The Librarian's Corner - July 2015

The Librarian's Corner - July 2015
Non-Fiction Books on Stress & Mental Health
 
Good non-fiction books that are the right length and content level for your teen collection are always hard to find. With this in mind I wanted to share 5 of the best non-fiction books on mental health and stress that are in my YA Collection. For a list of YA fiction books that deal with issues of mental health and psychological disorders, check out this list on TSU. 
 
 
 
 
Heads Up Psychology is a guidebook to the general field of Psychology, Marcus Weeks' user-friendly "heads Up" non-fiction series are great, visually appealing non-fiction books. Perfect for a YA collection due to their unusual format combined with high school and college level content, the Heads Up series, especially the Psychology book, is a must-have for every school and public librarian's collection. 
 
 
 
 
Mental Health Information for Teens, Fourth Edition is the most updated version of the Omnigraphics series of "Health Information for Teens" books on Mental Health, this is another must-have for every YA collection. These books are veritable libraries in themselves, with an encyclopedic scope on mental health topics. If there is one book you can buy about mental health for your teen collection, this should be it. 
 
 
 
 
Beyond the Blues: A Workbook to Help Teens Overcome Depression is one of many workbooks for teens to use to inderstand and cope with a variety of mental health issues, the Beyond the Blues depression workbook is a great practical guide for youth with depression. It features many interactive activities and prompts to help the reader understand themselves and their issues, combined with a wealth of information and also some coping strategies. Due to the "fill-in-the-blank" style of most of the activities is might not be the perfect format of book for every library, but I think it's worth having despite the risk of getting the book returned filled with notes and scribbles. 
 
 
 
 
Chill: Stress-Reducing Techniques for a More Balanced, Peaceful You has a very practical format in which each chapter introduces and explains an issue, such as organization and saying no, then gives techniques for understanding how that issues affects you, and finally strategies for coping with that issue to improve your well-being. This book features a casual tone and easy-to-read style that teens can relate to and find interesting. 
 
 
 
 
Freaking Out: Real Life Stories About Anxiety, is relatable, interesting, and very real. Each story ends with concluding remarks about that person's issue - whether the issue was resolved, they lived happily ever after, or are still coping with their issue, the reader still gets the end of the story, and there is always hope. With its appealing cover and format that lends itself to readers just flipping it open to a random story, this book could help a lot of teens and young adults feel better about their anxiety. 
 
 
 
b2ap3_thumbnail_eden-grey-pic.jpg
 
Eden Grey is the Young Adult Programming Librarian at the Erlanger branch of the Kenton County Public Library system, the busiest branch library in the state of Kentucky. Eden is a contributor to Teen Services Underground, and reviews books for YABC and School Library Journal. When she is not herding cats -ahem, teens- at the library, Eden can be found reading, knitting, sewing, cosplaying, and playing Pokemon. You can always find her on Twitter (@edyngrey), and Blogging Between the Lines

 

What's New in YA - Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Giveaway: The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak (US & Can...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."