Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Cynthia Hand (The Afterlife Of Holly Chase), Plus Giveaway!

IMG_7194

Today we're excited to chat with Cynthia Hand (The Afterlife Of Holly Chase)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about Cynthia, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Cynthia Hand!

Cynthia Hand

Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the UNEARTHLY trilogy, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE, MY LADY JANE (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows), THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE, and the upcoming novel MY PLAIN JANE (also with Ashton and Meadows). Before turning to writing for young adults, she studied literary fiction and earned both an M.F.A. and a Ph.D. in fiction writing. She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with two cats, two kids, and an entourage of imaginary friends.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Meet The Afterlife Of Holly Chase!

 33843251

On Christmas Eve five years ago, Holly was visited by three ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she'd become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways.

She didn't.

And then she died.

Now she's stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge--as the latest Ghost of Christmas Past.

Every year, they save another miserly grouch. Every year, Holly stays frozen at seventeen while her family and friends go on living without her. So far, Holly's afterlife has been miserable.

But this year, everything is about to change. . . . 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

YABC:   What book or books were your go-to choice when you were a teen?

As a teen I loved Ender's Game, by Orson Scott Card, the Elfquest graphic novels by Richard and Wendy Pini, and anything by Mercedes Lackey, although Arrows of the Queen was my favorite.

 

 


YABC:    Did you prefer a specific genre as a teen? Or was any genre game?

I probably read more fantasy than any other genre, but I also loved just plain literature, horror (I was big in Stephen King), science fiction, and anything historical.

 

 


YABC:   What current YA book would you recommend to your teenage self?

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone. I would have loved that book. And I also would have slid her over a copy of Wicked Lovely, by Melissa Marr.

 

 


YABC:    What book that you read as a teen had the most impact on you in your life?

To Kill A Mockingbird. It was the first time I registered a book as art and loved the language of the book as much as I loved the story, and that changed the way I thought about writing.

 

YABC:   If you could spend an entire day with the character of your choice from any YA novel, who would it be and why?

Hazel from The Fault In Our Stars, because I just loved her sense of humor and I think she'd be cool to hang out with.

 

 


YABC:   What do you love most about the YA genre?

I love that you can write pretty much anything in this genre, as long as it centers around a teen character. The lines that exist between genres in adult fiction, between fantasy and contemporary, between magical realism and realism, between romance and adventure, are all a bit blurrier in YA. So you can end up writing a book that a comedy/historical novel/retelling/fantasy, and that's okay.

 

 


YABC:    Was there a class in high school that you wished you had paid closer attention to and why? 

loved my British History class and I paid attention to it at the time, but I wish I could remember more of the things I learned.

 

 


YABC:   Which social media site do you wish had been available to you as a teen and why?

Goodreads. I would have loved to dive into all of those books.

 

 


YABC:   What advice would you give teens who might want to be a writer?

Write what you love. Don't write what you think other people want you to write, or what you think is popular right now, or what you think will get you published. Write what YOU love. If you love it, chances are others will, too.

 

 


YABC:   What book from your younger years do you still recommend today?

Anne of Green Gables and it's lesser known companion, Emily of New Moon.

 

 


YABC:   What 3 YA books would you love to recommend to our readers?

the His Fair Assassin series by Robin LaFevers, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows.

 
 
 
 The Afterlife of Holly Chase

The Afterlife Of Holly Chase 

By: Cynthia Hand

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: October 24th, 2017

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will each receive a copy of The Afterlife Of Holly Chase (Cynthia Hand) ~ US Only 
 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: Shadow of the Fox by Julia Kagawa...
Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Ellen Goodle...

Related Posts

 

Comments 16

Already Registered? Login Here
necole on Saturday, 13 October 2018 08:40

A interesting twist on a classic tale. Ghosts and Christmas and Scrooge told from one of the ghosts perspective, I am ready to read this book. The cover is a little dark but beautiful.

0
A interesting twist on a classic tale. Ghosts and Christmas and Scrooge told from one of the ghosts perspective, I am ready to read this book. The cover is a little dark but beautiful.
KM on Saturday, 13 October 2018 14:20

I really like Cynthia Hand's writing, so I'm curious about this one.

0
I really like Cynthia Hand's writing, so I'm curious about this one.
Debra Branigan on Sunday, 14 October 2018 17:29

I look forward to reading your novel and discovering your "Scrooge" of a character. Cover is a bit dark and I am not so sure will widely attract YA Readers.

0
I look forward to reading your novel and discovering your "Scrooge" of a character. Cover is a bit dark and I am not so sure will widely attract YA Readers.
Tiffany Engler on Monday, 15 October 2018 09:51

I love this cover so much! Can't wait to read this book!

0
I love this cover so much! Can't wait to read this book!
Kara S on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 17:48

The cover is sleek but not striking. The synopsis piques my interest -- I want to see how the author uses Dickens's classic as a jumping off point for her own tale. What will connect her work to Dickens; what will distiniguish it most markedly? Thanks!--Kara S

0
The cover is sleek but not striking. The synopsis piques my interest -- I want to see how the author uses Dickens's classic as a jumping off point for her own tale. What will connect her work to Dickens; what will distiniguish it most markedly? Thanks!--Kara S
M.A. Briones on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 21:23

I SAW THIS BOOK TODAY AND IMMEDIATELY NEEDED IT! I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0
I SAW THIS BOOK TODAY AND IMMEDIATELY NEEDED IT! I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Maggie Hubbe on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 14:31

This sounds like such a good book and I love the cover!

0
This sounds like such a good book and I love the cover!
Delaney on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 20:58

This book sounds great and that cover is so bright and fun!

0
This book sounds great and that cover is so bright and fun!
Marisa Fort on Wednesday, 24 October 2018 13:23

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Davianna Nieto on Thursday, 01 November 2018 18:42

The cover looks so christmas-y and the synopsis sounds very creative.

0
The cover looks so christmas-y and the synopsis sounds very creative.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
Dark Saints Academy: The Soul Catcher
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."