Throwback Thursday: Rainbow Rowell

Throwback Thursday: Rainbow Rowell

*Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager & Staff Reviewer*

 

Nostalgia is a fickle friend, finding us when we least expect it. Such a thing happened recently when I returned to New Hampshire for my friends' graduation. I got to thinking about all of the trips back and forth between my home and my mountains. And in doing so, I tried to remember how I'd returned from my first residency. It was back in January 2014 when the snow storm, "Hercules," left many of my peers stranded in Manchester, major highways closed, planes grounded. I took the bus for the first time for five hours to Vermont, and it was freezing, and a long journey, but I had Eleanor and Park. 

 

 

Thinking about this brought back all of my memoies of Rainbow Rowell's books, and I realized, every time I read one of her books, I'd listened to the audiobook first. That bus trip with Park and Eleanor and The Smiths and Watchmen was my introduction to the world of audiobooks. And let's be real, I was completely spoiled by the beauty of this book: both the writing and narration. The nostalgia of this moment and all it encompassesed flooded through me on my trip back home some two and a half years later, and I missed that first read, that first audiobook; the first time Rainbow Rowell broke my heart. 

 

Now there are certain authors who offer different things with their books, and I often reread them to find those things again. In many (if not all) of Rainbow Rowell's books, you will be sure to find charcaters who feel real: flawed and weird and perfect in their imperfections. And these characters will break your heart with their authenticity. 

 

Eleanor and Park is the book that made my sister a reader, so I feel a debt to this book, and a connection because of the storm and the bus ride and graduate school. And when some months later I queued up Fangirl for my long car ride to Myrtle Beach, I fell in love once again. Spoiled by the same voice who reads for Eleanor, I fell in love with Cath. Rebecca Lowman (who also narrates Landline) has a softness that sort of breaks you when she reads Rainbow's words. It makes you pay attention to them. 

 

As a fangirl myself, and Potterhead, I adored Cath and the other characters within Fangirl. I remembered feeling shy and anxious in my first year of college, rereading Harry Potter to feel better, just as Cath uses Simon Snow (yes, I know I need to finish Carry On) in the same way. And for this I will always feel nostalgic. 

 

  

 

The final Rainbow Rowell book I listened to was Landline. Though this is not technically YA, there are moments from the characters' past, which show Georgie and Neal in their youth, and it's just as real and adorable as her YA books. I feel a strongest kinship and nostalgic ache for this novel in part because it was my most recent read, in part because this novel played at some of my own current fears in life. Once again, I listened to Rebecca Lowman narrate this stunning book. This time, however, I had to purchase the book and immediately reread it because the words were just too beautiful, and I wanted to keep them. 

 

 

With heartbreak, love, friendship, life, and a touch of magical realism, Landline still has me thinking. And some days, it is critically, most, nostalgically. Rainbow Rowell has a way of taking even the smallest moments: sharing comics and secrets, reading a book together, long chats on old phones, etc. and she makes them feel like everything. And maybe this is what I still love, what I find myself looking for in other books, and in life; an attention to the small moments in life that pass us by, the perfect minutes we look back and remember because they are fleeting and shouldn't exist. 

 

And for this, I will always be grateful for Rainbow Rowell and her novels. 

And for this, I will think back longingly to the first listens, the second reads; the characters and stories still so real in my mind.

Five Books to Read If You Love...Independence Day:...
Featured Review: And I Darken by Kiersten White

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."