Throwback Thursday: Rainbow Rowell

Throwback Thursday: Rainbow Rowell

*Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager & Staff Reviewer*

 

Nostalgia is a fickle friend, finding us when we least expect it. Such a thing happened recently when I returned to New Hampshire for my friends' graduation. I got to thinking about all of the trips back and forth between my home and my mountains. And in doing so, I tried to remember how I'd returned from my first residency. It was back in January 2014 when the snow storm, "Hercules," left many of my peers stranded in Manchester, major highways closed, planes grounded. I took the bus for the first time for five hours to Vermont, and it was freezing, and a long journey, but I had Eleanor and Park. 

 

 

Thinking about this brought back all of my memoies of Rainbow Rowell's books, and I realized, every time I read one of her books, I'd listened to the audiobook first. That bus trip with Park and Eleanor and The Smiths and Watchmen was my introduction to the world of audiobooks. And let's be real, I was completely spoiled by the beauty of this book: both the writing and narration. The nostalgia of this moment and all it encompassesed flooded through me on my trip back home some two and a half years later, and I missed that first read, that first audiobook; the first time Rainbow Rowell broke my heart. 

 

Now there are certain authors who offer different things with their books, and I often reread them to find those things again. In many (if not all) of Rainbow Rowell's books, you will be sure to find charcaters who feel real: flawed and weird and perfect in their imperfections. And these characters will break your heart with their authenticity. 

 

Eleanor and Park is the book that made my sister a reader, so I feel a debt to this book, and a connection because of the storm and the bus ride and graduate school. And when some months later I queued up Fangirl for my long car ride to Myrtle Beach, I fell in love once again. Spoiled by the same voice who reads for Eleanor, I fell in love with Cath. Rebecca Lowman (who also narrates Landline) has a softness that sort of breaks you when she reads Rainbow's words. It makes you pay attention to them. 

 

As a fangirl myself, and Potterhead, I adored Cath and the other characters within Fangirl. I remembered feeling shy and anxious in my first year of college, rereading Harry Potter to feel better, just as Cath uses Simon Snow (yes, I know I need to finish Carry On) in the same way. And for this I will always feel nostalgic. 

 

  

 

The final Rainbow Rowell book I listened to was Landline. Though this is not technically YA, there are moments from the characters' past, which show Georgie and Neal in their youth, and it's just as real and adorable as her YA books. I feel a strongest kinship and nostalgic ache for this novel in part because it was my most recent read, in part because this novel played at some of my own current fears in life. Once again, I listened to Rebecca Lowman narrate this stunning book. This time, however, I had to purchase the book and immediately reread it because the words were just too beautiful, and I wanted to keep them. 

 

 

With heartbreak, love, friendship, life, and a touch of magical realism, Landline still has me thinking. And some days, it is critically, most, nostalgically. Rainbow Rowell has a way of taking even the smallest moments: sharing comics and secrets, reading a book together, long chats on old phones, etc. and she makes them feel like everything. And maybe this is what I still love, what I find myself looking for in other books, and in life; an attention to the small moments in life that pass us by, the perfect minutes we look back and remember because they are fleeting and shouldn't exist. 

 

And for this, I will always be grateful for Rainbow Rowell and her novels. 

And for this, I will think back longingly to the first listens, the second reads; the characters and stories still so real in my mind.

Five Books to Read If You Love...Independence Day:...
Featured Review: And I Darken by Kiersten White

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."