Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Steven Camden (Nobody Real), Plus Giveaway!

11

Today we're excited to chat with Steven Camden (Nobody Real)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about Steven, his novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

Meet Steven Camden!

   

Steven Camden is one of the most acclaimed spoken-word artists in the country. As Polarbear, he has performed extensively around the UK and internationally. He also writes plays, teaches storytelling in schools, and was a lead artist for Ministry of Stories and The Roundhouse poetry collective.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 
 
 

Meet Nobody Real!

 27839311

Marcie is at a crossroads.

Finished with school, but unsure what she wants to do next. Abandoned by her mother when she was tiny – but drifting further and further from her dad.

Marcie is real. With real problems.

Thor is at a crossroads too.

Soon, if he doesn't make a decision, he's gong to face the fade. Years ago, he was Marcie's imaginary friend – then she cast him out, back to his own world.

Thor is not real. And that's a real problem…

But Marcie and Thor need each other. And to fix their lives, they're going to have to destroy everything… and then build a new world. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

 

 

YABC:  What book or books were your go-to choice when you were a teen?

To be honest, pretty much all the books I read as a teen came via my girlfriend. She read all the time and trying to be like her was what got me back into reading in my mid teens. From the ages of 11-15 I read very little. I have ideas about why that was in hindsight, but it’s definitely something I wish hadn’t happened and also definitely part of why I fell so hard for the magical reading girl. She fed me all sorts. Jurassic Park, The Catcher in the Rye, Misery, One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest. And I just gobbled them all up. Over time I started finding more by myself and since then I’ve tried to consciously read as wide a range of styles and voices as possible. 

 

 

YABC:  If you could spend an entire day with the character of your choice from any YA novel, who would it be and why?

I hope this isn’t a faux pas, but it honestly would be a character called Leia from my second novel It’s About Love. She is an incredible girl who is obsessed with film and the idea of seventeen year old me going over to hers for a movie marathon, curled up on a sofa with her and a bucket of pop corn sounds like bliss. 

 

 

YABC:  What 3 YA books would you love to recommend to our readers?

I could recommend a lot more, but three of my favourites are;

1. Marcelo in the Real World by Fransisco. X. Stork

2. Broken Soup by Jenny Valentine

3. Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

 

 

YABC:  What advice would you give teens who might want to be a writer?

Try to tap into how you speak. The way in which you tell stories that is just you. We can all learn structure and devices and all that technical stuff over time, but that unique thing that only your voice can say is something that you have to channel by listening to your voice as it already exists. Practise practise practise. If you have the confidence and endurance to finish a story you are already ahead of the thousands of people who like the idea of writing, but never finished anything. Finish. Leave it alone. Come back and read it. Make it better. Start again. 

What works for me is creating characters and staying with them long enough to know them like I know my friends and myself. That way, I can make things happen to them and their reactions build the story. I know when I’m onto something with potential when it feels like the characters are leading me more than I am telling them what to do

 Nobody Real

Nobody Real 

By: Steven Camden

Publisher: Harpercollins

Release Date: January 22nd, 2018

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Nobody Real (Steven Camden) ~ US Only  
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway 

 

 

 

Teen Read Week: Author Chat with Hannah West (Real...
Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Jessica Brod...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
necole on Friday, 12 October 2018 07:17

Beautiful cover and interesting synopsis … intrigued!!

0
Beautiful cover and interesting synopsis … intrigued!!
Debra Branigan on Monday, 15 October 2018 15:57

The cover is great and I think YA Readers will love the synopsis. I'm sure I will enjoy the book as our favorite reads have a couple books in common! Good luck with the publicity and novel.

0
The cover is great and I think YA Readers will love the synopsis. I'm sure I will enjoy the book as our favorite reads have a couple books in common! Good luck with the publicity and novel.
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 19:00

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 09 November 2018 14:40

The cover is bright and fun. The synopsis sounds original.

0
The cover is bright and fun. The synopsis sounds original.
Renee Moore on Saturday, 10 November 2018 18:15

Such a cute, fun cover, and a very interesting concept! Sounds like it would be a fun read!

0
Such a cute, fun cover, and a very interesting concept! Sounds like it would be a fun read!
Seji on Sunday, 11 November 2018 17:59

The cover is really cute, I want this book!!

0
The cover is really cute, I want this book!!
Seji on Sunday, 11 November 2018 18:29

I forgot to mention that besides the cover, I'm very attracted to the story because I used to have an imaginary friend

0
I forgot to mention that besides the cover, I'm very attracted to the story because I used to have an imaginary friend :)
Hannah on Sunday, 11 November 2018 23:52

This books sounds really unique!

0
This books sounds really unique!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."