The Librarian's Corner--September 21, 2015

The Librarian's Corner--September 21, 2015

 

September is National Suicide Prevention Month, and so I'd like to feature some YA Fiction books that have suicide as a major theme. These books can be used by librarians and teachers in a display, or as bibliotherapy for teens they know. While each of these books might not be for everyone, they provide a good sample of contemporary YA fiction dealing with suicide, and making these books available to teens is so important. 

 

 

 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

 

 

Finch and Violet discover each other at just the right time. It isn't clear who saves who, but it's obvious that they can affect each other deeply. Violet is living for the future, while Find is fascinated with ways to die. This deeply emotional book will appeal to fans of Jay Asher, John Green, and Rainbow Rowell. 

 

 

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

 

 

Ultimately a story of strong, bright *hope*, MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES by Jasmine Warga is one of my favorite books of the year. It deals with suicide and depression in a very honest, straightforward way. There is no cutting corners or talking around the issues. I highly recommend this book for teens struggling with depression or suicidal thoughts. They will be strengthened by following Aysel's journey and finding hope at the end of the story. 

 

 

Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

 

 

Sam's best friend Hayden left him nothing but a playlist and a note - Listen and you'll understand. Sam has to remember everything he can about Hayden, but he realizes his memory isn't always reliable - sometimes you have to open your eyes and take in what's really happening all around you to really understand yourself and others. A heart-wrenching story that's ultimately a strong quest for hope, when hope seems like the last thing you can find. 

 

 

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

 

 

Why did Liz Emerson give up and decide the world would be a better place without her? A beautifully written novel told in a unique point of view, FALLING INTO PLACE shows how one person affects the rest of the world around her, and how she is in turn affected by it. Dark, poetic, emotional, this isn't a story for everyone, but when that one person finds it they'll be changed forever. 

 

 

Escape Theory by Margaux Froley

 

 

A thrilling romance set in a boarding school on the Pacific coast, ESCAPE THEORY tells the story of the suicide of the school's most popular student and the affect it has on his friends, and the girl who has fallen in love with him. Secrets and hidden emotions are revealed to tell the true story of a boy who shouldn't have died, and a girl who shouldn't love him.  

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_eden-grey-pic.jpg

Eden Grey is the Young Adult Programming Librarian at the Erlanger branch of the Kenton County Public Library system, the busiest branch library in the state of Kentucky. Eden is a contributor to Teen Services Underground, and reviews books for YABC and School Library Journal. When she is not herding cats -ahem, teens- at the library, Eden can be found reading, knitting, sewing, cosplaying, and playing Pokemon. You can always find her on Twitter (@edyngrey), and Blogging Between the Lines

Author Chat with Julie Murphy
Giveaway: Taming Tigers by Daisy White (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Gotham City is filled with stories--of heroes and of villains,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With Joanie Stone's colorful illustrations and Allison Crotzer Kimmel's inspirational...
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The high price of perfection is one 'Perfect' Parker Fadley...
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed and heartwarming story of a dog in the...
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A feisty little girl learns who the real monsters are...
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mischief is multiplied when twins are around! ...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to the...
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and...
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first title in a new series featuring a lovable,...
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second title in a humorous series featuring a charming,...
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Having defeated the Garr, a vicious tree monster who lived...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The...
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Helen Keller was a baby, she became sick and...
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery....
Doodleville
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Drew is just a regular artist. But there's nothing ordinary...
Glitch
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new...

Latest Member Reviews

Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March's novel LITTLE WOMEN has done well. Her publisher and readers want a sequel. Only Jo's having a hard..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
"BO THE BRAVE is a delightful story about courage and not judging others too quickly. Bo lives with her brothers,..."
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
"DOUBLE TROUBLE! features twins, Ellis and Erin, who are looking for trouble. They search all over the house, in the..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
"Kenzie and her best friend Shelley love roller derby, a sport in which they are interested because Kenzie's mother is..."
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
"Nina is nine years old, and struggling with several things. Her father has to spend his week working away from..."
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
"After Nina Soni, Former Best Friend, Nina is back, and this time is concerned that her little sister is a..."
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker and their father Charles are getting settled into Watch Hollow after their harrowing introduction to it..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
"Born in 1880, Helen Keller is famous for her persistent nature, but since she died over sixty years ago, she..."
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
"King's friend Thor is in big trouble. His owner, Jillian, got a call from the grumpy Mr. Gary that Thor..."
Doodleville
 
4.5
"Drew loves to draw, and has a notebook full of doodles with whom she interacts. When she takes her sketch..."
Glitch
 
4.0
"Regan has been identified as someone who has the ability to "glitch", or travel through time, and is a student..."
Storm Dog
 
4.0
"Ariel has a difficult home life in her Blue Ridge Mountain home in Virginia. It's not because of economics; her..."