The Librarian's Corner--September 21, 2015

The Librarian's Corner--September 21, 2015

 

September is National Suicide Prevention Month, and so I'd like to feature some YA Fiction books that have suicide as a major theme. These books can be used by librarians and teachers in a display, or as bibliotherapy for teens they know. While each of these books might not be for everyone, they provide a good sample of contemporary YA fiction dealing with suicide, and making these books available to teens is so important. 

 

 

 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

 

 

Finch and Violet discover each other at just the right time. It isn't clear who saves who, but it's obvious that they can affect each other deeply. Violet is living for the future, while Find is fascinated with ways to die. This deeply emotional book will appeal to fans of Jay Asher, John Green, and Rainbow Rowell. 

 

 

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

 

 

Ultimately a story of strong, bright *hope*, MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES by Jasmine Warga is one of my favorite books of the year. It deals with suicide and depression in a very honest, straightforward way. There is no cutting corners or talking around the issues. I highly recommend this book for teens struggling with depression or suicidal thoughts. They will be strengthened by following Aysel's journey and finding hope at the end of the story. 

 

 

Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

 

 

Sam's best friend Hayden left him nothing but a playlist and a note - Listen and you'll understand. Sam has to remember everything he can about Hayden, but he realizes his memory isn't always reliable - sometimes you have to open your eyes and take in what's really happening all around you to really understand yourself and others. A heart-wrenching story that's ultimately a strong quest for hope, when hope seems like the last thing you can find. 

 

 

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

 

 

Why did Liz Emerson give up and decide the world would be a better place without her? A beautifully written novel told in a unique point of view, FALLING INTO PLACE shows how one person affects the rest of the world around her, and how she is in turn affected by it. Dark, poetic, emotional, this isn't a story for everyone, but when that one person finds it they'll be changed forever. 

 

 

Escape Theory by Margaux Froley

 

 

A thrilling romance set in a boarding school on the Pacific coast, ESCAPE THEORY tells the story of the suicide of the school's most popular student and the affect it has on his friends, and the girl who has fallen in love with him. Secrets and hidden emotions are revealed to tell the true story of a boy who shouldn't have died, and a girl who shouldn't love him.  

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_eden-grey-pic.jpg

Eden Grey is the Young Adult Programming Librarian at the Erlanger branch of the Kenton County Public Library system, the busiest branch library in the state of Kentucky. Eden is a contributor to Teen Services Underground, and reviews books for YABC and School Library Journal. When she is not herding cats -ahem, teens- at the library, Eden can be found reading, knitting, sewing, cosplaying, and playing Pokemon. You can always find her on Twitter (@edyngrey), and Blogging Between the Lines

Author Chat with Julie Murphy
Giveaway: Taming Tigers by Daisy White (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There's something unusual about Pamela Isley--the girl who hides behind...
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the thrilling voice of Sacha Wunsch comes a heart-stopping...
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
RENEE: I was ten years old then, and my sister...
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2,700 stickers for every mood! ...
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ready, set, off we go! ...
Sugar and Spite
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jolina can't take Claudine's bullying any longer! The taunts and...
Leaving England
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometime around now an unnamed virus has laid London and...
Top Choice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A female-run society. An ambitious girl driven to become its’...
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
Heart Fire
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the realm of Ryuu within the snow...
When Jackie Hit The Road
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Jackie planned for every situation on her solo road-trip...
Starvation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green meets Laurie Halse Anderson in this award-winning, "haunting,"...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...

Latest Member Reviews

Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
"What worked: This haunting memoir is about two young sisters who helped each other survive the Holocaust. Both of the..."
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
"SO. MANY. FEELINGS STICKERS is a fantastic and fun collection of stickers around emotions. With 2,700 stickers, it is difficult..."
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
"HI-FIVE FARM! is an adorable board book adventure with opposites and hi-fives aplenty. The book features many barnyard animals offering..."
Sugar and Spite
 
4.0
"Jolina and her family have moved from Manila to the small island of Isla Pag-Ibig. After the death of her..."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
5.0
"I've been looking forward to this nonfiction book since at least 2009, when The Rock and the River came out,..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."