitely a shocking experience.

1
Thanks, Kaitlin! Getting tasered was definitely a shocking experience. ;)
alyssa on Saturday, 02 April 2016 16:28

This book seems soooooooooo funny! and the experiences are funny too! I truly related to working in a castle (well i worked next to a fake castle). I feel like i would laugh a lot when i read this book!

1
This book seems soooooooooo funny! :D and the experiences are funny too! I truly related to working in a castle (well i worked next to a fake castle). I feel like i would laugh a lot when i read this book!
Emily on Thursday, 07 April 2016 15:39

this book looks really funny and I love the cover!

1
this book looks really funny and I love the cover!
stephanie bondlow on Sunday, 10 April 2016 04:59

That was a fun description! The cover is great, and I can't wait to read this fun book!

1
That was a fun description! The cover is great, and I can't wait to read this fun book!
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 15 April 2016 19:41

I love her inspiration and I would also love to live in a castle. I am also in love with Farm Boy!

1
I love her inspiration and I would also love to live in a castle. I am also in love with Farm Boy!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."