Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Heidi R Kling (Where The Sea Takes Me), Plus Giveaway!

20

Today we're excited to chat with Heidi R Kling (Where The Sea Takes Me)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about Heidi, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

Meet Heidi R Kling!

  

Heidi R. Kling is the bestselling author of novels about relatable girls in fantastic situations— books that beg the question: what would YOU do in her shoes? Her latest, WHERE THE SEA TAKES ME, is the sequel to her award-winning debut novel Sea #1 WHERE I FOUND YOU. A native Californian, she relocated to New York to earn her MFA in Creative Writing from The New School and is now living her dream writing full time in a tiny town on the Cali coast with her husband, two kids, their Sailor dog and a guinea pig named Llama Llama. Visit her on the web at http://heidirkling.com and follow Heidi R. Kling

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet Where The Sea Takes Me!

 

Two years later might as well be two lifetimes.

Sienna’s in college, working hard to achieve her dreams, and trying to love another boy—and halfway succeeding. She’d be totally happy with her life if she could just stop dreaming about him. Deni. The boy she left behind on the shores of Banda Aceh. 

When she gets word Deni’s coming to America, Sea’s world shifts. And when he arrives on her doorstep, she's shaken to the core.

Sparks don’t just fly, they soar—and threaten to burn down the new life she’s so patiently, persistently, built. 

When they’re both invited to join a relief mission in Cambodia, they jump at the chance to help…and be together. As the time and distance between them melts away in the sticky Cambodian heat, Sienna knows her heart can’t take losing him again. 

And that’s exactly what might happen. 

 
 
 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

 

YABC:   What book or books were your go-to choice when you were a teen?

Like most 80’s girls, I lapped up Judy Blume books: Tiger Eyes and Deenie were my faves. I remember sneaking Forever and reading it on the deck of a delapitated doughboy pool. Just for “those parts”.

 

 


YABC:   Did you prefer a specific genre as a teen? Or was any genre game?

Like Adult Heidi, I preferred contemporary with a great hook and some sort of tragedy. Lots of romance and intrigue. The Flowers in the Attic series were another fave.

 


YABC:   Which social media site do you wish had been available to you as a teen and why?

Probably Instagram. We took a lot of photos in high school and it would’ve been fun to share them instantly with the friends. But I also think social media is a real problem for today’s teens for that same reason. They have everything at their fingertips so have a harder time being patient and waiting for things. We had to wait three days for our film to develop for instance! Craziness. ;)

 

 

YABC:    What advice would you give teens who might want to be a writer?

Live your life. The best stories come from personal experience and from being a part of the world. Then translate it in your own voice and shape the story that way.

 

 


YABC:   What 3 YA books would you love to recommend to our readers?

PAINT MY BODY RED is one of mine that I wish all teens would read. It’s advertised as a novel about suicide but it is not. It’s a novel about family and resilience and hope that features some tough topics like suicide.

LOOKING FOR ALASKA: I realize John Green is a monolith now but this book really made me want to finish and sell my first novel. It’s a brilliant book full of raw truth and humor. It’s my favorite YA.

WHAT I SAW AND WHY I LIED: Brilliantly written, stylish, noir, historical. It’s fabulous.

  

 

Where The Sea Takes Me 

By: Heidi R Kling

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Release Date: April 2nd, 2018

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Where The Sea Takes Me (Heidi R Kling) ~ US Only  
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Chris Cannon...
Featured Review: House Of Ash (Hope Cook)

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Wednesday, 10 October 2018 18:25

I look forward to reading the book. Cambodia is quite the exotic setting.

0
I look forward to reading the book. Cambodia is quite the exotic setting.
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 18:48

Love the colors on the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
Love the colors on the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 08 November 2018 19:30

The cover is amazing and the synopsis sounds exciting!

0
The cover is amazing and the synopsis sounds exciting!
Penny Olson on Thursday, 08 November 2018 21:46

The cover is beautiful. It sounds like a great story about long distance relationships.

0
The cover is beautiful. It sounds like a great story about long distance relationships.
Renee Moore on Saturday, 10 November 2018 18:00

I love the beautiful silhouetting of the cover, and the synopsis sounds sweet!

0
I love the beautiful silhouetting of the cover, and the synopsis sounds sweet!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."