The Librarian's Corner--September 21, 2015

The Librarian's Corner--September 21, 2015

 

September is National Suicide Prevention Month, and so I'd like to feature some YA Fiction books that have suicide as a major theme. These books can be used by librarians and teachers in a display, or as bibliotherapy for teens they know. While each of these books might not be for everyone, they provide a good sample of contemporary YA fiction dealing with suicide, and making these books available to teens is so important. 

 

 

 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

 

 

Finch and Violet discover each other at just the right time. It isn't clear who saves who, but it's obvious that they can affect each other deeply. Violet is living for the future, while Find is fascinated with ways to die. This deeply emotional book will appeal to fans of Jay Asher, John Green, and Rainbow Rowell. 

 

 

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

 

 

Ultimately a story of strong, bright *hope*, MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES by Jasmine Warga is one of my favorite books of the year. It deals with suicide and depression in a very honest, straightforward way. There is no cutting corners or talking around the issues. I highly recommend this book for teens struggling with depression or suicidal thoughts. They will be strengthened by following Aysel's journey and finding hope at the end of the story. 

 

 

Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

 

 

Sam's best friend Hayden left him nothing but a playlist and a note - Listen and you'll understand. Sam has to remember everything he can about Hayden, but he realizes his memory isn't always reliable - sometimes you have to open your eyes and take in what's really happening all around you to really understand yourself and others. A heart-wrenching story that's ultimately a strong quest for hope, when hope seems like the last thing you can find. 

 

 

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

 

 

Why did Liz Emerson give up and decide the world would be a better place without her? A beautifully written novel told in a unique point of view, FALLING INTO PLACE shows how one person affects the rest of the world around her, and how she is in turn affected by it. Dark, poetic, emotional, this isn't a story for everyone, but when that one person finds it they'll be changed forever. 

 

 

Escape Theory by Margaux Froley

 

 

A thrilling romance set in a boarding school on the Pacific coast, ESCAPE THEORY tells the story of the suicide of the school's most popular student and the affect it has on his friends, and the girl who has fallen in love with him. Secrets and hidden emotions are revealed to tell the true story of a boy who shouldn't have died, and a girl who shouldn't love him.  

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_eden-grey-pic.jpg

Eden Grey is the Young Adult Programming Librarian at the Erlanger branch of the Kenton County Public Library system, the busiest branch library in the state of Kentucky. Eden is a contributor to Teen Services Underground, and reviews books for YABC and School Library Journal. When she is not herding cats -ahem, teens- at the library, Eden can be found reading, knitting, sewing, cosplaying, and playing Pokemon. You can always find her on Twitter (@edyngrey), and Blogging Between the Lines

Author Chat with Julie Murphy
Giveaway: Taming Tigers by Daisy White (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...

Latest Member Reviews

Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
"NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."